We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
15 Km de Cobano, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
26400080
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Québec, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very beautiful beach, long with dark sand. Great waves for surfing and boogie boarding or just for playing

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    56
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Massive Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The beach was amazing. Waves too big for swimming however if you stayed inside the surf it was fine and there were areas with pools. Almost too big as it took a lot of walking to find places. Only were a few restaurants on the beach. Most of them were on the road which we found too dusty due to the unpaved road.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful beach, but watch your bag!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved the sunsets on the beach here, and my friend and I had a good time renting a surfboard to just mess around on our own. Only thing was while my friend was in the water and I was napping on the beach my bag gotten stolen from right next to me. Very sneaky little thief! So keep your eyes open!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Drawbacks spoil beach appeal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been to a few places in Costa Rica and wanted to give this place a try after recommendations from friends. My bf and I took Nature Air from San Jose in order to maximize our beach time. Airport at Tambor is an hour drive from the town, which is ok but the lack of transportation options make it pretty much mandatory to pay $50 for a taxi. Town itself is pretty undeveloped which may be what you are looking for however we found it less charming. Not that we were hoping for manicured streets full of gringos but the town itself is sorely lacking in infrastructure. Roads are not paved and thus extremely dusty as cars, motos, and ATV's whiz by kicking up hot dust to breathe and get in your eyes. Rarely a taxi to be seen except at night so daytime is often a long, dusty, sweaty trek to get to a restaurant or store. Speaking of shopping there is pretty much none, with the exception of the necessary supermarkets and handful of grimy clothing store selling new and often used beach stuff. Like its inhabitants, the town itself is more of a sweaty bedraggled hippie than a cool chill surf hangout. The big thing here is surfing so of course it's all about the beach, which is raw and unspoiled however there are few beach front bars for cold drinks, no places to rent umbrellas/chairs etc. however we packed a cooler and enjoyed the nature. Otherwise, the prices here everywhere are very high and we are from here in C America and speak Spanish fluently so I can only assume that the obvious foreigners are charged even more much of the time. Bottom line is the surf is decent and the beach is nice but for the amount of effort to get here and the lack of services/infrastructure we would not choose to spend our money here when you can find many better options in the region for the same cost or better.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The beach was beautiful. Warm water and clean, white sand. Beautiful sunsets every night. Long stretches for walking. The town was fun too. Everyone we had contact with was nice. Lots of great places to eat. We loved the atmosphere and will be back next year. It was pretty dusty on the main road, but we got used to that and really loved our time here. After reading reviews before we got there warning of crime, we were a little concerned, but we had no trouble. We were careful to never leave anything unattended on the beach or in our vehicle and used our safe in our room. We were fortunate to have a great place to stay that was secure and didn't worry at all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Santa Teresa to your Saves list