We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best place to stay in Santa Teresa / Mal Pais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Hotel Meli Melo
500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far the best place to stay in Santa Teresa / Mal Pais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Only positive things to say. Owners are very warm, welcoming, and pay attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, very well-located. Our stay in Santa Teresa couldn't have been better thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
56
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is one of the best in town! Right across the street of Santa Terasa surf break, close to all amenities (grocery, shops, restaurants, bars, etc…). The hotel is brand new and the rooms are very clean, bright and they provide AC, which is a must ;) You can even ask for a room with your own little private garden!
As for the owners, Melanie and Fred are more than welcoming. They make you feel at home and will do everything to make sure your stay is the greatest! Fred provides surf lessons and you can rent boards for reasonable prices right at the hotel. The communal kitchen is very well organize and give you the opportunity to meet people from around the world ;) You can’t’ go wrong with Meli Melo! Enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Meli Melo from July 1st to 12th, and we just didn't want to leave! Frederic and Melanie, the owners, make you feel at home. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds were really confortable. The shower has hot water. The hotel kitchen is well equiped, we almost never went to restaurants and the grocerie store is less than a 5 minutes walk away. It was a great way to meet with the other hotel guests, who were all really friendly, relaxed, and fun to talk to. They also provide bicycles for free. Last but not least, the beautiful beach is right across the street! I can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

my friend and i just stayed here at the meli melo from the 3-7th of july 2012. we are both travelers and both agreed that our stay here was one of the greatest accommodations we have ever experienced on a bed and breakfast level. melanie and frederick who are the owners are extremely relaxed and laid back and will take care of everything and anything that you need/want. the rooms are clean and have everything you need. the establishment has a communal kitchen which is great because you get to meet all your guests and eat meals with them so you feel like its a little family while youre staying. cant recommend it enough. we plan on going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Really great hotel, nice rooms, so close to the beach
I really enjoyed my stay. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet.
Wonderful location, really good surf lessons, and was so nice to just rent a board from our hotel.
I cant wait to go back next year to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Found this place after nearly leaving town due to the heat and lack of a/c (my boyfriend love his conveniences!) great people, willing to do anything to make your stay better, have bikes for free use, will wash and line dry your cloths upon request, have a full kitchen for guest use, a and it's directly across the street from the beach entrance. Would definitely stay here again, an extreme value!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed over a week with my brother and cousin on a surf trip. Really nice room with everything you need. Very comfortable, and we loved having our own little terrace and garden area to hang out at the end of the day. Made some great dinners in the kitchen. Great location, quick walk to the beach with perfect surf everyday. We didn't want to leave, thanks for everything Melanie and Fred, and Angela. We'll be back soon. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: 500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2mn walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, fishing and snorkeling gear, bycicles...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and confortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meli Melo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Meli Melo to your Saves list