We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Meli Melo to your Saves list
Hotel Meli Melo
500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Really great hotel, nice rooms, so close to the beach
I really enjoyed my stay. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet.
Wonderful location, really good surf lessons, and was so nice to just rent a board from our hotel.
I cant wait to go back next year to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
66
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Found this place after nearly leaving town due to the heat and lack of a/c (my boyfriend love his conveniences!) great people, willing to do anything to make your stay better, have bikes for free use, will wash and line dry your cloths upon request, have a full kitchen for guest use, a and it's directly across the street from the beach entrance. Would definitely stay here again, an extreme value!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed over a week with my brother and cousin on a surf trip. Really nice room with everything you need. Very comfortable, and we loved having our own little terrace and garden area to hang out at the end of the day. Made some great dinners in the kitchen. Great location, quick walk to the beach with perfect surf everyday. We didn't want to leave, thanks for everything Melanie and Fred, and Angela. We'll be back soon. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Really nice place with all the things you need, A/C, hot shower, a kitchen for cooking and best of all; Really nice people! The family that owns the hotel are very helpful and friendly and will help you get everything you need. A really good choice! And it's just a few steps away from the beach!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed there more than a week, and wish I never left. The room had all the comforts of modern living, A/C, wifi, with lots of space, a huge shower, a safe; basically, I felt like royalty. Breakfast every morning, with a little spanish lesson. ( thanks Angela) Meli and Fred are wonderful people. they let me rent boards from them, and even showed me to places that I could surf, other than the beach break out front, a literal 40 sec walk from my door. Fred was kind enough to share his knowledge of the area, to which I am truly grateful. I will be going back. Thank you house of Meli Melo.

Room Tip: rooms that face west, face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed three nights at Meli Melo, the owners Melanie and Fred were awesome and Angela was amazing!! The room was nice and clean and the shower was very big in the room, the outdoor shower was very nice too!! The breakfast hit the spot every morning!! We ran into some friends from home on the beach(how crazy), they were unhappy with their hotel and wound up staying at Hotel Meli Melo!! Also very close to surf spots!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed for two nights in Meli Melo, and the owners are awesome! The hotel is really new, the rooms are super clean and simple. It has the basic comodities, and A/C, bathrooms are super clean. But what makes a difference are the owners. Even the cleaning lady Angela, is super nice, and always making sure, you already had brakfast. I felt like at home.

3 minute walk to the beach!

Also Fred, is an example to the community, although he is not a Tico, he acts like one, and he is son involved with the community, the school, surfing and development of Santa Teresa. To me it seems that he loves this country more than many locals do!

Thumbs up for Meli Melo!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Address: 500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2mn walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, fishing and snorkeling gear, bycicles...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and confortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meli Melo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.