We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great surfing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Save Saved
You added Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Altadena
1 review
“Great place to stay, great surfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed at Pranamar for a week in April - the property has a lovely pool that winds through the villas. It was a great place to relax with friends after surfing. It can be a little noisy for the villas on the pool (villas 4 and 6) during the day, but not at all a problem at night. The food was excellent and varied throughout our stay; I especially loved all the different smoothies! The resort is located easy walking distance from Playa Hermosa, which, during the week we were there, had gentle reliable waves. It was a great place to learn to surf. The resort partners with Del Mar Surf for lessons and board rentals, and they were really really great teachers and inspiring surfers. They each had great stories about learning to surf and their best and worst experiences on the water; don't miss the chance to get to know them better. I also enjoyed the yoga classes at the yoga shala. They were challenging and playful and I really had a great time practicing with Nancy. I am, of course, planning my return with family in tow!

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden/ocean are quieter than those on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, co-owner/yoga teacher at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Sacha,
Thanks so much for posting a review for us at Pranamar. We love our work and we do our best to make everyone feel at home and have a wonderful experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and it would be so great to have you return with your family as well! If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even better, just ask. Maybe a yoga class for the whole family?Or a family surf lesson! Hope to see you back soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    14
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
80
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

just wanted to share that Nancy's yoga classes are phenomenal - no matter which level you are - you will find deeper connection, serenity, elevation and certainly some kind of awakening in your practice here!
not only is it one of the most beautiful settings I have ever practiced yoga in (and trust me, I have been practicing yoga in a lot of amazing places all over the world!) but the way Nancy manages to create such a loving atmosphere that makes everyone feel welcome just blew me away.
My friend and I who came to the classes almost every morning during our stay there in January are both yoga teachers as well - and there was something distinct, a new philosophical aspect, a personal insight, a fresh approach to get into an asana to learn day after day. In fact, we took a bunch of our inspiration from these classes back home to our communities and students - and that is what I feel yoga is all about -to allow yourself to be inspired by others and share the love for the practice with each other.

The advanced sessions can be quite sweaty and take you into some poses you never thought you could do - so if you are just starting with yoga I recommend the all levels morning sessions in which Nancy makes sure that everyone receives proper assistance and instruction. Or another nice treat, especially for beginners, are the slow flow classes taught by Andy in the afternoons here, in which you'll ease into your practice by aligning breath and movement.

so even if you can't afford to stay at the hotel itself or book a full retreat here, you will surely have an experience that feels very close to a full yoga retreat experience if you only come for the morning sessions here! and you can always top it off with a yummie smoothie such as an almond glaze, hang out with your friends, and maybe even stay for lunch. and then it'll be almost time for sunset surf... ;) enjoy!!

oh, and also don't forget to look at the white board or ask Nancy about any kind of extracurricular events such as afternoon ayurveda classes, full moon chanting sessions, dance lessons...something fun is always happening here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Well your beautiful letter made my day even more beautiful! I must admit , that even thought I am the owner of Pranamar and the Mother of the yoga teacher, Nancy Goodfellow, I attend 90% of her classes and she is an inspiration to ME! I leave class feeling recharged, loved and full of energy and then I think "is this just me?" But thanks to folks like you, I am starting to realize that Nancy affects everyone in this way. Yoga is her calling; she has always been a kind hearted person who seems to see the best in everyone....and as a MOM, it is so rewarding to see your child find their "place in time". As the owner of Pranamar, well, its simply an added bonus
But THANK YOU, THANK YOU for taking the time to write and share your thoughts and feelings.
YOur space is being "held" for you, if only in our hearts!
namaste, Susan Money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Pranamar is paradise. It's a luxury destination that hands down beats out the finest of the hotels (JW Marriot & Four Seasons) weve stayed at in CR with eco-minded charm & hospitality that's poured out at every level. We've traveled around the entire western half of CR & stumbled upon Pranamar by complete luck. They only had one villa open for one night & we'd of paid 3x what it cost to stay there for our entire trip! If you're into luxury, yoga, great surf outside your villa & gourmet food, this is your destination. Stop searching & book this place while it's still available!! This is the Costa Rica experience you've dreamed about...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, co-owner/yoga director at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thanks Melissa for your great review and inspiring and gracious comments. We are all working so hard (and having lots of fun doing it) to create the best experience for our guests. When we receive reviews like your's it makes us all feel so grateful and appreciated. We hope that you will join us in paradise again very soon! A warm and heartfelt 'gracias' from Pranamar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed in a bungalow at Pranamar during a yoga/surf retreat and loved everything about the hotel. The service, the food, the massage, the facilities were all fantastic! I would love the opportunity to go back some day.

Room Tip: If you like meeting other guests and visiting with them, I recommend a villa near the pool. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest
THANK YOU for taking the time to write this lovely note about us. I dont think people can possibly realize how much it means to an owner to receive good news! Honestly, this is my third hotel i have built in Costa rica (sold the other 2) and I am still like a little kid that really wants to please everyone. We make mistakes, thats for sure. But most people are loving and forgiving when they "get' that you really care. WE really care......so thank you with all my heart!
Susan Money, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have been going to this area for 7 years. This is the first time we have stayed at Pranamar. It was the first time that I wanted to stay longer. The food was great, service above and beyond the call and the location fantastic. A great balance of gracious accomodation and value. We are planning on a month stay at Pranamar next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello guests
Warms my heart to read "a real Jewel" but i must say, it is happy, loving, open hearted people like you who are the real JEWELS.
Thank you from all of us at Pranamar!
Warmly
susan Money, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Greg and Susan have done an amazing job creating such a warm and welcoming atmosphere for guests lucky enough to experience the Pranamar Villas and Yoga retreat. Our room was decorated in such a way that made us feel like royalty. The landscaping is gorgeous! The pool is relaxing and lovely. The food is delightful. It is paradise. If you want to live well and experience Costa Rica the right way then stay at the Pranamar. You won't regret it. Thank you Greg and Susan!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
WOW, Im delighted you enjoyed yourself so much. And you put a big smile on GREGS face because he takes such pride in the gardens. With no public water, it is a true feat to keep our gardens green in the dry season.. But thank you for noticing, thank you for sharing....come back and visit us please...
Susan and greg , owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

A haven in Santa Teresa. Clearly one of the most luxiorious places in this chill surfing village of a town. Pranamar has a yogi mentality that while serious is not too precious or inaccessible to the lay yoga practioner like myself who practices from time to time.
The villas are very large and comfortable and done from real beautiful hardwood.
We are a family of 4 with two kids ages 6 and 11. The place is accepting of kids yet not particularly kid friendly place. We had almost no other kids when we were there for a week. Also the yoga studio is just off the pool and we kept feeling we need to quiet our kids so they don't disturb the yoga activites.
The staff were very helpul in a right balance way--not too much not too little service.
The resturant had delicious healthy food yet the menu tended not to change on most days and we got a little bored and went eating elsehwere after a while.
The owner has a "secret" map he made which made our drive back to Liberia airport a 3 hour drive instead of 5 through Puntarenas. It requires driving on the beach and through some rivers during low tide.
The only "semi-serious" shortcoming is that the beach in front is rocky and you need to walk 5-10 minutes to get to Playa Hermosa which is a sandy beach. Carrying a surfboard or kids a added 15 minutes walking in th sun can feel like a lot--we usually drove.

Room Tip: We were a family and so we got the big villas which had privacy. Many of the rooms around the pool h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello family of Four
Great to hear your responses! I must tell you that we love kids (had you seen my grandchildren there almost every day?") But....its funny...sometimes we have a LOT of kids at one time, other times very few. So i would have to say, you just never know. As for worrying about the yogis in the shala when you are in the pool with kids.....I sure appreciate your respect of them, but really, part of our growth as yogis is to "still the mind regardless of what is happening externally" So its all good....we need kids to remind us of this!
Yes, that secret map is a wonderful journey. I love to take that route...so beautiful!
Again, thanks for all the kind words and the sharing
Come back..
susan money, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.