We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the price! Ocean view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Frog Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Frog Villas to your Saves list
Red Frog Villas
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   125 meters to the right of Pasta Basta, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay for the price! Ocean view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Had a great time staying here. You can walk to everything! They also offer great surf lessons and we had a great time, I would highly recommend staying here to everyone!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Red Frog Villas was affordable and amazing. Alfredo, the land-lord, was one of the friendliest people ever. Any time we needed anything, he provided it. As for the cabins themselves, they are great. Property is secure and safe and locks are provided. There was also a pool, which was nice. Great view from the property of the ocean and sunsets. No hot water, but most places in Santa Teresa don't have hot water, so don't waste time seeking that out. The weather is so warm there is no need.
The location is perfect. It's at the top of a hill near the centre of town, close to everything you need. I couldn't think of a better location. It's quiet and peaceful enough if you want to relax, but a five minute walk from all the action if you want a good time.

I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red_Frog_Villas, Manager at Red Frog Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thanks Elena
It was lovely having you at the house and villas.
Hope you and your friends had a nice time
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen Guy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

House was quite dirty - didn't look like they had cleaned it thoroughly in awhile. Kitchen is large, which is nice, but frig leaks water all over the floor regularly. Don't touch the exposed wiring in the upstairs shower unless you want quite a shock. Water is cold except for upstairs large room, where you have scalding hot or cold! Only one room has AC. If you can, go across the street to HOrizons - it is awesomely maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red_Frog_Villas, Manager at Red Frog Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hello
Sorry for any inconvenience. If you had brought it up I could have sent a cleaning lady to re clean the house. The other issues will be dealed with.
We are across horizon and you group booked all this hotel and you rented owr house while I agree it no as nice a horizon the rates are not even 1/3 of horizons rates.
We do supply the rooms when horizon while they are full we are a small hotel for surfers and adventure lovers on a low budget.
Again please communicate any inconvenience and I ashure I will deal with it.
I love to help people and make it nice so everybody is happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at red frog villas for three nights and unfortunately due to the recent landslide we did not experience it at its best. The pool and internet were down.
Nonetheless we had a good time and found the place great to relax, be in touch with nature and enjoy the ocean view from the hammock/cabina balcony. We found that the cabinas were well equipped with fridge, hob and enough cuttlery, plates, etc. We had regular visits from a small kitten and found the host Angie very welcoming and friendly. Try her amazing banana bread for 1000 colones. She bakes it fresh every morning.
Just above the villas is also an amazing restaurant that you most try. The food was out of this world. To the red frog villas is a very steep hill, so if you are not fit or if like me you have had a recent knee surgery you will struggle up hill. There is always the option of calling a taxi though.

Room Tip: Choose a cabina at the back, near the pool, as it can be noisy at the front cabinas which are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I recently stayed At Red Frog Santa Teresa CR and honestly it was the most private,affordable&convienient location I stayed at during my visit. I liked It so much I will definetly return. The cabins are all nestled up above the tree line so you always have view of ocean.Each cabin also has proper amenities for in house food preperation The main house is like paradise up in the trees with a private pool. There are several options for dining out also. Supermarket and restaurants are a short walk down the hill.There is public access to beach at bottom of hill. I would highly recomend several days to enjoy this unique area as for I feel going there was the highlight of my trip. Santa Teresa has everything you need. Surfboard rental,car& quad rental. The town is extremely laid back and whatever you like to do is available without restrictions.

Room Tip: I would recomend all cabins as well as main house for family expierience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Frog Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Villas

Address: 125 meters to the right of Pasta Basta, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Frog Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Frog Villas located at Santa Teresa beach, Costa Rica. We have 5 fully-equipped villas and 1 house located in a hill overlooking the pacific ocean.... just 5 minutes walk to the beach. We offer an alternative option for people who want to come to the beach and just relax in a nice atmosphere or also for the ones who want to have adventures all day!! Enjoy our tropical gardens while you rest at our pool or just enjoy watching the sunset in a hammock. Come and experience the Costa Rican pura vida life with us!We are walking distance from restaurants, shops, beach, tattoo shops, surf breaks, surf shops, supermarkets, banks and more.Offering VillasThis rustic wooden villas a nice for your travelers on a budget with a nice view a fridge and a gas stove you will be able to cook your own meals on this nice size villas with a ensuite bathroom.With a double and a single bed each of this rooms fits 3 people. HouseOne 3 bedroom 3 bath House for up to nine people (greate for groups)It has a king size bed and a single bed on the master room, another king size bed with one more single as well as a bouble bed in the downstairs room all with en suite bathrooms.A fully equipped spacious kitchen as well as an out door deckNow offering the brand new suitesRed Frog suites are luxury apartments located at the top a one of the most important hills in Santa Teresa. Located over 200 meters over sea level you will enjoy one of the best ocean views in the area.This fully equipped suites have over 70 square meters on living space, downstairs you will have a full equipped spacious kitchen and a full bath, upstairs you will find a big studio type room with a queen size bed, a single bed, a sofa and a balcony with the most amazing view.Located about one kilometer from the beach in an amazing forest full of monkeys, birds, dears and wild life, this million dollar view will make you want to stay in your apartment all day long, a 4x4 car or a quad is recommended (we can provide rentals for both) but sporty people may find walking to the beach a real treat.This boutique hotel is composed of two apartments so it is a special place for romance adventure and relaxation come and enjoy your vacation checking the waves from your balcony we guarantee you will never want to leave.Additional services such as massages a private chef can e supplied if desired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Red Frog Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Frog Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.