We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect place for a vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Save Saved
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a perfect place for a vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I recently went to Playa Cielo with my husband for a vacation before our baby arrives. It was a perfect place to stay. Everything about the resort was beautiful and essentially perfect. The hosts are amazing, the food is delicious, it's set in an incredible spot with the most gorgeous views. The ocean is steps away, the pool is delightful, the accommodations are perfect, its quiet and relaxing, it's walking distance to stores and restaurants if you need to get away. There are plenty of activities near by but mostly it's just delightful to sit in the sun and read a book and eat fresh fruit that they serve you each morning. I'd recommend this place to absolutely anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the houses that face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at Playa Cielo on our honeymoon to Santa Teresa. We fell in love as soon as we started our tour. Our casita was clean, open and light with a short distance to the ocean. We would wake up to the sound of waves every morning and also with a plate of fresh fruit waiting for us. The staff is more than helpful and friendly and always willing to strike up a conversation. The restaurant on site was amazing as well. We had fresh caught lobster and red snapper. A lot of food came out with the meal but we managed to finish. There's something about sitting outside at night, eating great food, and listening to the ocean that makes the soul happy. We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, romantic, relaxing stay at the beach.

Room Tip: One closer to the beach....that way you have an awesome view from the moment you wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Playa Cielo for almost a week for our honeymoon. This place is amazing. We loved it and would highly recomend it to anyone planning a trip to Santa Teresa, CR. They arranged to have a car pick us up from Tambor, the driver was the best. He ended up driving us throughout the entire week when needed and if he was not available he arranged for a co-worker to drive us. The owners at Playa Cielo, Adele and Shlomi were always checking on us and making sure we were happy. I am sure if there were any issues they would have been right on it, but there were none! Their concierge, Eti was there everyday, booking trips, messages, a four wheeler, recommending the best places to eat, and also ensuring that every day we were happy. Their ground keeper, Jose was the nicest person and it was comforting knowing he was always there looking out for us. I could go on and on about this place. The restaurant, Habanerno on site was amazing as well, we ate there 3-4 times. The grounds were always beautiful, the pool was always clean, and our villa was beautiful and cleaned every day. Thank you for making our Honeymoon so wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed a week at Playa Cielo and wish it could have been longer. Next time! I want to thank Adele, Sol, Gaby, Sivon and Eti for making me feel like part of their family. The casitas are amazing - so relaxing and peaceful. I loved the open air shower! The setting is right on a beautiful beach. I loved sitting by the pool watching the surf. A highlight is watching the beautiful sunsets while sipping a delicious margarita. The beachfront restaurant, Habaneros, serves delicious food. You really don't even have to leave the property if you don't want to! I have to steal a few words from a previous review - Playa Cielo felt like a beautiful home away from home. Thanks to Antonia for the fresh fruit in the morning. What a great way to start the day. And Jose who works tirelessly on the grounds to make them so beautiful. Playa Cielo and everyone there, you will always have a special place in my heart. Till next time.

Room Tip: There is not a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

How else can you describe this awsome jewel other than a Bungalow that's Heaven on Earth. The comfortable Canopy King bed with shaded glass doors opening onto your covered patio with views across the pool to the huge surf. The stunning views from the restaurant and bar are one of a kind in this part of Costa Rica. It's on the beach and the surf invites everyone walking on the beach to join the locals for dinner and a few drinks. From the shower in your bungalow open to the stars to the couches, hammocks and dining on your patio, it all adds up to the most relaxing environment you will experience in Cost Rica. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, with sea bass, lobster, beef and many other local dishes. Don't miss their Famous Refreshing Mint Lemonade. The owners, Sol and Adele will take care of you as though you are family. By the time you leave, you will be. With six trips to Costa Rica and touring all over the country, this place is a do over and over. Don't let the dirt roads fool you. You will forget the ride getting there once you experience Playa Cielo. Please, all I ask is that you don't go in April, May or June. I'd like those months for my family and friends. Louisiana Cajun

Room Tip: Only (3) one bed room bungalows now, with a two bedroom under construction and two honeymoon bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to stay in the tropics with the added bonus of a restaurant and some wonderful excursions at your disposal, this is definitely the place. I can't call the folks at PC "staff" because, by the time we left, they were like friends to us - my wife actually teared up when saying goodbye and that has never happened in our travels before. They are simply the kindest, most helpful people you'll ever meet. Our many thanks to Sol, Adele, Eti (we miss you!), Jose and Antonia for a perfect stay.
We arrived late afternoon and were immediately thrilled with our decision to stay here. We saw the beautiful grounds, the pool and the beach all right there and immediately felt so relaxed. The sunset the first night was gorgeous and we watched from the beach and then the hammocks under the trees. There is a restaurant on the grounds as well and without question you could eat every one of your meals right there and know you always got the best of the best. The area is fun to explore though on foot or, even better, by renting a quad (VERY reasonably priced). But if you really just want to relax and enjoy the sun and sand, you don't have to go far. There is a market that you can easily walk over to for supplies and a couple of nice little gift shops and eateries. A quad will take you anywhere you want to go in the area and it's a great idea to get one and check out the different beaches and landscapes. Eti does an incredible job suggesting and arranging excursions so just listen to her and you can't possibly go wrong. We also fished while there which was a blast and we brought a bunch back to the restaurant (Habenero) which the chef cooked up perfectly for us.
The casitas themselves are beautiful. We stayed in El Tucan and had a wonderful view of the grounds, pool and ocean. We loved the open air shower, our excellent deck and the hammocks which pretty much put you to sleep as soon as you got in. The coffee was excellent and the fridge came in handy for ice, drinks and leftovers. We were greeted every morning by a plate of fresh, delicious tropical fruits which really served as our entire breakfast during our stay. The pool is incredibly warm and relaxing and there was no time during our stay that we couldn't hear the wonderful sound of the waves (sometimes huge!) breaking on the beach which is something we love.
It's difficult to put into words sometimes how you feel about a place but all I can say is that Playa Cielo felt like a safe and beautiful home away from home. We absolutely loved it there and will be recommending it to everyone we know without hesitation. Costa Rica is a beautiful country that we will certainly be revisiting - maybe permanently someday! - and without question our coastal stay will be at Playa Cielo. After staying there we both decided that, though we love to explore, in this case there just isn't a reason to look any further.

Room Tip: There are only 3 casitas at this time and all are excellent...we loved El Tucan for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed three nights at Playa Cielo and loved it. The room was great and spacious. The bed was comfortable. It was nice to have a small kitchen, but we spent most our time on the patio in the hammocks, lounging on the couches, or sitting at the outside table looking at the ocean. Everyone there is very helpful and accomodating. Etti and Adele gave us great advice on things to do and places to eat and check each day that everything was ok. The on site restaurant, Habenero's, is great and is right on the beach. They are currently doing construction, which can be a litte loud at times, but overall wasn't a problem. Every now and then the dogs on-site can be a little loud, but again not a big problem. The pool area is nice and is steps away from the beach. It is located right on the beach and is close to a grocery, restaurants and most stuff is within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.