We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place in mal pais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Cielo to your Saves list
Playa Cielo
Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Highland Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only place in mal pais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Place was to American standards and then some. Clean bueatiful room on the sand. One of the nicest in cr

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed with our 3 young children and had a great time. I believe it is the best place in Santa Teresa. The casita was very nice, the kids loved the outdoor shower! We walked the 50 yards to the beach every morning and the kids really liked stopping by the pool to release the crabs that had fallen inside during the previous night. The pool are was also very nice.
We found it to be a great value too.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I HIGHLY recommend Playa Cielo. This amazing heaven was everything that my Mom and I needed and more...for the perfect getaway in Santa Teresa. The owners, Adele and Shlomi cater to your every need with the utmost care.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, USA, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

When we were looking for a place to stay in Santa Theresa, we started out with some high expectations. Mainly we were looking for three things: We wanted a place right on the beach, that had a pool, and a view of the ocean from the room. At Playa Cielo, we found that and so much more. Not only are the cabanas poolside with an ocean view, but they are truly on the high end of casual luxury. The beds are comfortable and sumptuous, the shower opens up pleasantly to the sun and sky, there's air conditioning and a convenient little kitchen to prepare meal, all of which is rare to impossible to find in Santa Theresa in this rate which incidentally includes a delightful breakfast of local fruit, croissants, and fresh made bread. If that were all we found when we got there we would have been overjoyed. However, much to our delight Playa Cielo came with so much more. The property's owners and managers, Sol and Adele, took what would have been a terrific vacation and made it truly spectacular. There warmth, willingness to help, and the sheer pleasure of their presence provided an element to our trip that ratings can't measure. We look forward to our return to Playa Cielo in the future and would heartily recommend this special place to anyone looking for a uniquely memorable vacation experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Playa Cielo is a beautiful and intimate hotel. The cabinas/cabanas are absolutely lovely and styled in a wonderfully natural and beachy manner. Comfortable beds, pillows, towels, useful small kitchen, cozy outdoor patio area with dining table and chairs as well as two lovely hammocks, made our stay all the more peaceful.
The very short walk across the property to the beach, (with great tide pools for the kids to explore directly in front of the property) could not be more convenient.
With an owner on site daily, the guest/client services were outstanding. They were able to assist us with reservations for dinners, spa services, activities and to make recommendations for everything.
I truly can not wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

First and foremost the hospitality at Playa Cielo goes way beyond good service. You literally become part of the extended family from the moment you roll in. When Shlomi and Adele described the amount of care, time, and detail they took when creating Playa Cielo you can feel it is not just a place to stay, but a real escape to a magical beachfront oasis.
The location is so central that you can walk to get what you need. Activities abound, and the hosts can help you navigate with personalized recommendations.
Each little villa is so well designed- minimal, but roomy, airy, but not too buggy, rustic, but with all the comforts you would have in a luxury hotel. Morning breakfasts with fresh fruits and croissants (my wife has withdrawals to this day from the croissants), the pool is like being at South Beach hotel, and (drum roll) the beach! Man, this is a special place. You can just feel the sense of freedom and magic as you cruise around.
My advice- go to this place before everyone finds out (I recognize the irony of posting on TA). You will be part of the lucky few to savor this spectacular experience in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We just came back from spending two weeks at this amazing property. We had never been to Costa Rica before and were nervous about renting a place unseen. Any fears we had were immediately alleviated after our first contact with the owners. They responded fast and were extremely helpful. They went out of their way to make sure all of our questions were answered and our needs attended to.
This place is everything the description says plus so much more. It's right on the beach, and close to stores and restaurants... but you also get a sense of privacy and tranquility; perfect combination!
The beach in front of Playa Cielo is sandy and perfect for swimming or surfing. There are also so many amazing volcanic rock formations to explore during low tide. If you prefer a pool, there's one with an ocean view!
The three cabins are brand new, and impeccably maintained, but still offer a nice cozy vibe. We didn't want to wind up in a sterile house with no charm and we weren't disappointed. Every day we were able to ask advice on restaurants and activities and feel that as a result we got the "real" Santa Teresa experience. One our favorite things to do was drive 30 minutes to the Montezuma waterfalls and hike.
Over all the trip was amazing, and the owners of Playa Cielo played a big role in that. We are already thinking of booking a couple of the cabins with friends for next year. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, luxury beachfront villas each with amazing ocean views. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.Relax by our beachfront pool or lounge in any of the available hammocks by the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.