We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for 17 magical nights, and had the best holiday ever.

Our bungalow was lovely, with tastefully decorated interior, four poster bed, ( really comfortable) and the bathroom had a great view of the blue sky, or the stars through the really clever glass fronted inside/outside shower area.
Outside there was a really comfortable lounging area on the terrace; the view of the ocean and the tropical trees and plants was stunning.
It was great when the sun went down to light a few candles, listen to the ocean, and have a few drinks whilst deciding what to have for dinner at Habaneros, (see seperate review) the delicious Mexican restaurant just along the garden path.
For a few nights we had myriads of fireflies outside our bugalow lighting up the garden like a mini galaxy - wow!
Theres a great pool area a few steps from the beach, and a breathtaking vista of the Pacific Ocean and the amazing surf, that comes free with every stay here!
Adele, Sol, and all the staff made us feel like being one of the family, and every care was taken to ensure we were comfortable and happy during our stay, we are coming back next Summer so that says it all!

Room Tip: We had the butterfly bungalow, but all of the bungalows are well situated for privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Adele, Sol, Eti, Jose, Antonia, and the rest of the staff go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need.

We arrived late after riding the ferry over and were there for over 24 hours before WE asked whether they wanted the money for our room. Very nice to not feel pressured for money but totally different from things here in the states.

Eti arranged all of our activities upon arrival; listen to her recommendations! You cannot go wrong!

We spent two of our five nights eating at the restaurant which had amazing food, there's really nothing on the menu that you won't enjoy.

The rooms are amazing; king size bed, outdoor shower, kitchenette, air-conditioning, amazing front porch, with each one having a wonderful view. We spent a couple days just hanging out on the property; there was always someone around to talk to and spent quite a bit of time getting to know Adele.

All in all there is nothing neither myself or my husband would change about our stay here except maybe skipping the coffee plantation and staying a few extra days!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is perfect - just steps from the beach. You can even see the ocean from your room. The rooms were very clean, bright and beautiful. The outdoor shower was very nice..however the water temp had a mind of its own - from cool to warm to hot without touching the dial. Jose, the groundskeeper was very friendly and always looking out for you. Carlos was also fantastic and extremely helpful. Although we did receive fruit each morning, I would expect that a hotel in this price range would include a breakfast with more variety. Habaneros was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We (my husband and I and our 22 year old daughter) stayed at Hotel Playa Cielo in June and had a wonderful stay. The grounds and accommodations are absolutely beautiful. It really looks exactly as it is represented on the hotel website's pictures; you won't be disappointed. The owners and staff were lovely and very helpful in making reservations and setting up activities, including surfing lessons, zip lining, massages, and ATVing. The family that owns the hotel is wonderful; they have three friendly dogs that are mainstays on the grounds. Dining is usually a big part of our vacations, we love to try out a bunch of restaurants. However, during our stay at Playa Cielo, we found ourselves always going back to the restaurant on the grounds. It was delicious and convenient. There was plenty on the menu so that you could easily eat there all week without repeating any dishes. The ceviche and guacamole were great, as were the margaritas, and really everything. It is located right on the beach, which was wonderful on both clear and rainy nights - we were there during the rainy season - as it was a great place to watch thunderstorms light up the beach and ocean. The only thing the restaurant does not offer is breakfast, for which you should check out an amazing bakery up the street. The owners are building a fourth house on the grounds, but the construction did not bother us. It is all done during the day, at which time we were either at the pool/beach or out. It definitely seemed like the nicest hotel in one of the best locations in Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Right now there are three houses/cabanas and a fourth one is under construction. There are two clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Playa Cielo is perfect in every way. This boutique paradise is simply magical, the atmosphere, the beach location, the services, the people are all faultless. The staff are all kind and sweet and the owners Adele, Shlomie and girls Gabby and Sivan became such close friends that I teared up when I left.

I could go into fine detail about the amazing massages, all the excursions that they arranged for us, the stunning villas, and the exquisite food in Habanero's beach restaurant, but I can't possibly do it justice. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many places, but playa cielo is my favourite by far. It casts a spell over you the minute you arrive... Pura Vida....

If you are even thinking about visiting CR, stay here...

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days at Playa Cielo to celebrate our anniversary and it was exactly what we wanted - private, quiet, clean, and relaxing. (with the exception of some construction noise from the new casita going up, but we quickly forgot about it) The casitas are lovely and well-done and the open air shower was a nice addition. We spent many hours relaxing on the porch or in the hammocks after surfing and would wander down to the pool to cool off. The restaurant was fantastic! We ate dinner there every night because we kept trying new things on the menu and loved the atmosphere, not to mention the 30-second walk home. Overall, it was a great experience.
Our only negative was that we were not told in advance that the remainder of our bill had to be paid in cash (Colones or US dollars) Had we known, we would have pulsed out cash in the US. Instead we had to spend a couple of hours messing with ATM cards and calling our bank to increase our withdrawal limit, then pay the transfer and exchange fees. Pretty annoying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I came to stay at Playa Cielo for a week and had a wonderful time. The casitas were very classy with travertine floors and exposed beam ceilings. The roof-less shower was a very nice touch, and the large porch overhangs and hammocks gave us a great place to hangout when we needed a break from the sun or to nap while an afternoon rainstorm passed through. I was truly impressed that they went the extra mile to build the casitas with Eco-consciousness and sustainability in mind. There was also a security guard there at night which made us feel safe.
Adele, Shlomi, Eti and their warm staff took excellent care of us and made us feel like family. The grounds were very well kept and we had a fresh plate of fruit waiting for us every day when we woke up. They arranged several excursions for us with curbside service. The food was delicious and made it easy for us to eat onsite for much of our trip. The Red Snapper was fantastic! They even had great live music one night.
The Saltwater pool was also a nice touch since I don't like overly-chlorinated pools. The slightly-salty water was much nicer on my skin. The beach and the surfing were great as well.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: They gave us a tour and all the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.