We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Manala Hotel to your Saves list
Manala Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Manala was simply amazing and absolutely lives up to the reviews.

Without repeating everything that has already been said, we must reiterate how great the rooms are and how efficient and friendly everyone is. Laura and her team, especially Ronaldo, are super and nothing is too much trouble. From organising surf lessons, advising on restaurants and helping show us the area, they are extremely nice.

Rooms: The Bungalows are large and extremely clean (no bugs!). The wifi is fairly reliable. The bungalows go up in number with No.1 being closest to the reception and road and 8 at the top of the path.

Location: Hardly any hotels in Santa Teresa are beach side. Once you come to terms with the fact you are always going to be 100m walk from the beach, Manala is the obvious choice! The long dusty road through Santa Teresa can be a pain to walk along but for longer journeys to restaurants and going down into Playa Carmen Ronaldo will happily call a 4x4 taxi which is worth the extra $.

Surf: Ronaldo organised a great private lesson with an Argentian called Juan who was very experienced and can take you to secluded spots in his car if you feel like escaping the "crowds" on the busier beaches. Some amazing memories!

Restaurant: Fun and pretty simple. has a great stone oven for baking pizzas and some salads if you don't fancy pizza and pasta. Pool table is a bonus and a very chilled atmosphere. At breakfast, the staff are really sweet and friendly. Unfortunately cooked breakfast is a little extra but worth it if you have a long day of surf ahead of you!

Thank you to Laura and everyone at Manala for making this the best bit of our trip, no question!

Room Tip: No. 4 is fabulous as it is far enough up the hill to be away from the road, close to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
This review is amazing!! Thanks for giving us the oportunity of feel proud if our Work, Team and Hotel!! This place is great to come for vacations! Here in town, there is a lot of ways to do activities, but our service is to give the best recommendations for guest and people that is in the area. We, also try to keep the Hotel in great conditions for the guests. And if something unexpected comes, we will do our best to help with the problem. Bungalows are really comfortable and is dificult to find something similar in town for the price we offer. Thanks for giving us this nice comments and we will be more than happy to receive you in other occasion again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
143
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for 7 days in Feb. and this was my first time in this area of CR. The grounds of the hotel were very well maintained, the rooms clean and spacious, the pool very inviting and the restaurant very convenient. I found the restaurant staff to be quite friendly and engaging. The "Manala" breakfast was simple and tasty with fresh fruit, toast (that looked like little cookies, yummy) coffee and juice....just right (they also had a full breakfast menu). This was also a great place to have dinner as well. The 2 guys at reception, Fabian and Ronald, were just great young men, both spoke english very well but had a hard time with my very limited Spanish, which created some good laughs LOL. I rented a Quad (on site) for 5 days and these guys gave me great ideas and directions of where I could go exploring on this fun machine. I highly recommend renting one...they are a blast and you get to go to and see places you wouldn't otherwise. Would I return to the Santa Teresa area and stay at the Manala Hotel....absolutely!!! The beach is very close and beautiful, as was 2 others, Playa Carmen and Playa Hermosa all great for surfing and brilliant sunsets. To the Management and the "great" staff of Manala, thank you for the wonderful hospitality, you WILL see me again...PURA VIDA!!!

Room Tip: I had the pleasure of staying in rooms 6 & 7 during my stay. Both are very close to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice comments about your stay in the Hotel. We are happy that you receive a very nice service and recommendations. Here is really good to rent ATV´s to go know the place. We are more than happy with El Pulpo here in the Hotel and that the good guest like you enjoy of their food. We will be here for your future vacation and gie you more good recommendations. Thanks also for the nice picture you took and sharing your reviews. See you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We lucked out finding Manala Hotel available during high season and it was perfect - the bungalow was big, clean, the premises well kept, the pool area was nice - (although I wish there umbrellas for shade) the sun is really strong here. The rate was totally reasonable at $140/night.

Overall, the staff made our stay very comfortanle and enjoyable - Fabian and Ronald were so nice and pleasant, they were able to assist with booking tours, massages, flight check-in, car service, etc. - big bonus El Pulpo restaurant is on the property - they have a good variety and delicious cocktails, really good pizza and chicken Milanese (yummy) - the service was good too. The location of the hotel is ideal, access to Playa Santa Terese is very easy walk across the road, and short walk to supermarkets.

I totally recommend this hotel.
Mae, from NYC

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for the revview. We are glad that you like your stay in our Hotel. We will try to find nice unmbrellas for our guest to put them next to the pool. We are happy that you like the service of the Hotel and Restaurant. I just want to clarify that our rate for this year is in $123, insted of $140, might be not to much difference, but for some people is important to know. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you can come next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Manala Hotel was an oasis. Right across from the beach access, the Manala Hotel was the perfect mix: easy beach front access for surfing, sun bathing and watching sunsets as well as a private, quiet and cool refuge from the intensity of the sun. The bungalows were really clean. "Il Pulpo" the restaurant was excellent; the included breakfast was a perfect start to the day and their pizza became a consistent way to end the day. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. We felt well looked after and could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are located close to the best beach break for surfing, where sunsets are gorgeous everyday in Santa Teresa. We are more than happy to help everybody.
It will be a pleasure to see you again in Manalá Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 days but wish we could have stayed for 4 months. What a great place. So private and quaint. The staff and owner were so friendly, the bungalows were clean, bright and large. The breakfast was a good start to the day and the restaurant was superb-pizza especially.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the good review. We are glad that you enjoyed your days at Manalá Hotel. As you mentioned, our continental breakfast is a option to start the day. Pulpo pizza has the best pizza in town.
We will be glad to see you again in our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and knew from when we got there the first time we would be back again! From when you get there you feel like you have entered your own magical world. This is a quiet location where you can relax during the day and sleep at night. The villas are the perfect size, the property is so beautiful and green. The people working on the grounds do an excellent job maintaining the grounds and keeping the pool clean. I love the huge showers! The cleaning ladies are great too, we had swans and flowers on our bed the one morning. We left our money out one day and when we got back our money was still there. This place has very honest workers and friendly, you can trust each one! Laura did an awesome job on hiring her staff!
There is a great restaurant by the pool, in fact it was so great that when we left and stayed at Hermosas we had to order their pizza delivery service. All the villas are the same so you can't go wrong. Breakfasts are great, toast and fruit with juice. You can order different breakfast items at a very small fee. The beach is just across the road (1 min walk). The beach is amazing and Manala is at just the perfect location. When you get to the beach you can either walk left and join the young surfers or you can go right and have beaches to yourself. What could be better? The beach is beautiful, make sure to watch the sunset every night. The beach goes on for miles, so you can have great walks either way.
The Manala location is perfect with great restaurants near by. We did Ginger Cafe quite a few times for lunch (they had great sandwiches with warm fresh bread at great prices), Kika is almost across the street with amazing food. We never needed a taxi to go to any of the restaurants from this location which was great.
The pool was clean at all times and oh so beautiful. We saw over 30 monkeys above the pool and surrounding villas the one day. It was amazing! This place truly feels magical!
As for the owner of Manala, Laura. She was great! We loved her! She was always around at the right time when we wanted to talk to her (and we loved talking to her). She knows how to make you feel like you are her close friends.
Since there are only 8 villas, I would reserve as early as you can. We booked over 8 months in advance. There is no other place in the area that is this nice at this price. I know I would pay more for this place (but maybe I should keep that a secret, so prices don't get raised too much). Thank you for making our second trip to Manala as great as the first! When we come back to Costa Rica, we will come back to Manala!

Room Tip: Every room is the same. Some like to be near the road so they are closer to the beach, some like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi, Thanks for letting everyone know about your second expirience in Manala. We are impress with this nice and lovely review. Me and the staff are really greatfull for your honest comments and we will love you to come visit us every year, if it´s posible. Thanks again for choosing us and see you next year! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived for our five night stay at Manala Hotel we new we would enjoy our stay. Laura and her delightful staff are ever attentive and charming, the bungalows are spotless and comfortable, the pool ideal and the pizza and Mojitos at "Il Pulpa" definitely worth exploring. With beach access directly across the main road one could not ask for more of a visit to Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Bungalows further from the dusty road are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice comment. We treat people like we would like to be treat every time we go to vacations. It´s great to know that you really enjoy your stay with us and you are more than welcome to come back! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.