We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian cuisine with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of al chile viola

al chile viola
Santa Teresa | 200 mts norte del Supermercado La Hacienda, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
0050626400433
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 56 restaurants in Santa Teresa
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Al chile viola offers a great collection of incredible italian dishes prepared carefully by our italian chef Emiliano and served by his wife Luz.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian cuisine with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I returned to Santa Teresa this year and found Al Chile Viola a short walk from our accommodation - Red Palm Villas.

The food here is excellent. Over a ten night stay we ended up eating here on six nights because of the quality of the food and service. We introduced some friends to the restaurant and they joined us for several nights with the same thoughts and compliments.

A wide range of antipasti dishes on the core menu along with some pastas are then added to by an extensive blackboard of specials which changed every evening. Salads, pastas, fish dishes, meat dishes - something for everyone, coupled with a large drinks menu and some specials every night.

Luz and her husband were great hosts, and on every evening we were made to feel very welcome. On the rare occasion that the service was not immaculate (due to the restaurant being busier than expected) we were very quickly apologized to, and a courtesy drink was offered at the end of the meal - a sign to me of true service and someone who cares that their customers are happy.

Highly recommended for anyone who appreciates great food and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    85
    12
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife & I along w/ our fellow travelers were hungry and decided to hit the 1st restaurant in Santa Teresa that was open. We happened upon this unassuming place & decided to give it a try. I ordered for an appetizer "Bull's Balls Ravioli" and a fish dish. My wife had a vegetarian dish & the others had different dishes. All were fabulous. The chef, Emiliano, visited our table and his beautiful wife, Luz, was the wait staff. We are. All foodies and spoke at length with Luz about cuisines. She talked about a special Valencian Paella that included no fish, but rabbit and chicken. Luz said that they would put it on the menu the nextFriday. We came and the wait was worth it. We learned an entire new dish. In addition, their Mojitos (with a splash of ginger) out did any Mojitos we had in Puerto Rico. Best restaurant in Santa Teresa is unquestionably Al Chile Viola!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place for date night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I really love this place. She had a cocktail that avocado in it and it was awesome. They have a set menu and great daily specials. I had the cannelloni with spinach and ricotta cheese. It was delicious! Not easy to find ricotta cheese here. My wife had a stuffed tomato and it was bursting with flavor. The prices are very reasonable and the couple that own the place are delightful. We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful authentic italian food in idyllic garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Food was brilliant, everything delicious with the tuna tartare and bulls balls ravioli (yes really) the stand out hits. USA prices but the food, service and gorgeous candle lit tropical garden means you won't mind a bit. If this was my local restaurant I would live here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place was beautiful and the food was out of this world and the price was very rreasonable. Check it out if you ever have the chance!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al chile viola also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Been to al chile viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage al chile viola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.