We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise- the very, very best in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise- the very, very best in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have just returned from our fantastic trip through Costa Rica on which we spent the most fantastic three days in the wonderful Playa Cielo. I have never written any review before but this place is worth starting it although I would rather like to keep this gem as a secret place.
The way we were welcomed by Adele and Sol, the owners was so warm and extra special that we felt like coming home to our dearest friends. The rooms are stylishly and very classically furnished, all in soft white tones, spacious enough to easily stay with two adults and two kids, the bathroom has a an open shower, everything is perfectly clean and from our private terrace we had a wonderful ocean view. The staff is more than friendly, the happiness and fun at their work really grows on you. Then there is the Habanero - their chilled restaurant directly at the stunning beach, the drinks are tasty, the food is delicious and always fresh I cannot recommend just one dish, try them all!
To sum it all up in one sentence: if you are looking for a luxurious, very private, trendy, hip and at the same time very laid back small, distinctive beach hotel: stop looking around and book your stay at Playa Cielo you won't find any better place. Dear Adele, dear Sol: we will definitely come back, thanks for this unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family just stayed at this breathtaking resort with it's own private beach. Our beach bungalow was spacious, clean with a indoor bathroom that had a shower inside that was open ceiling to the sky! It had a huge king size bed with two single beds for our teenage boys and a kitchenette equipped with coffee, fridge, sink,microwave and of course a fresh platter of fruit came every morning to our place . The staff were welcoming and friendly. The restaurant there Habeneros had the best lobster tacos and the fish was fresh and prices were so reasonable . There was a nice pool and playground as well. It was incredibly peaceful and we would sit after dinner in the patio area right at the beach and watch the sunset . My only regret was that we did not stay longer. Paradise is the easiest way to describe this serene and beautifully modern club Cielo. The owners were so incredibly down to earth and made our stay unforgettable . I would love to return there soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We couldn't have been happier staying at Playa Ceilo, they only have a handful of private bungalows on a beautifully manicured property. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly and they all felt like family by the time we left. The restaurant is one of the if not the best in town and having the fresh fruit delivered every morning is a nice touch. I will be a returning customer is the best compliment I can give them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I spent an amazing vacation here. The Casitas are very clean contemporary, but not lacking in a very stylish, rustic charm. Sol (the owner) & Eti the manager were more than accommodating. You certainly feel like they car as not request is too all or big. If they can help, they will. The grounds are located steps form the beach and are immaculately kept. We looked at many other hotels in the area, but none were as breath taking. For a couples get away or a family vacation I can't recommend anywhere else as nice .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Playa Cielo for almost 2 weeks in April. We had never been to Costa Rica before and had no expectations . Playa Cielo was a dream come true with the beach steps away, a wonderfully delicious restaurant on site, and the friendly manager Eti that met our every need. We rented an ATV and went everywhere to all the great spots we had reviewed in the area....the zip line in Mal Pais....fishing where we caught 20 ducktooth tuna that is #1 grade sushi and Gary the chef at our restaurant whipped it up for all to enjoy...and a massage on the beach!! My husband awoke every morning and asked me to find something wrong with our surrounding. How could I? With our own clean, cool comfortable casita and fresh fruit brought by every morning plus the owner Sol lending his boogie boards-what could be better!! We looked at all the other places to stay in the area and NONE compared to Playa Cielo. We cannot wait to go back and catch up with all of our new found friends.
We heart Playa Cielo

Room Tip: Ask for El Tucan as it has a great view of the Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is a gem, i loved every second there. i went with my husband and mother and they were both in love with this small but beautiful resort.
The staff was perfect and Eti was very helpful with booking activities and giving us advice on what to do.
The restaurant was delicious and with fresh food.
We spent hours on the outside patio outside and in the hammocks.
The surroundings and the beach are also perfect,
I will go back any day.

Room Tip: the two one bedroom front villa are best cause no other villa in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for 4 nights. It is beautiful and has many creature comforts. The casita we stayed in had and ocean view (it was tucked away to for privacy which we desire) and you are just steps away from the ocean and the restaurant. Sitting on your front porch in the morning planning out what you are doing in the day you will witness many butterflies, hummingbirds, and wildlife. The bed is very comfortable (king) and the shower was my favorite part ( although it is hard to pick just one thing). I was able to walk to yoga, the surf break in Santa Teresa, food and an organic grocery market. Overall playa cielo was romantic and a nice finish to out trip. The owner Adele is a sweetheart & checked on us throughout our stay to make sure we have what we need to feel comfortable. Habaneros is the restaurant on site and it was nice sitting on the beach watching the sunset enjoying a mango jalapeño margarita. It was one of those vacations you just wish would never end. I can't wait to go back :) thank you Adele for everything !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.