We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best beaches in the world for surfing and just living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
15 Km de Cobano, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
26400080
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in the world for surfing and just living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

One of the best beaches in the world for surfing and just living. You could spend the day just sitting and enjoyinh the people, or the magnificent nature, rather than surfing on the ocean's waves: in both cases, you would just love it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    60
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful surf village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great little surf town full of ATV, dirt bikes and dirt roads. Dogs just sleep on the road while trucks, busses and cars just maneuver around them! Quaint! Lots of small hotels and hostels, lots of yoga and organic food establishments. Very mellow. I really don't want to give great reviews of my new paradise find because I LOVE the laid back feel of this surf village. No big hotel chains, no vendors on the beach, just pure life.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome little surf town in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Busy, yet mellows at night. Good surf spots for all levels close by. Good restaurants (Koji's (Japanese/sushi), Red snapper (seafood), Bistra del la Mar (seafood/steak/curry), Burger place- not sure of name (not just burgers must try tuna ceviche...Amazing!!); great for yoga, surfing, beaching, families/couples/friends vacation. Will come back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful crescent beach with surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I could have spent all day and all night on this beach, and I very nearly did. Often great surf there, always great views, and an unbeatable sunset. After dark, look out for baby sea turtles and bioluminescence in the water!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a nice beach, just watch your stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went for surf lessons out on Playa Santa Teresa. The waves were great. A lot of reviews I have seen complain about petty theft and while it's true, I imagine if you left your stuff sitting out on the beach anywhere SoCal the same thing would happen. It is a little rough around the edges and doesn't have the infrastructure to it, like paved roads, but that's part of the charm. We had a great time and would come back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.