We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than Montezuma!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
15 Km de Cobano, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
26400080
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Much better than Montezuma!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in Tambor, which is about an hour from Santa Teresa/Playa Carmen. Everyone hyped up Montezuma, so we went there our first day in Nicoya. It was fun, but extremely small with only one bar.

The next day, I asked our concierge what are some other good areas to check out, and he told us this area. So we drove down in the early afternoon and were delighted. First of all, there are about four towns right in a row so there are many more options for little shops, cafes, etc. I liked Santa Teresa and Playa Carmen best, we didn't really explore Hermosa, etc.

After lunch (at Zwart) we did a little shopping and then spontaneously signed up for surf lessons at Nalu, which was so fun! Then we stayed for dinner and went out with some locals that we went. We were a day off- the next night was raggae night in the town which seemed like it would have been a lot of fun. We also met a lot of Americans who have up and moved to this sleepy little surf town.

I wish we had either stayed in this area or discovered it earlier in the trip so we could have spent more time. No matter what you are seeking- a great lunch, a day at the beach, or night life- you'll find it here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    89
    16
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went here and Montezuma. Personally I liked the atmosphere here a little bit more than Montezuma, but it is probably personal preference. At Playa Santa Teresa there are more restaurants and more activity, and the beaches are better. Don't get me wrong, Montezuma is great but for whatever the reason, Santa Teresa had the better vibe. The only real drawback was lack of a paved road (very dusty), but my understanding is that it will be paved by the end of April.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only if you surf”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A long way to travel for dusty roads and a town that still is finding itself. You will need to rent a car or ATV- Spanish is a MUST- This is a town really only for surfers- no shopping- no huge nightlife scene- just research before going

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best surf trip experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back from a week in Santa Teresa and I did not want to leave. The weather was perfect, the locals friendly and all of the eateries I experienced were fabulous!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“crazy drive is worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

BY far ST was one of my favourtie spots on our journey around CR. The beach is beautiful - great waves, hot sun and gorgeous sunsets. We rented an ATV and travelled to a rasied piece of land that overlooked the town. The beach was incredible at night even stopped at a few bonfires as we walked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.