We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 59 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Believe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I kind of rolled my eyes when I first heard someone singing Koji's praises. I mean, how many Japanese restaurants were really competing for the title "the best" in Santa Teresa? And we do most of our sushi-eating in NYC... surely it's different standard...

Yes, a different standard - a higher one. The ingredients are so fresh and often organic. Beautiful presentation. And just yum. Admittedly, I don't eat a lot of raw fish, but the people I dined with raved. Kids loved the chicken teriyaki and I loved the veggie dishes. My husband was all about the eel.

All good. Plates licked clean.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    39
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Don't make any excuses, eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe how great this place is. Hands down, the best sushi I have ever had. Make reservations and enjoy what's coming to you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for seafood on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not sure why we paid so much for sushi when all the ingredients are so abundant. We paid more then we do in the USA by $30. COSTa Rica;) On the upside, the place is romantic, and the staff were super nice. The food was fresh and tasty too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi right out of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It just doesn't get any better than this. Fresh sushi out of the ocean? Chef Koji is apparently very hard core about quality and it shows. I would like to call out the amazing melt-in-your-mouth nigiri (spec. amberjack and red snapper) and then the red snapper role was sooo good. It was all just amazing and the best service in the Santa Teresa area. Excellent outdoor atmosphere with tiki torches and low key/relaxing. Good value when you consider what sushi costs at home (I'm from Seattle). Bonus: we saw the stunning Tom Brady and Gisele there, apparently this is one of their favorites, as their vacation home is nearby. Quiet and very remote, the cab ride to get here was borderline scary for two female friends traveling alone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

So..this is coming from a seasoned New Yorker and a sushi connoisseur...THIS PLACE IS THE BEST!! Could stand up to any Manhattan sushi bar. Fresh, delicious, creative...sushi, or even cooked dishes like tempura or teriyaki...simply the best meal we've had so far in Santa Teresa. NOT CHEAP. In fact...pretty pricey...but worth every penny for the quality!! Great job, Koji!! You truly exceeded our expectations!! Make a reservation...extremely busy...but don't miss!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koji's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.