We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi I ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best sushi I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Best japanese food I ever had! Amazing handrolls, shrimp tempura, sashimi.
Take a car. It's too far/too dusty to walk from ST.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    39
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

So im not a big fish peson and so I had some prejudices against sushi already, so i decided to get the chicken, which was beyond perfect, but then I tried my brothers handroll and it was great, best fish i had ever had, melt in your mouth goodness, if your going to costa rica, go here

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

So fresh & amazing. Great, inventive rolls. Nice people. So divine. Nice setting and super chill. All the locals gave it the thumbs up and I know why. There was a funny thing about having a reservation- which we kind of laughed off- but it was really solid.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful sushi for beautiful people in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first, we were a little skeptical of great Japanese food in an open air restaurant in the jungle in Costa Rica. However, we were totally wrong. The fish was so fresh that it made fish with which I was familiar taste like something totally new. They would erase specials off of the chalkboard when they ran out of that type of fish; there was obviously no type of fish just sitting around from previous days. The only thing I disliked about the food was that the bottled water we ordered did not come in a labeled bottle that was opened at the table; it came in an unmarked reusable glass bottle but we paid $7 for it... in no other restaurant in town did this happen.

Beyond the food, which was just really really great, my friend and I kept commenting on what a cool/chic scene there was at Koji's. It was definitely the coolest most sophisticated dinner restaurant at which we ate while in the Santa Teresa/Playa Hermosa/Mal Pais area. The waitresses were gorgeous, the people eating there was gorgeous, and the food was gorgeous. All of this added up to a great evening!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We did not think that Costa Rica would have good sushi. We thought wrong this restaurant was delicious and one of the best places we ate for dinner! The sushi was great and so was the dessert. The service was good and all waiters and waitresses were pleasant. This was definitely the best sushi place in Costa Rica!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koji's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.