We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranchos Itauna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ranchos Itauna to your Saves list
Ranchos Itauna
100 Meters North Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Beachfront for 60 us
Ranked #23 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I really appreciated that we were right on the beach. Any time you want, you can wander a few steps from your villa to the sand and water - no need to walk down the road trying to find a public pathway that will give you access to the beach. And, as alluded to in other reviews, Peter and the crew at Rancho create a fantastic sunset vibe.... down near the beach they have a tiki bar, a DJ spinning relaxed house beats, mats and pillows and good eats to order at your pleasing. Again, so nice to have this after a day of surfing or exploring.... just come home and not have to go out searching for a place to chill at sunset.

In regards to the surf, again, perfect location.... head right and you have the santa teresa breaks and head left and you have the playa carmen breaks... out front is one of the few places along the beach that has a nice tidal pool so that you can swim without getting hit by breaking waves.

The surf instructor Foley was awesome, he knows the beaches well and puts effort into choosing the right location and time of day so that the waves best match your level of ability. He's very encouraging, always got a big smile, and clearly an experienced instructor.

All round it was a great place to chill out, swing in a hammock... play with the resident pooches.... Luna and Ghandi... ( the dogs ) eat some good food and catch some waves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent some time at Ranchos Itauna. I stayed in two different rooms while there, both where comfortable, nice beds, hot water, AC, etc... I mostly enjoyed the beach, the hotel is set up just off the sand, so about 100 ft walk from your room and your in a beach combers paradise.
The Hammocks around the property deserve your full attention while there. Also if your a fan of house music or techno beats you need not go anywhere else, they have DJ's playing tunes almost every night, and if your lucky to be around there during the full moon party you will be among one of the largest party crowds in Santa Teresa.

They have a nice little beach bar and restaurant where you can enjoy sunsets and stay into the evening. This place is more about the sunsets, which they call Sunset Sessions, they play downtempo music and serve strong cheap drinks for happy hour, which so happens to coincide with the dropping of the sun.

Be sure to request Foley for any surf lessons you may need, he's not hard to miss seeing as he's the towering 7ft man with the big smile and ALWAYS carrying a balsa surf board on his head :)

For fishing or Fresh FISH look no farther than their local fisherman guru Glen! He can provide everything you need to catch a big one or you can grill up one of Glens catches yourself.

The owners are very accommodating, they speak about 4-5 languages between them, and they are always happy to provide information on where to go eat and play while in town. You get a different feel while staying here, almost like your staying with-in a small community rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you can, the balcony is a nice hang out spot. BTW these rooms can comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Heads up travelers: don't waste your time here! While this hotel seved it's purpose, we will never return, or recommend this place. There are MUCH better options very close by. We arrived exhausted from traveling for our two day reservation. Against our better judgement we were persuaded to extend our reservation with the promise of a reduced rate for staying three nights or more. We paid in cash and trusted Foley, who claimed he did not have the correct change for us at that time, but would settle up at the end of our stay. Despite the smiles, don't take this man's word! He took all of our cash and had already "paid the bills" with it by the time we checked out. No change, and we ended up paying for almost a whole extra night! Better spent elsewhere. The room was advertised with a secure safe and wifi. The safe was broken, and advertised wifi was only a one bar, available from a certain spot far away from the room. The water pressure was pitiful, and there was no shampoo. The bed was hard. The room was clean enough, but nothing like the other places in town. The beach is beautiful, but you cannot swim here except at low tide because it is very rocky. The worst part was walking out feeling swindled!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchositauna, Propietario at Ranchos Itauna, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
After talking to Foley there is defenitley a second side of the accusation. First the clients said they wanted to stay 5 nights and Foley gave them a better deal.Then the clients decided to leave after 2 nights but insisted on the rate for 5 nights ! This doesn't work like that. Then the lady wanted a better excange rate then the bank is giving,which doesn't exist in an hotel either. The safe worked but the client never asked for the instuctions and loked her stuff inside ! We never offer shampoo.We offer smal soaps for hotels. As you are in Costa Rica , please don't forget that you are in a 3rd world country and sometimes the internet doesn't have the full 5 bars, specially if it rains.......or the shower might no have the same pressure as at your home........Also we are not a 5 star hotel !!!!!!!!
Foley said he NEVER took a change from you and didn't give it back and said that he paied bills with it. i dodn't think that your change was so big that he could have payed electricity bills with it.
we DON'T work with a policy like that. If some inconveniences happend we are sorry for that and we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two-hour beginners surf lesson with Foley, an experienced surfer and longtime Santa Teresa resident. Originally from Holland, Foley fell in love with this surfing spot over ten years ago and surfing and teaching others to surf are clearly his passion! He was so friendly and encouraging - as a slightly skittish person, I was so grateful for his willingness to meet me at my level and only push me as far as I wanted to go in terms of the learning. I left wanting to do more surfing in the future and walked away with the basics!

Room Tip: I didn't spend the night here - just did a surfing lesson, but it looks like a spectacular place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the first time I have ever given 5 stars! This place was perfect. Ok, the room was definately not 5 star, it was a basic room, with a/c, a fridge, a small kitchenette (which had everything you would need), a double bed, a bunkbed, a bathroom with shower and some shelves and a place to hang some clothes. But, Ranchos Itauna is perfectly situated and is perfect for a small surf family of 4 or 5. The open air yoga studio, the beachfront bar, the hammocks and the hospitality of the owner Peter and the staff made our stay. We surfed everyday. The surf breaks were just a few minutes walk along the beach in each direction. Right outfront on low tide was a lovely safe rockpool which is just fantastic for the kids. Our children had a blast everyday in the water and doing yoga in the studio, surfing and playing in the children's playhouse. We did not want to leave and are already looking forward to going back someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Smack dab in the middle of playa carmen and playa Santa Teresa. Wake up in the morning stumble to the rancho and get a coffee on your 20 second walk to beach. Look left to playa carmen then right to santa teresa and feast your eyes on some of the best beach breaks in Costa Rica. After a good day surfing whats better than a cold beer and good food Ranchos Itauna is also an excellent spot to watch sunset and grab a cold beer and a bite of food from around the world, relax to music being played from a long list of international djs. They call it the "sunset sessions" I call it heaven on earth. The owners Peter from Austria and his wife Fatima from brazil and daughter little Ananda make this place FUN and family friendly.

Room Tip: rooms with kitchen and with out, your choice. very close to super market as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived in Santa Teresa with no idea where to stay. After looking at most other accommodations this place had everything you need.
4 places with or without a kitchen are available. The beach is a small walk down from our room, and it is a perfect bay to swim and hang out. To the left and right is a few miles of beach that is great to walk and do some surfing.
We went surfing with Peter who is a real pro and had us up and surfing waves in an hour or so. He was able to organize all our travel to other destinations.
Overall a great place!

Thanks for the good times Peter!

Derek and Lyndsay, Vernon Canada

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranchos Itauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchos Itauna

Address: 100 Meters North Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run business on one of the most beautiful beachfront properties in St,Teresa. The property is inbetween the 2 main surfing beaches situated on a 5000sqmtr big property. The property has lush tropical vegetation and infront of the property we have the best natural pool in whole St.Teresa. Just walk out to the beach and jump into the Pacific Ocean. we also offer 4 comfortable , clean and secure rooms. 2 are equiped with kitchens. all rooms have wifi. We have a restaurant which serves breakfast all year round . From nov. to april we also offer restaurant service from 3 pm , specially for sunsets on on our ocean front.there is also free parking, a chill rancho with sofas and dvd player and a beautiful yoga and massage rancho out on the front.we offer all kind of excursions, massage, yoga classes and we offer NSSSIA certified surf instructors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ranchos Itauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranchos Itauna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranchos Itauna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.