We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled upon this little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa Del Mar Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Mar Hostel
Playa Santa Teresa Contiguo Al Super Costa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

After arriving with no reservation booked and looking around various hostels, we decided to stay at Casa Del Mar - and we are very glad we did. The rooms were very good value ($12 - discounted to $10 for continuous low season nights) and Cesar (the owner) was extremely helpful and knowledgable, even giving us info on Nicaragua!! We hired boards for 3 days and never had a problem with them! The rooms were large with ensuite bathrooms and although the mattresses were a little on the thin side, we both thoroughly enjoyed our time at casa del mar. A short 2 minute walk to the beach and right next door to a supermarket made this a perfect location. With a kitchen, hammocks, bar (never had a problem with noise at night), restaurant and chill out areas all on site, this is your number 1 stop in Santa Teresa. We never encountered any problems and all the staff members were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a really lovely, relaxed few days at Casa del Mar. The hostel is in a beautiful shady spot, equipped with plenty of hammocks. It has an excellent bar that serves the best empanadas (the blue cheese ones are out of this world). the rooms are clean and spacious, although the bathrooms can get a bit damp and smelly. The staff were lovely, and the beds are cheap! We hardly left, except to cross the road to go to the beach. also there's a handy supermarket next door. we experienced none of the issues described in the previous reviews. highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Problems with water all the time
roons not clean to my standard
Owner had a huge temperament he cant coltrol...he yelled at me and insulted me

They sold me a surfboard for a high price, it broke after a few days and they even got mad at me...it broke while paddling out...so it wasnt in good shape. They least thing he could do was feeling sorry and helping me out with finding another one...

Other staff is really nice

They shouldnt hire teenagers to do the reception..and they should provide lockers, since things get stolen here pretty much every day

Room Tip: go to Bunelas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

the owners are from spain, cesar and ana, they are very nice and friendly. and the locale has a happening restaurant, with some real excellent pizza, and empanadas.

rooms are nice and tastefully decorated. here are what could be a few cons: it's a bit of a party atmosphere for staff. so that means dance music starts on the early - i mean like 8 a.m. so no sleeping in for you! also, they turn off the water a lot of the times (another hotel owner mentioned this saves on power and water bills.) which is annoying for you if you want to take a shower or use the toilet at night - or sometimes even during the day. you have to ask them to turn it on at those times. otherwise it would have been 4-5 stars.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Hostel

Address: Playa Santa Teresa Contiguo Al Super Costa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubicated in front off one off the best surf spots in santa teresa,casa del mar has a big garden area,restaurant and bar.ofering all kinds off activities,casa del mar will make your time with us unforgetible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Del Mar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hostel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.