We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Koji is a great sushi spot about 20 minutes north of Santa Teresa. The sushi is authentic and delicious (due to the fresh fish they catch that day). If you don't make a reservation you wont get in, and even if you do you probably will have to wait for a table. Don't be surprised if your dinner takes 5 hours. Try to breath in and enjoy the candle lit patio under the tropical trees. If you are from NYC or haven't had time to adjust to Costa Rica time, skip this place. You will be too annoyed by the service to enjoy the delicious meal. The sushi is inventive and oh so good. The menu doesn't change as much as you'd think, but it doesn't have to. We stayed in Santa Teresa for a month and came here every week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    39
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Everything is fresh and everything is delicious. The place has a very natural design but you're there to eat, nothing else matters. If you're a sushi lover you'll love this place and go back a soon as you can. Guaranteed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am not a big sushi person, but my husband was really excited to try this place out so he made reservations. I would definitely recommend reservations, this place was very busy seeing as how it is in a pretty remote location. We had to arrange a taxi from our hotel and it was nighttime, the roads were dark and potholed and then out of nowhere Koji's. I ended up enjoying the sushi, though I do not think I appreciated it like a sushi fan would. If the service was a little faster we would have gotten dessert, but we were a bit crunched for time since we needed to meet our taxi. This place just felt so out of nowhere and the atmosphere was so interesting and different than any place we went to in Costa Rica. I am really glad we ate dinner there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, but the fried rice was the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our favorite dish here was shrimp fried rice. While the sushi dishes were good, the fried rice took the cake. Perfectly done, flavorful, and just delicious. Pass on the dessert, though, it's just OK. Great atmosphere. Good for families (although we were just a couple).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Sushi........Not "the Best"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

When we booked our travel to Santa Teresa, of course I turned to TA to do my research. Based on the reviews we were excited about trying Koji. The fish is very fresh and prepared wonderfully. We were dissapointed that the evening we visited there was no tuna, but I would rather have the freshest ingredients, and was impressed that rather than selling a substandard product Koji opted to omit it from the menu board. The service was excellent, a team approach so when we asked about the staffs favorites we got oppinions from everyone. They kept telling us that the grilled Octopus was one of Koji's specialties, and although my wife was hesitant, as some Octopus is very chewy, we decided to try it. It was wonderful, not chewy at all, and very flavorful. I don't think that there is anything on the menu that is not outstanding. I didn't give Koji a 5 rating for two reasons, 1. it is not the best sushi ever as some people indicated, in fact we have a local seafood restaruant, who's sushi chef rivals or exceeds Koji with inventive creations and freshest ingredients, but thats another review. 2. it is expensive, we spent $100 on a few rolls and a couple of drinks each. We had thought that we would have gone there two or three times during our visit, but the price kind of squashed those plans. Cash only, reservations suggested. Be aware that the road to Koji's is very rough durng the green season

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koji's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.