We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to center yourself and fall in love with your partner all over again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Save Saved
You added Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to center yourself and fall in love with your partner all over again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We began our Costa Rica excursion at this hotel in Santa Teresa. When we entered the hotel room we were both speechless. The entire room is open air with sliding glass doors facing the beach. The master bathroom was all open air as well with a romantic outdoor shower. The beach is three steps outside your villa with great waves and amazing sea shells waiting to be collected.

We ate every meal at the hotel restaurant and the food was amazing! Fresh, healthy and filling with amazing service. Spending the day swimming in the pool, re-centering ourselves with amazing yoga taught by Nancy (co-owner of the hotel), watching the sunset from our balcony and having a romantic dinner at the restaurant allowed us to find simplistic romance... It was like falling in love all over again. You will not find anything like this outside of Pranamar. We spent four nights at this hotel and wished we had stayed longer! Thank you Susan and staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
What a wonderful thing love is....! It fills our hearts with joy to know that you guys rekindled your love in our little piece of paradise.
We are still up and going with yoga, now we have added more classes in the afternoon, including pilates, and afro-cuban dance lessons...! So, for next time we be sure you can enjoy more yoga and more classes.
Wish to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    14
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
80
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

What an incredible stylish feel good luxury hideaway . Amazing food , great casual service and spectacular rooms . I can't wait to visit again .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We love this spot and will go again and again. It's the spot where from Day 1, the staff and owners know each guest and treat you like you are family. In my opinion - it's the only place to stay in the Santa Teresa area and is worth it for those who are maybe considering travel to this area. We traveled with a large group during the opening days, and despite some of the last-minute construction, thoroughly enjoyed every minute - in fact it made it more special to be there from the very beginning.

We can't wait to go back to stay in the picture-perfect villas, swim in the pool right off our deck, eat some of Davin's (the chef) great food, get ready to face each day with Nancy and her incredible yoga sessions, get another massage by Stephano, and take on some of Santa Teresa's world famous surf!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The staff helped us with day excursions to see the local flora and fauna. They made great recommendations for shopping and were accomodating for our dietary preferences at the restarant. We can't wait to go back this winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I had the most wonderful stay at Pranamar Villas. My husband and I traveled from the United States to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We spent days traveling the country and finished our journey on the beach in Santa Theresa. I was so impressed by the beauty of our hotel and especially by its soothing and peaceful environment. Our villa had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a living room. I loved that I could seal off our room to run the A/C or open all the windows and doors for fresh air. The downstairs bathroom was both inside and outside and it was landscaped with live plants. I felt like I was in the rain forest, a luxurious rain forest. I would recommend the Pranamar Villas to anyone who wants to take a moment to unwind, to enjoy the most beautiful beach, to get centered, or to discover a part of Costa Rica that has not yet been ruined by explosive tourism. I can not wait to visit again!!!

Thank you Pranamar Villas for a great time. I loved everything from the yoga classes in the beach front studio to the live music and tapas!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The weekend we spent in Pranamar was an amazing experience. The environment, the facilities and the magic beach front made our staying there just incredible. Sometimes you feel as you are in Indonesia or some other place in Asia. Highly recomended to couples and honeymooners!!! We felt like real honeymooners!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
You are right, our owners were inspired from Bali when they designed it..! A river flowing between the villas (this is our pool) and our guests being able to open the door and say hi to their neighbour... Buddhas around the pool and gardens.. soothing sounds of the ocean, birds and chanting from our yoga shala.. all this in Costa Rica, never forgetting this is where we are, where we live, home of our paradise..this was their dream and now, our reality! Thank you for being a part of it!

Warm regards,

The Pranamar Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Visited this beautiful, family owned, Balinese styled resort for a yoga retreat for 8 days. I never wanted to leave. Staff was excellent and did everything (and more) to make my stay pleasant and comfortable.
My gorgeous villa sat next to the pool, faced the ocean and was very close to the exquisite open air yoga shala where we were offered two yoga classes a day during the retreat (Usually there is just one yoga class a day taught by their professional Anusara Inspired teacher Nancy, who also offers private sessions.)
The restaurant, where I ate every meal, was stunning and the food always fresh and delicious. Their Chef, Davin, does a marvelous job. The waitstaff was accommodating, attentive and friendly. You'll meet the owners and know the staff by name. The front desk staff is also wonderful and efficient, facilitating the rental of surfboards, boogie boards, ATV's, etc., and arranging tours of the nearby area. I went on a fabulous horseback tour of a 10,000 acre ranch. :)
The only negatives were that the WiFi was spotty at times, and some of the landscaping was not mature yet, which should be expected since they just opened. All in all a wonderful trip, and I can't wait to go back! Oh, and I almost forgot...be sure to get a massage from Stephano. Awesome!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.