We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kina Surf Shop

Kina Surf Shop
300 meters north of the soccer field | Plaza Solar, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 32 Activities in Santa Teresa
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf shop. Offering high-quality new, used and rental surfboards and bodyboards. The official Rusty surfboard dealer in Santa Teresa. We carry a wide variety of women's surf bikinis and beachwear. Large selection of surf equipment and accessories including FCS and Futures fins, leashes and traction.
Moab, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Santa Teresa has no shortage of board shops. Stumbled into Kina looking for a shortboard rental. They have a huge selection of new boards and their used boards selection is huge and top notch. Current Rusty and Al Merrick's pepper the rack. Rent a board and want to swap out as I did, no problem. Simply drop off your current board and select a new one. Like having a quiver of your own. $10 a day green season can't be beat.
Eric and John were both super friendly and had lots of advice about the surf and area.

No need to look any further than the friendly and well stocked Kina!

Thanks Eric your Rusty works like a charm.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Kina Surf Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

There are many surf shops in Santa Teresa, but i highly recommend Kina. They offer a great selection of rental boards, lessons and they stock all kinds of great surf gear. It is the staff, however, that sets Kina apart. Simply put, they are really good people: welcoming, friendly, helpful and honest. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Santa Teresa. Thank you Kina!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great lessons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had two great lessons with eric.....so patient, supportive and fun. Really recommend! It's easy to have the hotels in ST recommend and place you with their "guys", but recommend you walk to surf shop and get legit, real lesson with a pro. Totally made my surf experience

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Place to rent boards!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The folks at Kina are knowledgable and friendly- a family op for sure. Great selection of boards and of course the ability to trade out and get a different board at any time. Rachel is a sweetie. They also gave us good intel on hotels, etc. If there's a downside it's that they don't open till 9 am and close at 5 pm. But since the rentals are like car rentals- 24 hr from the time you get the board- not that big of a deal. $12 per day and deals for 3 and 7 days.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Rentals, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't know where to start... found Kinas staff, owners, board selection, price, etc.. to be amazing. About the only thing i found is that it is a bit too far away from where i stayed.
They have Rusty, AI and more. Only thing,, i think if you are looking for a performance board.. bring your fins, i think most of what they have are FCS, bring your fins and put them in the boards... that is about the only complaint i would say i have... some boards have plastic fins and your travelling all the way down there to surf great waves and the board can sometimes be loose or track a different line than your trying to take based on the fins. Just my 2 cents...
awesome place, awesome people, awesome experience, no hassle easiest to rent from.. so cool

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kina Surf Shop also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kina Surf Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kina Surf Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.