We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi........Not "the Best"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 56 restaurants in Santa Teresa
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St Augustine, Fl
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Sushi........Not "the Best"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

When we booked our travel to Santa Teresa, of course I turned to TA to do my research. Based on the reviews we were excited about trying Koji. The fish is very fresh and prepared wonderfully. We were dissapointed that the evening we visited there was no tuna, but I would rather have the freshest ingredients, and was impressed that rather than selling a substandard product Koji opted to omit it from the menu board. The service was excellent, a team approach so when we asked about the staffs favorites we got oppinions from everyone. They kept telling us that the grilled Octopus was one of Koji's specialties, and although my wife was hesitant, as some Octopus is very chewy, we decided to try it. It was wonderful, not chewy at all, and very flavorful. I don't think that there is anything on the menu that is not outstanding. I didn't give Koji a 5 rating for two reasons, 1. it is not the best sushi ever as some people indicated, in fact we have a local seafood restaruant, who's sushi chef rivals or exceeds Koji with inventive creations and freshest ingredients, but thats another review. 2. it is expensive, we spent $100 on a few rolls and a couple of drinks each. We had thought that we would have gone there two or three times during our visit, but the price kind of squashed those plans. Cash only, reservations suggested. Be aware that the road to Koji's is very rough durng the green season

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    216
    38
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Read, believe and embark on your own traste sensations.
This is the real deal.
The restaurant is basic, bordering on rustic.
The food is prime bordering on evil.
It is outstanding and as my friend put it: everything tastes different. From the freshest fish ever served to the nicest chicken teriyaki.
In an environment that is child adverse, they do a great job of doing it well, no matter what.
Overall, outstanding

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, attentive staff, and veggie tempura to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been visiting Santa Theresa for 6 seasons now and this was my first time at Kojis. We sampled 6 different sushi rolls with the veggie tempura, saki and banana dessert. I would have to say all the selections melt in your mouth and you will not be disappointed! Make a reservation if on busier days :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip to Santa Teresa and we chose Koji for our last dinner. This was by far one of my favorite eateries and some of the best and freshest sushi I have ever had. I highly recommend this place for a night out and found the ambiance to make it even better. The prices I found to be pretty standard for a sushi restaurant but you definitely will not be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Koji twice while on vacation in Santa Teresa. Its off the beaten path (which is saying a lot in Santa Teresa) very close to Playa Hermosa. Koji opened the restaurant a few years ago and hails from Kobe, Japan. The menu, presented on a blackboard daily, showcases the freshest fish from the area, but also includes terriyaki dishes and a child-friendly staple - kara age (essentially japanese chicken nuggets). The place was packed the two times we went, with lots of regulars and tourists. Its a very fun night out, and you can also order for take out as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koji's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.