We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranchos Itauna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ranchos Itauna to your Saves list
Ranchos Itauna
100 Meters North Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Tilaran, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect beach holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Ranchos Ituana is a lovely place to stay right by the beach. This place has great vibes, it is comfortable, clean, friendly and the location couldn't be more perfect. You can have a swim in the ocean, do yoga at their lovely yoga deck, enjoy the sun, walk to restaurants, cafes and super market, enjoy the fabulous sunsets - all very convenient and easy. I stayed for a week and i got exactly what i desired - a perfect beach holiday. Thanks to Peter, his wife and the staff!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am currently staying here in Ranchos Itauna, and it was our best choice so far in Santa Teresa. For the same price that we spent at other places in Santa Teresa, this was the best yet. Location is perfect for everything, and the room is great! The best shower I've had so far in Costa Rica. They have hot water and good water pressure. Other places will fool you. The room is clean and bug free with a good a/c. Peter even flipped for good toilet paper. You know, that double ply! That is a huge bonus in Costa Rica, trust me. I have not surfed yet, but they have boards available for rent. The garden area to the beach is gorgeous, and has many places to sit and hang out. I would recommend this place.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A friend and me booked a week at Ranchos Itauna to learn surfing. We found perfect conditions: The surfcamp is right at the beach, excellent food & accomodation and Peters passion about surfing will likely catch on. We did not just learn how to surf practically but also about the background of surfing (history, boards, theory). We just had the best time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We checked out the website carefully before we booked.it looked the kind of place we wanted.laid back , on the beach and close to good waves.it turned out to be an excellent choice.Peter the owner was a great host., helpful and very knowledgable, any problems were sorted easily.every person who we came in contact with was really friendly and polite, made us feel at home and let us really feel relaxed. The food in the restaurant was always
Delicious but the service is not rushed or too formal.the atmosphere is really chilled with great music and lots of cool friendly peple around
the gardens were full of wildlife, we saw a beautiful anteater one day by the bar. The accommodation is not chain hotel type, but clean, comfortable, spacious and adequately equipped and the water was always hot.
overall, we got excellent value for money, and a big thankyou to peter and his staff for a very pleasurable stay.







0





Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Myself and twoof my mates stayed at Itauna for fourteen, beautiful and relaxing days. Peter and his staff were always available, friendly and helpful. I have been to Santa Teresa several times and have stayed at varying levels of accomodation. I can assure all that Ranchos Itauna ranks right at the top. I would return without hesitation and hope to do exactly that next year.

Cheers!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Thank you to Pedro, Fatima, their friends, and all the staff at Ranchos Itauna for the great friendly service!!! My husband and I were only there for two days but we had an incredible time in Santa Teresa, the weather was perfect! I loved the atmosphere at Ranchos Itauna, a peaceful experience. We had such a fun and relaxing time at their sunset sessions with awesome music and food. I also need to thank Raquel for the amazing massage by at sunset by the beach (; I highly recommend this place. May God keep Blessing all the amazing people we met here!!
love-
MARS

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Me and my wife stayed there in january for a couple of days. The owner asked us to write a review on this platform. I just don´t know why?
First of all, it´s a surf camp, not a hotel as written on their homepage. The 4 rooms they offer, are a kind of dorm rooms for 4 people and they are much too close to the unpaved and very dusty road (apx. 40 to 50 ft). Because of this it´s very noisy and extremely, unhealthy dusty all day and night long. The backyard of their rooms looks terrible.
Although it´s called a Beachfront Hotel, you can´t see or hear the ocean from the rooms. What you see is just the dusty road and the ugly backyard.
Next thing is, there is no privacy at all. Lying in your bed you have to look directly to one of the beds of your immediate neighbor room if doors are opened. We didn´t like this situation. The walkway to the beach, the bar and restaurant is passing by right in front of the rooms. From there you can look or even grab right through the window into the room. People are passing by all day and night long. It was terrible!
The mattresses seemed not to be changed since years. They smelled sourly. Disgustingl
One night there was a party at the beach bar and hundreds of people passed by till 6 am! Very loud techno music. Impossible to sleep. They broke in in one of the neighbor rooms and several things got stolen. Realy scary!
Our points of view regarding the "hotel" are for sure completely different to the austrian owner´s one. They are different in every sense we found out during our stay. From a certain time on also because of this everything got a kind of strange vibe for us. Worse luck.
But the beachfront garden is nice. Two surf spots are roughly 15 min walk away.
You can't swim at their beachfront. It´s too rocky and there are very strong currents. It´s fine at low tide.
All in all … not for everybody … nothing for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchositauna, Owner at Ranchos Itauna, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
first off all that review feels like someone wants to damage our image. we never had a client with this name last year. then why doing a review one year later ???? also we had no break in last year in january !!! that's an absolout LIE !!!!! our rooms are also no dormstyle rooms. dust problem had everyone in st.teresa cause of that road but meanwhile they paved and there is no dust anymore !!!! with the backyard you probably mean my neighbores property where i have absolut NO influence to change anything. usually peopel look into the tropical green front yard !!! and not back into the neighbores yard !!! also you can hear the ocean from the property and you can see the ocean cause we are right infront.!!!! how you can't see it ???? and the swimming is the best in whole st.teresa on low tide infront of our place !!!
if you check my other reviews no one complains about that what this person invents. sorry but it seems more that you have been in someone elses property !!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranchos Itauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchos Itauna

Address: 100 Meters North Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run business on one of the most beautiful beachfront properties in St,Teresa. The property is inbetween the 2 main surfing beaches situated on a 5000sqmtr big property. The property has lush tropical vegetation and infront of the property we have the best natural pool in whole St.Teresa. Just walk out to the beach and jump into the Pacific Ocean. we also offer 4 comfortable , clean and secure rooms. 2 are equiped with kitchens. all rooms have wifi. We have a restaurant which serves breakfast all year round . From nov. to april we also offer restaurant service from 3 pm , specially for sunsets on on our ocean front.there is also free parking, a chill rancho with sofas and dvd player and a beautiful yoga and massage rancho out on the front.we offer all kind of excursions, massage, yoga classes and we offer NSSSIA certified surf instructors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ranchos Itauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranchos Itauna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranchos Itauna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.