We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What could be better?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makanas
200m North of Flor Blanca Resort | Beach Side, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in Makanas for a week, had a great time and didn't spend a fortune.
The cabins were ultra clean and felt private. The location is in my opinion perfect, since its secluded enough you get to see the monkeys and the birds while escaping the dust that plagues most everywhere in town, beautiful Florblanca Hotel for yoga, massage, dinner and cocktails is basically next door, secret little tidepools, and just down the beach is another restaurant/sunset cocktail bar Roca Mar as well as a pointbreak and the begining of the beach break. So you get both seclusion and amenities.
Aaron and Tatiana, our hosts, were the best part of it all, making sure I was comfortable, sharing breakfast and coffee with the guests and making us feel so at home. Both of them are 100% knowledgeable about the area, having lived here most of their lives, so anything you need is a phone call away.
They offer surf lessons and fishing trips. I took very fun surf lessons with Aaron, (he's been teaching surfing for years) he set me up with a board and all, and another guest went fishing for tuna. Later we cooked the fish on-site. Aaron is fantastic cook and Tatiana a sweet hostess. Everybody was very happy.
I am coming back here next trip, so i would absolutely recommend.
Good for singles, good for couples and if you have children, the cabanas are safe and have a variety of bed distributions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Review

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for charming, affordable accommodations right by the beach. Cabinas Makanas is located a bit outside the village of Santa Teresa, which makes it secluded and more tranquil. The ocean is only 300 feet away and that stretch of beach is among the most beautiful in the area. It's also not far from the top surfing spots. There are only three bungalows in a nicely landscaped garden so it feels very private.  Each spacious bungalow has teak-wood ceilings with fans and is equipped with fridge and coffee maker. All are very clean and functional and have nice verandas overlooking the garden. I enjoyed spending time in the hammock, watching the iguanas and howler monkeys who love to visit the neighboring trees. This is a great place to hang out and feel the peaceful, jungle vibes. But what makes Cabinas Makanas truly special is the TLC you get from Kari who runs this small hotel and its incredibly delicious restaurant Ambrosia with friendly efficiency. Her passion for creative, flavorful food translates into simple yet superb specialties such as the mango coconut encrusted catch of the day, which is pure delight, or the rich chicken or fish pesto wrap. The burger options are amazing...I loved the exotic taste of the chicken burger served with a slice of grilled pineapple and a feta dressing. All burgers and entrees are available with a choice of French fries or sweet potato fries--both excellent. There are also tasty salads. Everything is made fresh and reasonably priced.
Kari goes out of her way to make everyone feel welcome and she is more than happy to share tips about the area. I highly recommend this place and if you happen to be staying somewhere else in Santa Teresa, make sure to at least try the Ambrosia restaurant. You'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Makana's was a perfect place for us to stay. As a family of 5 we were able to put the kids in one cabina with a queen bed and bunk beds and we had our own private cabina with queen bed. The price was very reasonable. We were a short walk to the beach with tide pools at low tide and good surfing a short stroll down the beach. Each cabina has a shaded porch, outdoor seating, and a hammock, private bathroom with hot water, 2 fans, and a small refrigerator. Conveniently, there is an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant next door--Ambrosia Restaurante. All extremely comfortable and satisfying for our stay. We will stay here again when we get back to Sta Teresa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

This is a lovely property, small, quiet and peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of Santa Teresa. The cabinas are very clean and comfortable. The lanais are large with chairs and a table, a wonderful place to sit and watch and listen to the monkeys passing by and still have room for your surfcoards. There are 3 cabinas so it is very private. Each unit has a ceiling fan, a standing fan, small frig and hot water, there is also maid service.
In less than a minute with a short walk down the path you are right on the beach.
The restaurant on property is wonderful and the food is delicious and while we were there they had a different special every day.
Really great place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Been there 5 times and it gets better every time. Can't wait to get back over there. The waves are good every day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanas

Address: 200m North of Flor Blanca Resort | Beach Side, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanas offers three discreet and quaint cabins and a restaurant by the ocean. Step out of your room and watch the monkeys swing by in the canopy above or listen to the tropical birds in the morning as you enjoy a cup of delicious Costa Rican coffee. We are located well away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Santa Teresa, yet steps away from the prized beaches Santa Teresa is known for. Come experience Santa Teresa at its best, with world class surfing, fishing, excellent cuisine and some of the best sunsets the world has to offer. Whether you are a couple looking for something more private or a larger group looking to all stay together, we can accommodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you at Makanas! Pura vida! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makanas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Makanas to your Saves list