We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Surf & SUP

Costa Rica Surf & SUP
250 m North of Bar La Lora Amarilla, next door to Cuesta Arriba, Santa Teresa 84070, Costa Rica
506-2640-0328
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer surf lessons, stand up paddle boarding tours, and multi-day clinics in the Santa Teresa area. Our highly-trained staff ensures safety and excitement as you discover the wonders of Costa Rica. Ideal for individuals, friends, and families. Our scenic pueblo of started out as a remote fishing village. It is known for its long beaches, warm Pacific ocean, friendly locals, and relaxed atmosphere. We have been here since 2001. We are proud of our surfing roots and wish to share our passion and the pure vida spirit.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
“Best trip ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Costa Rica Surf & SUP was the highlight of our trip to Santa Teresa. We surfed 10 days with Kelsey and received expert instruction from day one! She not only provided great tips about catching the waves, positioning on the board and beginning to turn, she also made every day FUN. Benny and Al are conveniently located right on the main street, with direct access to the beautiful beaches right outside their door. Looking to check out some of the other surf breaks in the area, they even arranged to take us to Playa El Carmen nearby so we could check out a new spot. If you're coming to Santa Teresa and want to try surfing or Stand Up Paddleboarding, look no further than Costa Rica Surf and SUP. Can't wait for the next trip!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicaSurfAndSUP, Owner at Costa Rica Surf & SUP, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much! You guys were an exceptional group. 11 of you plus 2 of us paddle boarding all over the south Nicoya was a blast! Glad you felt taken care of and that you loved all the yummy food. I especially loved taking y’all to the infinity pool with a swim up bar & grill your own BBQ. Thanks for the fun times & full-bellied laughs. Wishing you only the best, Bennison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    2
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“Greatest Surf and SUP In C.R.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Benni and Alvaro own and run the Greatest Surf and Stand up PaddleBoard company in the Country! If you dont contact them for your vacation experience, you're doing yourself a disservice. Both are very patient in their instruction, and will have anyone surfing in no time. They are a great team, awesome to be around, and will treat you as family during your stay. From surfing the best waves around, paddleboarding deep into the jungle, getting to know the town and surrounding areas, or just helping with logistics like taxis, etc, Al and Benni can handle it all for you. The memories you make with this wonderful couple will last you a lifetime.

Love you both!! Pura Vida!
Johnny Searle

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE BEST VACATION EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I traveled with 10 of my friends to Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. It was the first time for many of us! The trip was made SPECTACULAR by Benni & Al at Costa Rica Surf & SUP! They are locals and know all the great spots to surf, SUP, eat, relax, shop, gaze at sunsets (and sunrises), and see the island!! The itinerary they put together was by far the best experience anyone could ever have! The surf lessons were so informative! Lived in FL for over 40 yrs and never had anyone explain surf technique like Benni!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Trip Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Benni and Al are amazing!!! We went with a group of 11 for a Surf and SUP adventure and Benni and Al were phenomenal. When traveling to Santa Teresa-Mal Pais do yourself a favor and use Costa Rica Surf & SUP to coordinate your activities. They are so thorough and go out of their way to make sure you have a great experience. They are both excellent instructors and know all of the great places to take you for a trip of a lifetime. They are attentive to every detail...from where to eat lunch at a local Soda or where the best place for a nice dinner with a great view is located. And, to top it all off, Benni and Al are great people to be around. They will make sure you have a safe, fun and memorable experience in Santa Teresa!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great team, amazing knowledge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Benni and Al are a really great team and know everything you would need to know to have an amazing time in the Santa Teresa area. Benni and Al showed my group of people every special restaurant and breath taking view I could hope for. Benni also gave the ladies of our group a surf lesson. Although we are all SUP girls she had us bitten by the bug in no time. We were all more successful than we had hoped thanks to her. I was also fortunate enough to spend some solo time SUP surfing with Al. He was able to provide me some very useful tools which added a significant amount of confidence with my SUP surfing. Al and Benni are a seamless team of getting you and the equipment to where you need to be and providing the right tools to enjoying it to its fullest. I feel very fortunate that they were part of my vacation and I know it wouldn't have been the same without them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicaSurfAndSUP, Owner at Costa Rica Surf & SUP, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the dynamite review! Glad that Al was able to give you some ‘tools’ for paddle surfing. Sometimes all it takes is a key concept and it really empowers you. It was awesome to have advanced paddleboarders in town. Thanks for being adventurous so that we could take you to some really out there secret spots. 4 SUP adventures, 1 dynamite girls surf lesson, countless amazing meals, beach front hotel, and exploring on quads! Does it get any better? Come back sooner rather than later, so we can both get even better at paddleboard yoga. Will work on my headstands until I see you again. Take care amiga, Benny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Surf & SUP also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Surf & SUP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Surf & SUP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.