We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Save Saved
You added Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Amazing resort in a small surfing town in Costa Rica. The weather is amazing and if you like to surf it's a gem. Pranamar is tucked away just outside of town and its a perfect place to get away. The rooms are beautiful- I picked a poolside villa and its the perfect location. The food is fresh, local and healthy and the portions are big. It's right in the beach which mainly used by this resort. Town is about a 5 min drive so pick up things you need before you come or rent a bike or ATV.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear "a Piece of Heaven Guest"

Your review was just what I needed today. Wow! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your happiness with Pranamar. Most of the time, I feel like we are doing a wonderful job. I know our hearts are in the right place but it always feels so good to hear confirmation that Pranamar is a loving place,from a guest!!

Have a wonderful day. I don't think you can really imagine how much your review meant to me!
Warmly,
Susan Money, owner Pranamar Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    15
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
24
85
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
david
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

So far, pranamar has exceeded expectations. A beautiful location and friendly staff. However, our villa, number 6, feels like it's inside the kitchen. Cooking smells and bashing dishes. And this is on a night where only 3 tables were served for dinner! By all mean come to pranamar but avoid #6!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear folks
Wow, sorry to hear about this. In 4 years we have never had this problem before at least no one has ever discussed it. But I sencerely apologize.
Obviously, with only 3 tables, the noise was a kitchen staff having too much fun! I admit that people often tell me they love the cooking smells as they pass by the restaurant but apparently that didn't work for you either.. I don't think we can change that but hopefully most people enjoy the various and fun foods we prepare!
I'm delighted we still surpassed your expectations, thats wonderful to hear inspite of the few hiccups you discussed. But you can be sure my kitchen staff will be "properly scolded" and this wont happen again! Thanks for your honesty.
In the end, it sounds like you had a great time. As you know, our restaurant closes early, we are not a late restaurant as our guests are pooped by the end of the day, so noise is rarely a problem.
Hope to see you again and we will be sure to silence our crew!
Warmly,
Susan Money, Owner of Pranamar Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here for a week for a yoga retreat and it was an amazing experience that I won't forget! I honestly have no complaints. The staff were incredibly accommodating and provided excellent care. I felt extremely safe here and was happy that there was plenty of clean drinking water available. The food was fresh and delicious with plenty of options for people with food allergies.

There is easy access to any activities like yoga, surfing, stand up paddleboard, ziplining, ATV, shopping, etc.

Gorgeous beach and plenty of chairs and hammocks to relax in!

Body workers were wonderful as well... Getting a massage near the ocean was rejuvenating and healing. A must!

Wifi service was a definite perk!

I hope to be back... thanks Pranamar! I won't forget you. Namaste.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Happy Happy Guest,
Thnk you for this wonderful review and for acknowledging so many of the services we offer here at Pranamar. It sounds like you were not disappointed by any aspect and your enthusiasm is contagious!!

We would be delighted to have you back.and please, if you book, let us know that you are a return guest....as its always fun for us to try to make each visit better and better and better!
Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a vibrant review!
Namaste
Susan Money, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I lead a yoga vacation here in January, 2014. It was amazing! Yes, it's a little remote and hard to get to - but getting there is definitely part of the fun! They set everything up for us, and it all went like clock work! From the transfers at San Jose airport to our San Jose hotel, then to the airport again the following day to our charter planes across to the peninsula and then transport to Pranamar. It was fun and beautiful. When we arrived we were given a tour of the grounds and it is just amazing!! gorgeous pool and villas, incredible beach, yoga shala that is magical, and a wonderful restaurant!

The staff was helpful and friendly to everyone. They have a HUGE menu of spa services and we definitely tried them all! Everyone raved about the spa and tried more than one service.

The staff happily sets up all kinds of activities for everyone, from zip lining, horseback riding, SUP or surfing. There's plenty to do. But you could also just relax in a lounge chair on the beach or swing in a hammock. We all gathered every evening to watch the sunset. One night the staff even set up a bonfire on the beach for us!

Oh and the food! Delicious and healthy. We loved the salads at lunch and the yummy smoothies. Really fresh fish every day, So Good! But everything was great - service, quality, etc. We loved it.

It's a beautiful place with beautiful people. Many of my clients said it was the best vacation they'd ever had! We'll definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: If you choose a beachside villa or bungalow you'll have the added benefit of hearing the ocean 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Happy Guest!
Wow! I was just heading to the beach to catch the sunset and read your review. I was already feeling wonderful, but then, after finishing your letter, I felt incredible!

What can I say? Thank you sounds insignificant. I'm truly at a loss for words. What pleases me most, is that your group seemed to all enjoy their stay. Nothing makes a hotel owner happier, than happy guests.
We sure look forward to sharing your beautiful energy here at Pranamar. Thank you for celebrating life with us.
Susan Money, Owner Pranamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pranamar as a part of the Vajra Sol Yoga/SUP Retreat for one week. From the minute we landed in Tambor to the day we left, everyone on the property made sure that we had everything that we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The restaurant staff, the front desk, the taxi drivers, the surf and yoga instructors all were top notch and accommodating. We had a bungalow that was more than enough space for 2 people. The front porch included lounge chairs, and a hammock for days that we wanted to spend time away from the beautiful pool and beach. Can't say enough about how quickly the staff responded and fixed any issue big or small. Highly recommend this resort for anyone looking for top notch service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello My dear guests,
I was in Nicaragua visiting my son and his family while you were at Pranamar. And of course, when I'm away, I'm always hoping that things run smoothly and that our guests our happy. Its silly of me to worry, because I have the BESTbest staff in the world (hence, we call ourselves a family) and I know that no matter what, they take care of folks.
But, nothing warms my heart more than to hear first hand from our guests that their experience at Pranamar exceeded their expectations!
Thank you so much for this loving and detailed report! Thank you for noticing how much we do care and for taking the time to write about us!
Come back again, our arms are open!
Susan Money, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Owners Susan adds to the spirit & Greg has done a breathtaking job landscaping. villa 1 right on beach is very special. staff are lovely and smiley. Long live the permosmile that is emblazoned on everyone's face here. yoga is first class (according to my better half who has been doing yoga -rather than twerking- for 25 years.) the pasta zucchini was delicious. One philistine didn't like it but then he most likely thinks zucchini is a composer and was probably missing his tomato ketchup.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Heavenly Guest,
This is Susan writing you. I loved your review, loved all your comments but particularly your friends description of zucchini as a food source!! haha
Thank you for taking the time to write..and thanks for sharing your experience at Pranamar. I honestly think that we do have some of the happiest people on the planet working at Pranamar. But remember, when the guests are smiling, it is so much easier to smile back, speaking of which, I hope we find you in our "home" again soon!
Love,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We came as a small family - two dads and our 15 month year old baby, and immediately upon arrival we felt as though we were part of a special family. Susan, Greg and the staff took real care of us. Pranamar is intimate and beautifully designed - Susan with her joy and eye for detail, and Greg, the man with passion for flowers and the Pranamar garden. Nancy is a gifted yoga teacher who generously shares her experiences with all. This place is a jewel by the ocean....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Happy Happy Guest.
Greg, Nancy and I all thank you for your kind words and for your contagious enthusiasm! I'm thrilled you had such a good time...and nothing brightens up my day like a loving Pranamar review!
Stay in our lives, we love to see people return and speaking on behalf of allof us at Pranamar. One big kiss for you!
Love,
Susan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.