We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great¡¡” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manala Hotel to your Saves list
Manala Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Just great¡¡”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nice place feels like home, very frendly staff, comfortable. Lovely decorated. Recomendable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    41
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
158
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent 6 nights at Hotel Manala. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was excellent. The staff was extremely helpful with booking activities in the local area. Would definitely go back to Manala again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here last November over Thanksgiving week and had such an amazing experience. What originally drew us to Manala was the privacy and charm of the bungalows, not to mention the reviews I had read that commented on how clean the bungalows were kept. I felt comfortable with our decision to stay at Manala, even though it was a risk considering they had only been open about 6 months at the time.

Our stay from the moment we arrived had already surpassed my hopes. The two men (I'm sorry I don't remember your names, I waited too long to write this!) who worked the front desk throughout our stay were beyond friendly & accommodating. They were so willing to help with whatever we inquired about and always offered great suggestions for restaurants & activities. I never experienced anything but pleasant interactions with the entire staff!

The bungalows themselves were SO clean and so nice. I'm some what of a clean freak so this was super important to me! The showers are huge and the sink area was spacious as well. The layout and decor are both charming and make for a very comfortable stay.
It was a really nice touch to have them knock on your door and leave your coffee (or tea) & breakfast on the front patio every morning, at whatever time you requested. The fruit was always fresh and came with equally simple yet delicious toast & coffee. It's extremely relaxing to eat breakfast on a beautiful front patio facing their pool with the sounds of the rainforest on the left side of you and of the beach to the right.

The beach is only a very short walk down a path straight ahead of Manala and is beautiful!
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the fact that Santa Teresa is not as full of tourists as other nearby towns were. We went to Montezuma for ziplining and found it to be taken over by tourists (with mediocre beaches). Santa Teresa has a certain charm to it because it sort of lacks that commercialization.

As far as restaurants go, everything we tried we loved! Our favorite by far was Chicken Joes, we went back several times & their ceviche is the best I've ever had! The owners were so so friendly. There was an adorable little cafe that I forget the name of, but they had delicious crepes. There was also an argentinian place right next to one of the little bridges that was delicious as well.

All in all our stay there was so enjoyable, we definitely felt like we got really lucky with our choice to stay at Manala and could not wait to go back as soon as we left. We're actually going back again this November!!
I would say do yourself a favor and stay here, it should be rated #1!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We arrived at this area with some friends who had rented a private house. We figured we'd just find a place to stay once we found out where their beach house was. We went to 4 "sub-par" hotels because we came across Manala'. We were so excited to find this place and couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay here. The staff is friendly, the bungalows, pool and pathways are all beautiful and nice & quiet. There is a lot of traffic on the main road and situated up on this hill I never heard much of anything. The pool is surrounded by banana trees and you can hear the crashing waves and also the howler monkeys. We met the owner who is originally from Spain but has lived in CR for 15 years. She has done an amazing job with this place and if we come down this way again we would definitely stay here again!
Details about the rooms: Spacious, a/c, large bathroom, very private, small deck out front with patio chairs and small table, safe big enough to store everything (even your laptop), continental breakfast was perfect. Definitely check this place out if you're in the area...there are only a handful of rooms so if you can, make a reservation...I think word of this place is going to spread! They've only been open just under a year and I am sure they'll continue to get more & more popular. :-)

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6, 7 are up by the pool, away from the main road (we stayed in #6)-for the most private one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

a short walk to the surf. Nice people, clean, spacious villa style rooms were comfortable, it was nice to have a fridge, great continental breakfast served on your patio. I would go back, and with the green season price of $85 which includes breakfast and taxes this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 4 nights. It's very clean, has nice bungalows and is def. value for money. The best thing is the service here! They even went out in the rain to get us a pizza when we were hungry, without extra charge! Highly recommended; only the WiFi coverage should be improved!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were so glad to come across the Manala Hotel during our visit to Santa Teresa. We stayed for 3 nights and wish we'd been able to stay longer. The rooms are large, clean, and very comfortable, and each has a nice private porch to enjoy the beautiful weather. Each morning a delicious light breakfast was delivered to us by the delightful staff. The gardens and pool area are beautiful as well. Everyone there was so friendly and helpful - we really felt welcomed. The location is great, as there is a nice surf break right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.