We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at Playa Cielo for a 7-night honeymoon and couldn't have been more pleased.

More impressive than the rooms and the setting is the service. After spending months planning a wedding for 200 guests, it was so nice to show up in with literally nothing planned for the honeymoon. Eitte was extremely helpful. Between arranging day trips, setting up airport transfers, and making reservations, she was probably our favorite part of our stay. The level of personalized attention we got was truly impressive.

The villas are clean, spacious, and well designed. The patio areas have comfortable lounge furniture and hammocks. The A/C was and ceiling fans kept things nice and cool, and having the safe in the room was really nice. We both felt the bed was larger than a king size.

We made at least 2, maybe 3 trips to the pool daily. With a limited number of villas, it's never too crowded, although iguanas and dogs may join you on the pool deck. I was concerned having the new restaurant 30 feet away from the pool might be a little intrusive, but it actually livens up the area nicely and makes it easy to grab a snack or a drink.

It seems like the groundskeeper never stops working, and it shows around the property. He is out there at 7 am picking up dead leaves from the walkways, cleaning the pool at lunchtime, and watering the grass in the evenings. The main entrance is gated and locked at night. There are at least 4 or 5 dogs that are residents of the property. All of them are extremely friendly and usually just looking for a cool place to lay down for awhile.

The beach immediately in front of Playa Cielo is pretty rocky, but there are safer area to swim a couple minutes walk in either direction. The rocks do make for some nice tide pools when the tide is out.

Playa Cielo did recently break ground (March 2012) on a new 2-bedroom unit, located a little farther back from the beach, so expect some construction noise for the next couple months until it's finished. It was slightly annoying, but they did a reasonable job of not starting too early or working too late.

Room Tip: If possible, get El Tucan or Mariposa for the best possible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our family stayed for 5 nights at Playa Cielo and had a truly enjoyable stay. The casitas are spacious, spotless and stylish with great little kitchenettes, king size four poster beds (trundle bed for the kids) and open air showers. The outdoor living is space is large and very comfortable with a spacious sectional, hammocks and dining table. We happily began and ended our days kicking back here and taking in the gorgeous view. The grounds are well maintained and well on their way to becoming a lush tropical paradise. The saltwater pool is perfect for kids of all ages and has plenty of comfy loungers. The onsite restaurant, Habanero served very good Mexican food and had great ambiance. The owners are very friendly and available. The beachfront location couldn't be any better, however I wouldn't recommend the beach for kids, as the tide (I know this can be variable but it didn't change the whole time we were there) was a little strong.. My son is 8 and a good swimmer but I wasn't comfortable letting him play around at surfing and boogie boarding as he has on other beaches (we visited Playa Hermosa a 10 minute drive down the road, at low tide it was perfect for this). Also you should be aware, the hotel will accept credit cards (no traveller's cheques) but you have to pay the processing fee (around 5%), so they suggested after our first night (a Wed) that we get cash as the ATM runs out of money on the weekends! Since we have a cash withdrawal limit we had to be sure to make a few trips right away to get enough cash and then store it in our safe, that's a lot of cash when you are there for a longer stay and it was a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just home from 8 of the best days I've ever had in my life. Arrived here after travelling around Costa Rica and this was the best place we stayed by a mile, out of several 5 star accommodations. Spotless, stylish and modern accommodation on an impossibly beautiful sandy stretch of Santa Teresa beach. Great pool, great restaurant on site.. I think I could've happily stayed there for rest of my life! Never been so relaxed. Good to have own coffee maker and kitchenette for breakfast time, snacks etc.

Like other reviewers have mentioned, its clear the owners have really put their heart and soul into this place and they are lovely, cool people.

Go now before Santa Teresa gets busy and over developed.. it is only a matter of time.

Room Tip: 3 villas are all identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My Wife and I visited Playa Cielo in November 2011 (yes it took me a while to write the review). This was our second visit to the area, we spent our honeymoon at Casa Chameleon in Mal Pais the year before. We absolutely love the area and it will always hold a special place in our hearts. We had very high expectations for this vacation and Plya Cielo did not disappoint. It was just as nice if not nicer than Casa Chameleon with the advantage of being beachfront!! The bungalows are modern extra CLEAN and have everything you need. The resort is located within walking distance to a super market and close to restaurants and the centre of town. Sol, Adele, and Eti make you feel like family. Anything you could need they are more than happy to arrange it for you. Not only that but they truly seek to understand who you are as a person and help make sure your stay satisfies all your needs.
If there is availability during your trip do yourself a favour and book now!! we have stopped in and looked an most of the beachfront resorts in the area and Playa Cielo is the BEST.....Moreover it is also the best value. You can spend more money for lesser accommodations in the area.

Room Tip: All the Bungalows are perfect. You can't make a bad choice here. I suggest renting a quad to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We went only to the restaurant but it was amazing. Great service and prices, located beside the beach and the food was delicious!
Great mexican food! Definitely comming back next time in Sta Teresa.

Also the gardens and the pool area is really beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I spent 3 days at Playa Cielo. From the minute we literally stumbled upon this little gem, we were hooked. The Margaritas the best I have ever had, the Mexican food, a nice change from the usual local food (which I also LOVE!) and the delicious array of fine tequilas that Shlomi keeps in his family run bar, are all excellent. Adele and Shlomi showed us such a warm welcome, that I did not want to leave. Their resort is a must see, even if just for sunset drinks at their beach bar/restaurant. This is one of my most favourite places I visited during my 2 weeks in Costa Rica. I am going back to stay in June!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Everything about this place exceeded our expectations. The grounds and accommodations were beautifully designed and well cared for. You can tell that the owners Adele and Sol put a lot of thought and energy into creating this oasis. They were wonderful hosts - always around to advise on a day trip or a grocery store run, but left you alone to enjoy a swing in the hammock or a nap by the pool. The staff were the same way - always present enough so you felt safe and well taken care of but without ever feeling bothered. The location is amazing, with a beautiful beach directly out front and gorgeous sunsets every evening. You can hear the surf all day and night from the bungalow. There are plentiful birds and iguanas to keep you company. We prefer to cook our own food so it was nice to have a kitchen, but the restaurant on the grounds serves good food too. We will definitely be back and we highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: There are 2 bungalows out front that have great ocean views and a 3rd nestled slightly in back that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list