We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kana Mar- Tropical private villas resort

2 bedroom villa - pool area
2 bedroom villa - pool area
2 bedroom villa - pool area
1 bedroom villa - pool area
two bedroom private pool villa
lounging by the pool
pool area
Santa Teresa
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RAPLongue...
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“A pretty nice hideaway in Santa Teresa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The Kana Mar apartments are situated half-way up a steep gravel hill in Santa Teresa, some 100 yds from the beach and far enough from the main (very dusty) road to guarantee some peace and quiet and breathable air. A 4x4 is certainly a help here!There is a single bedroom unit and a two bedroom unit, separated by a tall cement wall (both units have separate entrances, but there is a connecting gate in the separating wall). Both units have a large deck and outdoor dining area and a long but narrow pool which is mainly useful for a cooling dip rather than any kind of swimming. The two-bedroom unit has a single bathroom with shower/bath, a large, well-equipped kitchen and a living room with an armchair and a sofa as well as a TV set and DVD player. The outdoor deck is the only eating area but also has two rather uncomfortable armchairs. The deck is well lit at night and has a large fan, as does the living room. Both bedrooms have A/C. One of the bedrooms has a patio door which gives out on the deck/swimming pool. The owners, who live just up the hill are quite friendly and helpful. The unit grounds are surrounded by a tall fence and gate and seem burglar proof. The only problem we had was that there was only one set of keys for my partner and I, so we were more or less obliged to leave the grounds together. We did get a second set of keys but these were the cleaning lady's and since we had left the grounds, she was unable to clean the unit until our return. It seems to me the owners should be able to afford a second set of keys. The rental rates for one week are reasonable but not cheap by any means. Finally, there is a disco bar just down the hill and on some nights you can hear the reggae music until quite late a night unless all the windows and patio doors are closed.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Distance from the beach, peace and quiet, deck area
Liked least: steep gravel hill, small pool, number of burned out light bulbs on the property
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2012
Hi Robert!

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Of course we have another set of keys!!! We always did. I don't know what happened with yours.. But the cleaning lady cleaned anyway when you got back home didn't she?

Anyway, very good to hear from you!
Until next time..
ADI
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Fluffymug...
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place- Construction Not So Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

The house is great and in good location. Unfortunately they are building a place right next door and the construction workers were there at 7:00am and walked right past the deck and pool all day long. There is a big cement wall between the properties but hard to relax when people are constantly walking by even if there is a fence. The house is clean and like all other guests said bring extra towels and blankets. Location is in walking distance to town, and close to the beach. Not many places are directly on the beach so this was a good spot. It would be great if they would have the house cleaner come every other day as living at the beach sand gets everywhere. I would have given it four stars if there was no construction.

3 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2011
Dear Mellisa,

I'm so sorry you were caught into this situation, we had no choice but finishing some things In the construction before the big rain was coming.
We tried to create as much privacy as we could though...
My apologies! And thank you anyway for the good review!
Anyway, now the construction has finished and we have Completed another beautiful rental villa of two bedrooms.
You are more then welcome to come again and we would gladly compensate you for the distress.

All the love!
ADI
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
St. Augustine
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Miami
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Meghan L
Missouri, United States
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Amenities - outdoor furnished patio and great pool
Liked least: We wished there was a radio/cd/MP3 player to play music
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Québec
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Shannon from Vancouver
BC
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011 for a stay in January 2010
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$130
/ Night
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
KRISTIN W
Speaks English, Swedish
Listed since : Dec 2010
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 14 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing