We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 54 restaurants in Santa Teresa
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
rochester, ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Tough to review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excited to try Koji. However rave reviews comparing quality of dishes to world class sushi restaurants are off the mark, or so we found. Having recently eaten at Soto in NYC, Koji can't compare. The food was fine for this little corner of the world but nothing more than that. For example, the red snapper in the carpaccio was thick/tough and overwhelmed by the marinade. Grilled octopus okay. Rolls were average. Service was diner style. Server called us "you guys.". Hardly Soto sensitive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    216
    38
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband will be the first to tell you that he doesn't like sushi, but everyone told us that if you're ever going to change your mind, this is the place that will make you do it. They were right. My husband (and I) loved every bite, and we would have eaten there again if it wasn't our last night in town!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sushi was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this restaurant was very good, i simply couldn't get enough of the red snapper carpacio. i ordered 3 dishes for myself, plus we had so many other dishes. i am still thinking about it and salivating

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

in the middle of the jungle, who knew you could get the most amazing sushi! loved it! food was fresh and service was great!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You'd never guess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is a couple hundred meters from my favorite surf camp. Extremely fresh sushi, and a great laid back environment. Great owners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koji's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.