We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to rent boards!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kina Surf Shop

Kina Surf Shop
300 meters north of the soccer field | Plaza Solar, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 32 Activities in Santa Teresa
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf shop. Offering high-quality new, used and rental surfboards and bodyboards. The official Rusty surfboard dealer in Santa Teresa. We carry a wide variety of women's surf bikinis and beachwear. Large selection of surf equipment and accessories including FCS and Futures fins, leashes and traction.
Carson City, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Place to rent boards!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The folks at Kina are knowledgable and friendly- a family op for sure. Great selection of boards and of course the ability to trade out and get a different board at any time. Rachel is a sweetie. They also gave us good intel on hotels, etc. If there's a downside it's that they don't open till 9 am and close at 5 pm. But since the rentals are like car rentals- 24 hr from the time you get the board- not that big of a deal. $12 per day and deals for 3 and 7 days.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Rentals, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't know where to start... found Kinas staff, owners, board selection, price, etc.. to be amazing. About the only thing i found is that it is a bit too far away from where i stayed.
They have Rusty, AI and more. Only thing,, i think if you are looking for a performance board.. bring your fins, i think most of what they have are FCS, bring your fins and put them in the boards... that is about the only complaint i would say i have... some boards have plastic fins and your travelling all the way down there to surf great waves and the board can sometimes be loose or track a different line than your trying to take based on the fins. Just my 2 cents...
awesome place, awesome people, awesome experience, no hassle easiest to rent from.. so cool

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

i went to many surf places in costa rica this fall they had the nicest service that I found. Somes places try to get up to 500$ in deposit on your credit card. This surfshop had a good system if your have put some damage on the board and you will not be charge unreal amount of money for a small ding on a board.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“superb customer service by Carolyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went in to look at surf bikinis and rash guard choices since my ribs were bruising up despite using the rash guard I had. I walked out with the best surf bikini (made locally) and a rash guard that Carolyn loaned to me - free. She didn't sell it to me, didn't rent it to me, she let me borrow it. Who does that? Also, she exudes a kind and calm energy that's contagious. Thanks Carolyn!

Best,

Stephanie

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive product”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I know they gotta make a living, but their trucker hats ( pretty low quality) were $20. All their boards were the same if not more than they are priced in the states ($600+)... Down the road at Denga I saw boards for $350. Kina is a cute little shop but expect to pay the same if not more than in the states on everything..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kina Surf Shop also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kina Surf Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kina Surf Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.