We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in November and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The casitas are beautiful and the one we stayed in (Mariposa) had a great view of the ocean. I loved spending time on the patio relaxing and gazing at the ocean and beautifully landscaped garden. This was our second time in the area and we opted to take the plane ride from San Jose to Tambor rather than the 6 hour drive we took the first time. If it is your first time in the area the car ride lets you see the country side, but we much preferred the quick plane ride. I would definitely recommend taking surfing lessons, renting quads, and going to Montezuma to hike the water fall and do the canopy tour. All of the food in the area is fantastic as well, including the onsite restaurant. I feel this place is a very good value for being right on the ocean. We hope to be back some day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We flew to Tambor (close to Santa Teresa) from the Arenal Airstrip after staying at The Four Seasons. It was the perfect end to our vacation! You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here. We felt so lucky when we arrived at Playa Cielo. The grounds are beautiful, the people are kind, the food is delicious, the ocean is fierce, the beach is soft, the drinks are tasty, the rooms are relaxing, the outdoor shower is fun. Obviously, we enjoyed our stay and were truly able to relax in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I can't say enough great things about Playa Cielo, the owners and employees! We stayed for a week in April and enjoyed every minute. The villas are awesome (El Tucan has the best view/location), very comfortable, and we loved having the mini kitchen. We loved relaxing in the hammocks on the porch. The staff (especially Etti - sp?) are amazing! She checked in with us everyday and booked anything we needed and gave advice on restaurants, etc.The owners, Sol and Adele, are SO friendly and kind and were there everyday. They also helped on recommendations. The restaurant, Habaneros, was the best food we had and the location can't be beat. Their food and drinks (margaritas were the best!) were wonderful and so nice to be able to charge to our room. The restaurant employees were great as well!
We had such a great time, we didn't want to leave. Don't think twice, book Playa Cielo!

Room Tip: El Tucan has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I reviewed all of the accommodations (at length) in Santa Teresa, and Playa Cielo was definitely the best choice. What makes Playa Cielo special is a combination of several elements, any one of which would be a highlight at most properties. Quaint, nice villas, good vibes, gracious hospitality, love the location, fabulous laid-back restaurant on the beach.. just our style. Each villa is it's own private retreat. The grounds are covered with flora and fauna the likes of which you seldom see. They have a great beach front restaurant with an exquisite menu and top shelf bar (get the tuna appetizer!). The restaurant is perfect in either your bathing suit or getting dressed up. And the beach front has an amazing rock formation that transforms with the tides, hiding and revealing tidal pools. We will absolutely return to Playa Cielo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in April and we loved it! All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and generally very welcoming. Adele and Sol are lovely people who always have time to stop and chat. We stayed with 2 young kids (3 and 1) and this place was just perfect - the rooms were spacious and had a little kitchenette with fridge and hob, there was a table and chairs outside as well as a lovely sofa to sit and watch the waves, the little playground kept the kids entertained and they loved the pool. The hotel has direct access to a beautiful beach where they could play in the rock pools at low tide. Habanero, the hotel restaurant, is a great asset - food is good, drinks are great and its a lovely place to just chill at the end of the day while the kids watch the crabs on the beach! I also had a massage in the spa which was just amazing! We cant wait to visit here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Toucan which has a direct view of the beach - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived in Santa Teresa at night, cleaned up and headed over to Habanero's (restaurant at Playa Cielo) upon a recommendation. We immediatly fell in love Playa Cielo! Dinner was fantastic (tons of food!) and we ended up stopping by Habanero's the next day for drinks and ceviche while walking the beach around lunch time.

As great as our first hotel was, we wanted to be right on the beach, not across the street, for my girlfriend's birthday. There is just something special about walking out of your door and being on the beach instead gathering all your stuff up and walking it across the street and down a dusty alley to be on the beach. You dont have to worry about your stuff being stolen and you have chairs and drinks and a pool all right at Playa Cielo.

We got lucky and they had one spot open, a 2 bed/ 2 bath villa that Sol and Adelle (owners) were gracious enought to rent to us on short notice. The place was AMAZING!! Super clean, a/c was fantastic, bed felt like heaven, outdoor showers were awesome. We were very happy with our choice to move over to Playa Cielo.

Sol and Adelle gave us free drinks on my girlfriend's birthday and they made ceviche from a fish we caught while on a trip with Alvero's Tours that morning, and we got a couple's massage on the beach, that we both thought was the best massage we've ever had.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Playa Cielo. great price for being on the beach! Take note that other hotels claim to be "on the beach" or "steps away from beach" and are not on the beach at all. Playa Cielo is on the playa, my friends!

Room Tip: Two villas are the closest to the ocean and you can see straight out the doors to the waves. The tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A wonderful private small inn featuring five individual bungalows. Steps to the beautiful beach and a good Mexican style restaurant - Habanero's. Owners are originally from New York and extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Facilities for light cooking if you wish. Off the road and away from the dust in dry season (a serious issue be ready). Easy access to all usual needs (groceries, bakery, restaurants etc). Well worth the premium price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.