We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
110 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tough to review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excited to try Koji. However rave reviews comparing quality of dishes to world class sushi restaurants are off the mark, or so we found. Having recently eaten at Soto in NYC, Koji can't compare. The food was fine for this little corner of the world but nothing more than that. For example, the red snapper in the carpaccio was thick/tough and overwhelmed by the marinade. Grilled octopus okay. Rolls were average. Service was diner style. Server called us "you guys.". Hardly Soto sensitive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snorfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband will be the first to tell you that he doesn't like sushi, but everyone told us that if you're ever going to change your mind, this is the place that will make you do it. They were right. My husband (and I) loved every bite, and we would have eaten there again if it wasn't our last night in town!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sushi was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this restaurant was very good, i simply couldn't get enough of the red snapper carpacio. i ordered 3 dishes for myself, plus we had so many other dishes. i am still thinking about it and salivating

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

in the middle of the jungle, who knew you could get the most amazing sushi! loved it! food was fresh and service was great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCtravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You'd never guess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is a couple hundred meters from my favorite surf camp. Extremely fresh sushi, and a great laid back environment. Great owners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonesieinhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing