We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place, in a beautiful place. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manala Hotel to your Saves list
Manala Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place, in a beautiful place. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a beautiful vacation place, with easily the best service we've received. We'd never been to Costa Rica, let alone Santa Teresa, so kind of expected a few things to miss. Nothing did. Manala was a great decision. I emailed them 5 times before our trip, and they provided quick and excellent advice. Case in point - I delayed my decision to book a car, and after discussing that it was a good idea w Manala staff, I had trouble finding one. They found a car, and booked it for me (w Alamo). This was dec 4, for a dec 20 trip. Who does that?

The bungalows easily slept our 2 teens, my wife and I, with two single beds for the kids.

A direct shout out to Fabien - making dinner reservations, finding atv guides, surf guys, giving candid advice on tour options - he was fantastic. Even just inquiring about my wife was sick for a few days. He was awesome. Gracias amigo.

We stayed in room 7. Three steps to the pool and restaurant. No noise at all.

Note that some reviews reference the dusty road - sure the road to town is dusty, but the road in front of Manala is paved for at least 800m in both directions.

The breakfast was always pleasant, and while I forget the name of the Argentinian lady who served us, she was always happy, and super friendly. Gracias.

I'd also say - tip. Made us cringe when the euros would pay the straight amount of the bill. We're in Jaco now, and they add tip (servico) to the bill. Bugs me. We didn't see that anywhere in Santa Teresa. So - tip.

Oh - and the room service lady, when we checked out, came running up to is with my wife's wallet, which we left in a drawer.

Few suggestions: ask for a blanket. The AC is good, and you'll start with a light sheet on the beds. Turning down AC is option of course, but nice to have a bit more "cuddle" to the night.

If you're a newbie surfer - rent a car. Manala is right beside the best entrance to Santa Teresa beach, but it's for surfers who carve a bit. Newbies will want to head over to playa hermosa - about 4km? (15 min over super crappy roads) - but the most beautiful beach we've seen.

This is the best place we've vacationed. I booked based on trip advisor reviews,thus my returning the favour with a review. Hope it's helpful.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
It makes us feel so happy that you made a great decision. We are pleased to know that you had an excellent service at Manalá Hotel. We are here to help all our visitors with everything that they may need. Here we know the best places to go around, the best restaurants, and we work with the best people. In Santa Teresa everybody complains about the dusty road, but now we have a nice road in front of us, we hope they will work to fix all the road. Your suggestions make us to improve our service.
Santa Teresa has a really good beach break, with good waves every day.
Thank you very much for this excellent review, we are more than happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your days here.
See you next time amigo,
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    41
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
158
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at Manala for 12 days in February 2013 during our first trip to Costa Rica. It was a wonderful experience to be tucked away and private, yet close to everything, including the beach, which was across the road. The accommodations are very comfortable and relaxing, with an enormous shower and a private porch.
The people in the office are knowledgeable and very helpful to guests. We will be definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located. There are only 8 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are really glad that you had a wonderful experience. We work every day to give our best service to our guests. Manalá Hotel is located at only 100 meters away from the beach, where everybody enjoys the sunset.
We will be happy to see you again at Manalá Hotel, is always a pleasure to help you. Thank you very much for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a find, having completed the Coast to Coast trip we arrived in Santa Teresa for MUCH needed R&R

We booked the Manala and it truly delivered.

On advice we booked bungalow 8 which was perfect, secluded but not too much

the obligatory towel origami made us smile when we got to our room which was itself spot on.
Comfy bed, brilliant bathroom and shower (which after 11 days of trekking was super welcome!)

The brekker was brilliant and the pizza's are to die for.

The staff were a delight, nothing was too much trouble

Book here and enjoy the chilled laid back beauty of Santa Teresa

Room Tip: Bungalow 8 is the best located, however they are all the same in terms of facilities, no 8 is just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for just over a week in Manala and really loved it. So chilled out, great suggestions of where to go and what to do, and everything was so beautiful. Good pizza as well. Thanks for a really lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Nice to read that you loved it. Here we are to assist everybody with the best suggestions, where to go, what to do. We are glad when we see you chilling out at our place.
Thank you very much for the pretty review, we hope to see you again.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harkers Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from our third trip to Santa Teresa Costa Rica and our third consecutive stay at Manala. The hotel and location are actually much more beautiful and private than described, but when coupled with the great staff and management team, nothing could be better. Throw in El Pulpo the on-site restaurant and there is very little reason to leave the grounds. Laura, Fabian, and Edgar are all more than happy to answer coordinate or otherwise address any question or need. Thanks again for another great stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
First of all, thank you very much for staying with us for the third time in a row and thanks a lot for the positive feedback, we love to hear that you like the hotel and the service, we are going to try to keep improving to provide the best service, we will love to see you again here in Costa Rica and of course at Manala hotel, remember that we are here to help you in anything you need, thanks a lot again and hopefully we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica, without reservations and after checking TripAdvisor we settled on the Manala Hotel. The place is beautiful, peaceful, friendly and comfortable. We also loved the pizza at the restaurant there....we had the meatball and jalapeno pizza. Thank you to Edgar in reception for taking good care of us and recommending the Tortuga Island snorkeling tour. Breakfast was delivered to our room each morning and was very delicious. We spoke to the owner (I cannot remember her name) and she was very nice and helped us with tide information. Very pleasantly pleased with our room and the hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 6 directly across from the beautiful pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We are happy to know that you liked the place and the service, we like to help each of our guests at Manalá Hotel, giving the best recommendations, and suggestions for you to enjoy your days here. At Pulpo Pizza, we have the best pizza in town.
Thank you very much for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Manala was everything we could've hoped for! Fabian and Edgar at the front desk took excellent care of us all week long--suggesting places to eat, where to rent surfboards, helped us setup an ATV rental and book a waterfall and ziplining tour. They were super helpful and personable and really made our stay over the top perfect! We went at the end of the rainy season Oct 30-Nov 4. Some places weren't open in Oct but had opened up for the high season by the time we left. I think Nov is the perfect time to vacation there--you can miss the tourist rush by going before Dec. The hotel provided a simple breakfast of toast, butter, jellies and fresh fruit--usually bananas, pineapple, and watermelon and coffee or tea. They would deliver to your bungalow each morning at the time you setup at check in. The pizza from the restaurant by the pool was incredible, but we definitely found the bar to be lacking. Each bungalow has a minifridge, and the Super Ronny II (supermarket, beer & liquor) was within walking distance from the hotel--about an 8 min walk, so we just kept our fridge stocked with beer, rum, and mixers. Also, be certain to dine at Al Chile Viola, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel! Truly one of the best restaurants I've ever dined in! The beautiful beach was so super close to the hotel as well. The rooms were well appointed with the perfect amount of space. A huge walk-in shower with good water pressure, sink with plenty of counterspace, and toilet with door you could close for privacy. A huge thanks and pat on the back to Laura--the Manager at Hotel Manala and an even bigger thanks to Fabian and Edgar who answered all of my emails and questions and were an even bigger help once we arrived onsite! They setup a private taxi to and from the Tambor Airport for us and I'd definitely suggest doing this. This hotel was definitely top notch in this tiny little surfing town. We'd visit again for sure! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: There are 8 bungalows that go up the hillside. Bungalow #1 is closest to the front desk/reception b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
At Manalá Hotel we are more than glad to take care of each of our guests. It is a pleasure to help everybody with eveything they may need, such as recommendations, tours, taxis... As you mentioned before, October is the lower season, but it was not too rainy. We are really happy because you Sarah and Ben enjoyed your days in Santa Teresa.
Thanks a lot for the nice review, you will be welcome when you come back.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.