We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas
Save Saved
You added Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas to your Saves list
150 Meters North of Super la Hacienda in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Langley City, Canada
1 review
“Speechless...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'm challenged to find the exact words to describe our experience at Surf Vista Villas. Not long enough (all cliches aside)...would certainly be an essential start. Allow yourself at least a week to fully appreciate what this little gem has to offer. Andy couldn't have been more welcoming and provided the ultimate 'local experience.' The town is quaint and the beach...well, you can easily see why Santa Teresa is one of the top surf destinations world wide. Armed with a surfboard or simply a towel, the endless stretch of perfect sand and crashing waves promise to keep you lingering for "just one more minute."

This haven has everything you need and nothing you don't. We had just come from the Marriot in San Jose for a few nights and I would stay at Surf Vista Villas ANY DAY over their pretentious counterparts. Don't get me wrong, it was beautiful, but you will NOT beat the down-to-earth hosting, heart stopping ocean views, jungle submersion and beach town bliss!! (and at a fraction of the price, I almost had to pinch myself...)

And the space...oh my...the space...
The Villa was open, airy, high on a cliff and gave rise to the entire fantasy vision of a tropical paradise created in my mind before even arriving. I wanted to cartwheel, pirouette, laugh, cry and sit in quiet reflection all at the same time, when stepping out on the deck for the first morning intake. The vibe already set with the alarm clock of a surrounding jungle brimming with life, radiantly back-lit shades of green with ribbons of sunshine streaming through, suggesting only that the day take you where it may...

Fellow yoga enthusiasts MUST stay here! Having both private and communal wrap around deck space, your practice is sure to be unforgettable...Morning, noon or night!

Just sit and swing while the sun slowly sinks and enjoy the evening symphony of night time jungle buzz as moon-rays dance on the surface of endless ocean...

Seriously folks...are you getting the picture?

Your taste buds will be tantalized with the fine culinary delights of the local fare. Our first night Andy introduced us to an amazing mixed seafood grill at a super-chill restaurant. I still daydream about it...Mmmmm. Followed by a delightful breakfast and a heavenly latte at the bakery (apparently the only place with AC, so it's hoppin')

The end of the rainy season was perfect (November), everything was lush and the air was warm and rich (driving the strip through town is a bit dusty).The Villa proximity ensures a drive to Montezuma is a must!

I can go on and on...but I will save that for my next review when our stay at this 'jewel of the Nicoya' will be far longer than a teasing few days, from which we had to be dragged kicking and screaming :-D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The photos online of the property don't do it justice. This is paradise. We spent the week prior to Christmas in this amazing location. The view and the sounds of the jungle that surround it were breathtaking and extraordinary. Our room was spacious and absolutely perfect. In our time in Santa Teresa I didn't see another location that compared to Surf Vista. We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Up highhhh on a hill. so you need a vehicle or good legs and don't mind the walk up in the heat. But because you are so high up you have peace and quiet and extraordinary views of the pacific. We stayed in the lower level unit (two story building) and everything was excellent. Staff on site were amazing. Beautiful setting, buildings were really good, and nature all around. In particular, parrots, toucans, howler monkeys and white faced capucin monkeys right at your porch or close to it.

We used the conceirge service to book and organize activities (horse back riding, fishing, zip lining, nature excursion, and surf lesson. It was all good. Reasonable prices, excellent services, prompt, etc. etc.

Will go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although we had already seen the photos online we were blown away by the view, the spotless spacious rooms and deck space. Nothing later on our trip matched this place. Had an awesome chill time at the Vista Villas, which we can only recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

there is nothing about this place to speak poorly of.
the view is the best i have ever imagined, the sunsets are perfect, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the deck space is out of control, you can hang with other guests or stay private to yourself, andy is sooo helpful and an incredible host/owner, his two dogs are sweethearts, and as long as you have a 4x4 of some kind to get up and down its two minutes from the most wonderful beach in the world. spent a week there in late november and it was a dream.
good for couples, on your own, or with friends....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The accommodations are great for a couple's getaway or a quick surf trip with buddies. The rooms are spacious and clean, the wrap-around deck is perfect for a beer at sunset and the views are amazing. We had a 4x4 truck and stayed during the rainy season which made getting around easier and allowed us to explore the national park and different surf spots. This is perfect for a surf trip with a variety of sand bottom, rock and reef breaks withing 30 mins either direction. Andy and his staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in the Surf Vista villas for 2 weeks in September, we loved the view, and the place was superspacious, clean and we absolutely loved staying there. Andy has created a true gem there, if you are surfer or not , you will never forget the sunsets there. Juanco, Juan and Andy are very helpful and can supply you with tips, trips, surfboards and fresh Papyas :) @ location: Its a 10 minute walk down the hill to get to the beach, and a 15-20 minute walk uphill - if you are not fit you need an ATV or rental car.

Room Tip: I would settle for one of the upper apt. the view is just a bit better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas

Address: 150 Meters North of Super la Hacienda in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas is a new resort consisting of five luxury villas all with panoramic ocean/wave views. Each villa is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, a/c, new beds with posturpedic mattresses, ceiling fans, wireless capability and a huge deck with breathtaking views. Sunsets can't be seen from a better location and mornings are peaceful and serene with daily visits from exotic birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.