We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be in Santa Teresa :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Meli Melo to your Saves list
Hotel Meli Melo
500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Place to be in Santa Teresa :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent a whole month in this hotel and I still miss every second of it! Melanie has been very helpful from the first time I contacted her to check out the location and prices... Her responses were always quick and her information were reliable... It takes you only 2 minutes by walking to get to the next surfspot which was awesome... Also, I can highly recommend Fred as a surf instructor... I never surfed before I came to Costa Rica and this guy made me stand on the board on the first day already (not only on the beach;-))... He can always tell you how to do better with paddling, taking off, where to put your weight on the board etc... The room was cleaned every morning, the air condition was working properly and there was always hot water in the shower although that wasn't really needed at those temperatures... Melanie and Fred were always lovely and fun to chat and be with and also very helpful with any kind of trip arrangement. The kitchen was good enough to cook simple dishes, but the hotel itself is also well surrounded by different kind of nice restaurants.

Location: 2 min away from the next surfspot, surrounded by nice restaurants
Melanie / Fred: Lovely people and parents
Marius / Alais: great kids :)
Pets: dogs, cats and iguanas... :)

Meli Melo would definitely be my first choice again when going back to Santa Teresa. :)

Miss you guys!

Ivo

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
64
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

What an incredible experience at Meli Melo!! My stay at this quaint, tropical little oasis was the icing on the cake to my experience in Costa Rica. The rooms are so spacious and well equiped, the common spaces are lush and tranquil, yet you are just steps from the beach, restaurants and nightlife.
Melanie and Frederic ensured that everyone had what they needed to complete their experience. From surf lessons to lending me a bike for the week they went above and beyond. Angela is there to greet you every morning with a delicious breakfast and a warmth that sets this place apart from other accomodation options. You really become part of the family at Meli Melo. I would highly reccomend to all :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Very clean rooms, lovely owners and staff and perfectly located for the beach.
Tip: Get money out from the bank in Mal Pais on your way, because few places accept card (including the hotel) and an ATM is a long walk in the heat (45 mins).
Having stayed at many different places during our 3 week holiday in Costa Rica, Meli Melo has proved the best value for money and the nicest service. Thank you, Melanie, Fred and Angela.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Let me start by saying you won't regret staying here - it was absolutely marvelous. Fred and Melanie are the best, the kids are adorable and Angela is super kind and wonderful. The grounds are lovely and calm, the rooms are nice and tidy and its the best location in St. Teresa! Felt like staying with a family. If you want to learn to surf, go with Fred - he's really soulful and encouraging - I highly recommend him as an instructor. Cannot wait to go back - planning a trip as soon as possible!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We were offered breakfast at the time we made the reservation, of course we never expected a buffet breakfast or similiar, but the first morming we woke up, we went to the kitchen expecting our breakfast and.. we just saw half of bimbo bread bag and a pineapple...the following 2 mornings was exactly the same, so we ended up having breakfast at the local soda..

Its simple of you dont have breakfast at your hotel you are not supposed to offered it, its by all means unprofessional, the rest was ok..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmelimelo, Owner at Hotel Meli Melo, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Hola Fernanda,

We would like to apologize that you did not like our breakfast.
We serve breakfast every day from 7.30am until 11am offering a continental breakfast to our guests with bread, jam, butter, fruits salad (mix of 2 or 3 different fruits) and of course coffee or tea.

Our rate includes a private room with AC, private bathroom with hot shower, in room safe, free WIFI, private terrace and garden, linens and towels and daily maid service including breakfast and full access to our kitchen. Our hotel is located 2mn walk to the beach and close to supermarkets, restaurants...
At 55$ per night for 2 people, we hope that with our other amenities you feel this is a good deal compared with the other hotels in our area.
For the same breakfast in a restaurant or a cafe in the area you will have to pay around 18$ for 2 people !

We apologize again for your unhappìness with our breakfast, we hope it is clear on our website that only the continental breakfast is included, and we hope that you were happy with your stay at our hotel besides for the breakfast.

Pura Vida,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

What a lovely place, what lovely hosts, what lovely family. I was supposed to stay 4 days and to move elsewhere…I ended up staying 12 days. The place is wonderful, cosy, charming.
The owners, Melanie and fred, are so friendly, helpful and welcoming! Always here for advice, help and always offering you a smile!
Rooms are clean and pretty. Beach is close to the hotel. I felt home there and if back to santa teresa, I’ll be back there for sure!
I strongly recommend that place! Excellent service! All perfect!
Nana

Room Tip: they are all nice and it depend on the number of persons you are; some are big, some are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at Meli Melo for 5 nights during the rainy season. Having stayed in Playa Carmen before we were a little unsure of staying farther down in Santa Teresa, but Meli Melo proved to be a great choice. The property is very pretty, with a great common kitchen, communal porch area, clothes line, outdoor shower, and housekeeper. The rooms are simple but comfortable, with plenty of room, and the shower has hot water (not a suicide shower). Freddy and Melanie are very welcoming and friendly, and we loved the 2 dogs and cats roaming around. There are a few good restaurants nearby for all meals, and the beach access is only a few seconds away. The beach area is quiet, and much prettier and less rocky than Playa Carmen. If you are planning to stay for a week or longer, we would recommend renting a car or ATV as the center of town is quite a ways away if you need a the ATM or want more restaurant selection. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Address: 500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2mn walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, fishing and snorkeling gear, bycicles...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and confortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meli Melo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.