We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Save Saved
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in April and we loved it! All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and generally very welcoming. Adele and Sol are lovely people who always have time to stop and chat. We stayed with 2 young kids (3 and 1) and this place was just perfect - the rooms were spacious and had a little kitchenette with fridge and hob, there was a table and chairs outside as well as a lovely sofa to sit and watch the waves, the little playground kept the kids entertained and they loved the pool. The hotel has direct access to a beautiful beach where they could play in the rock pools at low tide. Habanero, the hotel restaurant, is a great asset - food is good, drinks are great and its a lovely place to just chill at the end of the day while the kids watch the crabs on the beach! I also had a massage in the spa which was just amazing! We cant wait to visit here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Toucan which has a direct view of the beach - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived in Santa Teresa at night, cleaned up and headed over to Habanero's (restaurant at Playa Cielo) upon a recommendation. We immediatly fell in love Playa Cielo! Dinner was fantastic (tons of food!) and we ended up stopping by Habanero's the next day for drinks and ceviche while walking the beach around lunch time.

As great as our first hotel was, we wanted to be right on the beach, not across the street, for my girlfriend's birthday. There is just something special about walking out of your door and being on the beach instead gathering all your stuff up and walking it across the street and down a dusty alley to be on the beach. You dont have to worry about your stuff being stolen and you have chairs and drinks and a pool all right at Playa Cielo.

We got lucky and they had one spot open, a 2 bed/ 2 bath villa that Sol and Adelle (owners) were gracious enought to rent to us on short notice. The place was AMAZING!! Super clean, a/c was fantastic, bed felt like heaven, outdoor showers were awesome. We were very happy with our choice to move over to Playa Cielo.

Sol and Adelle gave us free drinks on my girlfriend's birthday and they made ceviche from a fish we caught while on a trip with Alvero's Tours that morning, and we got a couple's massage on the beach, that we both thought was the best massage we've ever had.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Playa Cielo. great price for being on the beach! Take note that other hotels claim to be "on the beach" or "steps away from beach" and are not on the beach at all. Playa Cielo is on the playa, my friends!

Room Tip: Two villas are the closest to the ocean and you can see straight out the doors to the waves. The tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A wonderful private small inn featuring five individual bungalows. Steps to the beautiful beach and a good Mexican style restaurant - Habanero's. Owners are originally from New York and extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Facilities for light cooking if you wish. Off the road and away from the dust in dry season (a serious issue be ready). Easy access to all usual needs (groceries, bakery, restaurants etc). Well worth the premium price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visited Playa Cielo with my boyfriend, sister and her fiance last week. We rented the 2 bedroom bungalow and it was more than spacious for the 4 of us. When researching getaways for our trip to Costa Rica I stumbled upon Playa Cielo through tripadvisor. With little to almost no knowledge of Costa Rica let alone Santa Teresa we took a gamble by choosing Playa Cielo based solely on the reviews and photos, and the gamble payed off. Santa Teresa is a small town and while there are an abundance of rentals, Playa Cielo is located directly on the beach with a pool that allows you to look at the beach from it as well. I must say that the showers were my favorite part however. They are an indoor/outdoor type of shower, meaning they are closed off, but the top is open so it feels like you're in an outdoor shower, but with the privacy of being indoors. The restaurant Habanero is on site and offers some of the most delicious food I've ever had while vacationing, not to mention there amazing frozen margaritas. We were very surprised to find that all the food we had while staying in Santa Teresa was spectacular. The owners Adele and Sol were wonderfully helpful in giving us recommendations of other places to eat, although it was hard to make ourselves leave Habanero. Brisas del Mar and the restaurant next door at Hotel Tropico were also fantastic. I could go on forever about Santa Teresa and Playa Cielo, but most importantly the attention and hospitality we received from Adele and Sol as well as their fabulous waitresses and cooks was above and beyond what we expected. Even though I didn't get her name, the woman who cleaned our bungalow each day and brought us fresh fruit each morning was so wonderful and sweet as well. We had a little bit of trouble one night with a water heater in one of the bedrooms that started to leak. When we told Adele and Sol they gave us free shots and fixed it a timely manner. The only thing to know is that the hotel only takes cash, but there is an ATM right in the center a mere 5-8 minute walk or 2 minute car ride away. When the day comes to return to Santa Teresa I will be staying at Playa Cielo. Thank you Adele & Sol!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

When traveling in Costa Rica earlier this year we happened upon Playa Cielo's great restaurant Habanero's. So when we had a chance In April to get back to Costa Rica we decided to stay at Playa Cielo and enjoyed every blissful moment of our stay. The location couldn't be beat, right on the beach, beautifully appointed, super clean and spacious bungalows which included a fabulous shower/bathroom, and kitchenette. There was an outdoor shower at our bungalow which was great after coming from the beach or pool, just a few steps away. We also enjoyed very much our lovely veranda that we took full advantage of to sit and relax and enjoy the luscious gardens and amazing view. In comparison to other facilities in this area Playa Cielo is a huge cut above - first-rate by any standard and a great value! The outstanding level of service and hospitality, its idyllic setting, close to Mal Pais' other attractions and shops, and best of all we could walk directly from the beach and securely leave our surf boards on our verandas - it truly felt like a home away from home. One couldn't ask for more! We plan on going back this summer and can't wait. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk/London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is difficult. We had the two bed villa which is expensive - more than $400 a night so maybe my expectations were too high. Here are the pros and cons:-

Pros

Amazing beach and loads of places to drive around and explore and great bars and restaurants
Fab scenery
Friendly, informative and welcoming owners
Nice beach bar with fab margaritas and surprisingly good food
Once you get used to the dusty surroundings and accept that it's ok to do nothing it's really relaxing. If we'd stayed a couple of days longer we'd have got the balance perfect between relaxing by the bar, going exploring and finding great places to eat.

Cons

2 bed villa is not as charming as the one beds and looks directly out over the other villas so it felt a bit like we were on a seaside housing estate rather than in a beach house
Vibe is definitely self-catering rather than hotel. Coffee and sugar is supplied but even if it's not a hotel (and it says it is) then most self catering places supply a welcome pack of milk, juice and bread which would have made a huge difference to us at minimal cost. We arrived hot and bothered and had to immediately go to the supermarket in the dust (it's REALLY dusty). Also minimal toiletries means that if you were expecting hotel toiletries you have to go and buy shampoo and conditioner.
We were there at the end of the season and some things were looking tired - broken hammocks by the beach and a less than sparkling pool. However we weren't paying end of season prices!

So we really liked it but it would have been easy to get at least one more star from us with minimal expenditure.


Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my second trip to the Santa Teresa area and my first stay at the Playa Cielo. I only wish I had found this place earlier. I traveled with my wife and two daughters (13 and 9) and everyone had a great time. Sol and Adele were wonderful hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. The grounds are beautifully maintained and our villa was always kept clean. The little things they did were nice, like always having clean towels for the shower and beach, a beautiful, fresh fruit plate every morning, and help with whatever we needed. The Habanero restaurant was not only very convenient, but also very tasty. The location of the hotel is perfect. We like to surf and one of the best breaks is a 50 yard walk south on the beach, so it's very easy to get in as many sessions as you can take. The kids had a ball at low tide exploring the many tide pools. All of the restaurants and other beaches are easy to get to, however, I recommend renting an SUV to get around, as you will have a lot more fun this way. I really can't say enough about what a great time we had. I can only look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: villa #4 is only six months old and has 2 master bedroom suites.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.