We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manala, a beautifully managed and maintained oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Manala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Manala Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Sutton, Canada
1 review
“Manala, a beautifully managed and maintained oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived for our five night stay at Manala Hotel we new we would enjoy our stay. Laura and her delightful staff are ever attentive and charming, the bungalows are spotless and comfortable, the pool ideal and the pizza and Mojitos at "Il Pulpa" definitely worth exploring. With beach access directly across the main road one could not ask for more of a visit to Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Bungalows further from the dusty road are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice comment. We treat people like we would like to be treat every time we go to vacations. It´s great to know that you really enjoy your stay with us and you are more than welcome to come back! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    28
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
126
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a beautiful oasis just off the dusty main drag of Santa Teresa! A large, comfortable, and clean bungalow was our home for 4 nights. The huge shower was amazing. Beach access is directly across the road. The breakfast (included in the price) is a continental breakfast, but my husband enjoyed the banana pancakes more than once! One afternoon we returned to our room to find flowers sprinkled across our freshly made bed! I highly recommend Manala!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first bungalow. It was most convenient to the parking area. It was also closest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Is great that you like our Hotel and enjoy of the restaurant. We appreciate your comments and reviews and we will be more than happy to have you again in Santa Teresa. Thanks for motivating us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Best experience! Very good location, and nice staff.
Väldigt fint, bra läge! Bra personal och trevligt intryck
Very good, nice pool and a nice breakfast. Closse to the beach and very uch information about other acktivitic and other stuff doinjg it in st. steresa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The Rooms:
Very beautiful rooms, huge showers, higher class interior design...
The Staff:
Helpful, nice people!
The Breakfast:
In comparison to the rest, a little poor.
But the quality is okay

I can recommend this hotel, it's a really nice place at a really beautiful place.
The only problem about this area are the dusty streets.... After every car the is a huge dust-cloud... But this is problem to all hotels and hostels around there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your nice review. We have 8 mediterranean style bungalows in a lush tropical garden. We are located in the best white sand beach in Costa Rica, but with a dusty road. Manalá Hotel offers you a continental breakfast (toasts with butter and jelly, three kinds of fruits, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk). It is Manalá´s cortesy. There are many other options in our restaurant for a competitive price.
Thanks again for your comment, we hope to see you in your next trip to Santa Teresa.
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel in a great little town. As we took the dirt road from tambor at the start of our trip my wife and I were a little nervous as the road isn't paved and A LOT of dust. When we got to the hotel we felt somewhat relaxed. We spent a day and a half adjusting from the NYC lifestyle and alas we felt the magic of santa Teresa.

An improtant note- if this is your first time to santa Teresa, the road is very dusty and not paved. My wife and I are very clean and the hotel served as a haven for us. For us a major downfall is the dusty roads but with such good surf and and great beach we simply got used to the dusty roads. There are hotels on the main road with a few up the side of the mountain to get an ocean view, but Hotel Manala is by far the nicest hotel on the main strip in our price range. We looked at some of the other more expensive hotels and didnt see anything worth paying more for. The value is Definitely in Hotel Manala.

The staff at Manala are so helpful we don't even know what else they can do for us. The owner definitely shows how much she cares for the hotel. With a warm smile and greeting she makes you feel at home. Fabian and Ronald in the office definitely make great recommendations and help with any other info you might need. The cleaning in the room is so quick that the room is cleaned before were back from breakfast. The continental breakfast is included- fruit, juice, and coffee. Banana pancakes are a must. The extras at breakfast are very reasonably priced.

We rented an ATV from the hotel and it was very competitively priced to the rental shops on the strip. I would recommend renting an ATV to see more of the town and to go to the neighboring beaches.

The location of the hotel is perfect- far enough from all the commotion but close enough to walk to restaurants and super markets. The beach access is right in front of the hotel and access to great surf spots. The hotel also has a pool but with the beach so close we didn't sit there at all. This would be very good for a family.

My wife and I had a great time and would 1000% recommend this place to anybody- Single, couples, and families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Santa Teresa is a really nice beach with white sand, good waves every time of the year, a beautiful nature, and a dusty road in dry season. There are supermarkets, restaurants, hotels, and different establishments around.
We enjoy when we help our clients, it is a pleasure all the time. From the reception we can do reservations in restaurants or hotels, tour information, activities to do in the zone, call taxis. What you may need, we will find a solution. We clean the bungalows every day. The best pizza in town is in our restaurant, "Pulpo Pizza", and reasonable prices.
Renting an ATV is the best way to move in this place, we have some here, and if some one else already rented them, we will find another ATV for you. There are other good places to go while staying with us.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it will be a pleasure to assist you again in your next trip to Santa Teresa.
See you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The attention to detail by the owner (Laura) made this a remarkable trip. Everything is clean, breakfast is healthy, pool and accommodations were spotless.

She was looking out for guests in case they needed something.

Look no further, stay at this one!

Room Tip: Ask for 5 if you have kids, 8 if on a honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are here to help everyone of our guests. We feel happy to see travelers enjoying their days at Manalá Hotel. We do daily room cleaning, our rates always inluides continental breakfast.
Thanks a lot for your good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Manala back at the end of November. My sister and her boyfriend were also staying on the property. The 4 of us had such a great time. Laura, Fabien, Ronald were always super friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Fabien made dinner reservations for us and set up my sisters zipline excursion. Ronald had great suggestions for dinner on the other nights.

Manala is in a great location tucked away from the dusty roads with thick vegetation. We even saw a monkey one afternoon. We were able to walk to dinners and lunches, rent surfboards across the street and reach the beach down the same path.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was incredibly large and the closet space worked out great.

We would spend our evenings out to dinner and our late nights crowded on our patio the 4 of us just taking in our day. We were able to have breakfast either on our own patios or at the restaurant since there were 4 of us.

We would definitely stay here again if our plans led us back to Santa Teresa. We had a fabulous vacation.

Room Tip: We had room #5 with the best wifi spot since we were next to the restaurant and pool. Super convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for this comments, Me and the staff from Manala are happy to receie nice couples like yours. Yu are invited to come visit as whenever you want. thanks again for keep motivating us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.