We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Santa Teresa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Meli Melo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Meli Melo
500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
1 review
“Nice stay in Santa Teresa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had made reservations for 3 nights at Meli Melo and ended up staying an extra night because of the great hospitality the hotel owners had provided us.

The rooms were clean and very spacious. The A/C worked perfect and the beds were good. We had WIFI in the room at no charge which is definitely a plus. There is also a kitchen in the general area which we had used a couple of times during our stay. In the morning you get your breakfast made whenever you' re ready to have this between 8 - 10. On our last day Melanie arranged for us to have our breakfast earlier than the normal serving hours which we appreciated.

Frederic can advice and rent you a surfboard if you need this at a very decent price. He can also give you advise on surf spots in the area depending on your level of surfing. One day he took us surfing at a location a bit further away which was going off. We had a great time, especially the drive back through a storm was unforgettable for us.

All in all nice hosts and a nice place to stay in Santa Teresa. Thanks Melanie and Frederic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
59
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My son and I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Meli Melo and our wonderful hosts, Fredrique and Melanie. Both are fluent in English, Spanish, and French and were able to answer our questions about surf, expeditions, and the natural/beauty flora, fauna surrounding the hotel.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and within 20 minutes of our arrival, Fredrique had surfboards, leashes, wax and rashguards for us. Then he walked us to the beach and pointed out the best breaks. Some days Fredrique went surfing with us and gave me some great tips to help me catch more/better waves. It wasn't until our last night (we stayed 8 days) that Fredrique suprised me by showing me the photos he took when he wasn't out surfing with us. Nice touch!
The rooms are basic, but who wants to sit in a room when you can swing in a hammock on your porch and watch birds, lizards and monkeys in the trees! Rooms have Wi-Fi, good A/C, and Angela the housekeeper keeps your room and the common kitchen area very clean and tidy. (She also whipped up breakfast every day!)
Beach, shops, and restaurants are all within a few minutes walk, but if you need to go the few KM to Playa Carmen, Fredrique and Melanie have bikes that guests are welcome to borrow.
I am looking forward to my next trip to Costa Rica, and I will definitely stay with my new friends at Hotel Meli Melo.

Mike
Satellite Beach, FL

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Me and my mom took at family trip down to Costa Rica for about a week to visit my brother staying there for the summer. He had recommended Hotel Meli Melo and we had seen the pictures, but we didn't really know what to expect. This beautiful little hotel was clean; filled with wonderful people and staff, and just happened to be in the middle of paradise. The owners; Melanie and Frederick were willing to give an arm and an leg to insure their guests satisfactions. They booked a hotel for us in San Jose, answered a number of questions about the area for us, and even let us barrow their bike one day to go to the bank. My mom and I also took a surf lesson from Frederick, which was a great experience. Frederick was very patient and was a great teacher. The room was simple and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We were lucky enough to have a room connected to a huge back porch area equipped with a table, chairs and outdoor lamps, and tons of reading material in what ever language you prefer. I had a great experience and would love to go back. If you are going during the rainy season, do not be apprehensive. We went from July 6-13 and it only rained during the day once which turned out to be a nice and relaxing break from exploring the peninsula. Many people prefer the rainy season because the temperature is lower and all of the vegetation is beautiful and green, plus great rates. Also, the fruit there is amazing; pineapple will never taste the same at home! I had a great experience at this hotel and in the whole area. The environment urges you to be creative, to relax, and forces you to notice it's beauty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Clean, friendly, famiily kind of place.
Just wanted to say that my girlfriend and I stayed at Meli Melo's for 3 weeks. We thought we would only be there for a couple days and stayed the whole 3 weeks of our vacation. We just felt like we wouldn't be able to find anything better because it was sooo awsome!!!!! Melony and Fredrick took care of us like family, made sure we were taken care of. Both have great knowledge of the area, plants, animals and they are just gracious hosts. I can't think of a better experience. 3 min to good surf and beautiful beach. First time I have written a review, but this place deserves it. Oh and the mango's are fallen from the sky at least in April. Monkey's, Iguanas, lizards and humming birds everywhere. Thanks Melony and Frederick
mark and bethany : Portland, OR ( where the young go to retire)

Room Tip: all good only 4, call for reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Meli Melo rocks! the place is beautiful, Fred and Melanie are phenomenal accommodating everyone's needs; rooms are very comfortable and clean, there is a superb common kitchen that makes the after surfing gathering incredible, we meet fantastic people from all over the globe during those amazing night venues cooking out under the starts, everyone that could extended their time there did it. Definitively coming back.
BTW breakfast is included.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Freddy and Melanie (owners of Meli Melo) are an absolute pleasure. Coordinating an experienced and friendly driver to pick our group up from the airport, giving us surf lessons, making reservations on our behalf for whatever adventure we wanted to explore! What more could you want?

Rooms were freshen up everyday, after breakfast was served to us. Because the accommodation is a smaller venue - the personal treatment was enormous.

I would go back to Meli Melo in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Meli Melo is an awesome hotel to stay at and great value. Fred and Melanie are so nice and were always helpful with directions and suggestions. Every morning there was a great breakfast and hot coffee. We also used Freddy for surf lessons and he was amazing. He gave us a two hour lesson and boards for a really good price. Fred and Melanie make you feel like you are staying with family. Anyone staying in Sanata Teresa solo or with friends should stay here.

Matt (Toronto,Canada)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Address: 500m north of the soccer field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2mn walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, fishing and snorkeling gear, bycicles...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and confortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meli Melo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.