We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
15 Km de Cobano, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
26400080
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went here and Montezuma. Personally I liked the atmosphere here a little bit more than Montezuma, but it is probably personal preference. At Playa Santa Teresa there are more restaurants and more activity, and the beaches are better. Don't get me wrong, Montezuma is great but for whatever the reason, Santa Teresa had the better vibe. The only real drawback was lack of a paved road (very dusty), but my understanding is that it will be paved by the end of April.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    60
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only if you surf”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A long way to travel for dusty roads and a town that still is finding itself. You will need to rent a car or ATV- Spanish is a MUST- This is a town really only for surfers- no shopping- no huge nightlife scene- just research before going

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best surf trip experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back from a week in Santa Teresa and I did not want to leave. The weather was perfect, the locals friendly and all of the eateries I experienced were fabulous!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“crazy drive is worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

BY far ST was one of my favourtie spots on our journey around CR. The beach is beautiful - great waves, hot sun and gorgeous sunsets. We rented an ATV and travelled to a rasied piece of land that overlooked the town. The beach was incredible at night even stopped at a few bonfires as we walked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The beach is very, very nice. There is long stretches so you can walk for hours. It seems to be a hot spot for surfers. The beaches are clean and safe. We went out on the beach almost every night and never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The town was a little dusty and dry but what can you expect when there hasn't been any rain around here. The walk to town wasnt too enjoyable on the dirt road, however, you can get to town by walking along the beach which is MUCH better. All the people are SUPER friendly! We stayed 3 days and already feel like we know the locals. Santa Teresa has a variety of places to eat, lodging, surf shops, and great sunsets!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.