We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Surfs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently stayed at Playa Cielo, with two other friends. We had a fantastic time and was blown away by the accommodation and the location close to the beach. The restaurant was equally as good- fresh Mexican seafood and steaks that would melt in your mouth. I have been to Mal Pais and stayed in many Hotels, Playa Cielo is by far the best. I am also booking up for next year!

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautifully constructed and maintained property directly on the beach at Santa Teresa, owned by Sol and Adele Mermelstein, for whom the hotel is almost another child, built from the ground up. They take a very personal interest in taking care of their guests. The property runs on a deep lot from the main street to the beach. Plenty of parking on the street side, four separate bungalows (3 1-bedroom, 1 2 bedroom) sloping down to the pool, Habanero Mexican Grille (reviewed elsewhere) and the beach. The rooms are spacious, with king bed, built-in kitchenette and seating, storage and lap-top safe, marble floored. The bathrooms feature showers enclosed, on the inside, by glass wall and doors, and on the outside by a semicircular wall-high stonework wall, no roof...you can shower outdoors in the warm air and sun in complete privacy. Really lovely! Facing the beach are porches, with table, chairs, corner lounges and hammocks. Air-conditioned, cableTV and wireless wifi. A complimentary plate of fresh fruit is delivered to your door every morning.

The staff is friendly, helpful and well-trained, with concierge services (reservations, side-trip planning etc) and daily room service.

The beach right in front of the property is white sand, with lava rock formations creating a semicircle around it. To the left and right of this area are long, wide beaches with great surf break. The pool is a large (by Santa Teresa standards) oval. There are outdoor showers between the ocean and the pool and outside every bungalow.

It's on the higher-priced end of the Santa Teresa scale, but offers more in atmosphere, facilities, and service than most other hotels here that we've tried. I'd love to go back! (Actually, I wanted never to leave!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife Heather and I were fortunate enough to spend two wonderful weeks at Playa Cielo over Christmas and New Year's. Adele and Schlomi were nothing short of fantastic. I particularly enjoyed my time with Schlomi who is a generous and fascinating man. Their property is beautiful and the accommodation first rate. If that wasn't enough, they have the best restaurant on the beach with a first rate staff! It didn't take us long to feel like we were surrounded by friends.

Suffice to say, we are going back ASAP.

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Playa Cielo is a very beautiful property located in the very cool town of Santa Teresa. Check out some of the pictures of this place and you can see why you are paying the extra money to stay here. Try to think of the bungalows as more of a vacation rental than a hotel as it was lacking some of the service and amenities that you would find at a traditional hotel. The emphasis is definitely on the restaurant that is located on the same property. It was all around a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

There is no other place like Playa Cielo in Santa Teresa!!!

Wow IS all you can think while you're walking up to your villa surrounded by all the lush gardens. The grounds are so beautiful and are kept immaculately well. The atmosphere as you go down the walk way passing all the wonderful plants and features is breath taking. The view from our room included our "yard", the pool, Habaneros restaurant, the beach and of course, the ocean!!! It is picturesque! The room included everything we needed-we used the kitchenette a few times (although you couldn't hardly get me away from the restaurant) and there was more than enough space for all our belongings.

Playa Cielo is by far the most welcoming and comfortable setting we have ever stayed in. The fresh watermelon and pineapple in the morning after enjoying the "outdoor" shower was a perfect way to start the day. Being able to walk down to the beach and stop by Habaneros to have a delicious margarita, nachos and ceviche was a bit spoiling. Gary was the chef during our stay and he is absolutely stunning with his menu and presentation. The Aztec (tomato) soup is to DIE FOR (even enjoyed on a hot afternoon!!) and I can't forget about the fresh lobster and grilled octopus-it ALL was just amazing. They have a million different sauces to enjoy with every bite-and everything is made from scratch! Yum, Yum, Yum!

I always felt so safe and secure when on the premises-there was even a guard who walked the grounds all night-greeting us with a flash light at the gate when we returned from a late night out dancing. Carlos was always just a phone call away when we had a question or needed something. The staff at the restaurant are so friendly, helpful and professional. A million thanks to Sol and Adelle!!!! They have created a fantastic retreat and house a wonderful staff. They treated us as family and were always in the best of spirits! Their hospitality will never be forgotten! Thank you for the memory of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Get the one up front-it looks straight out onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Perfect spot to bring your lady. Beachfront, private, secure, quiet, warm, inviting. Hard pressed to find a cooler place to stay. Thanks to the owners for sharing this awesome place with the rest of us. Would stay again in a second.

Room Tip: Toucan, although all rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Playa Cielo for our honeymoon in mid Novemeber. This was our first trip to Santa Teresa and definitely not our last. What a spectacular place to stay!
The grounds are beautiful with 4 casitas, a pool, and a restaurant right on the beach. The owners, Adelle and Sol make sure all your needs are met. Carlos set up our fishing trip our horse back riding and our ATV rental. He handled everything, all we had to do was show up. Habanero's, the Mexican restaurant on site is outstanding. Don't expect greasy tacos; think fresh fish served with the most delicious fresh sauces and large portions. Gary the chef was nice enough to cook up the fish that we caught on our trip. He made us an awesome ceviche. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time with no complaints. One of the most beautiful beaches and great relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend Playa Cielo to anybody. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.