We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
15 Km de Cobano, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
26400080
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pristine beach in the best location, and not really crowded at all during the time that we stayed there this fall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    63
    10
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beach is not swimmable and town is pretty dusty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The beach in front of our Hotel is too rocky to swim and the little town is pretty poor and dusty. Not impressed. No character.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aserri, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great spot to visit if you wanna have a great time. There are nice hotels and restaurants all around the beach, as convenience places like supermarkets, etc...

My girlfriend and I went in winter and it was nice, but definitively it would be nicer to visit during summer.

Now, this is a perfect place to surf, but perhaps not the best beach to swim around. I mean, it's nice to swim here, but the beach's special activity is definitively the surf. So if you wanna surf in Costa Rica, this is the right place.

The road: If you come from San José, it's better to take the highway 27 (Caldera), which will lead you to Puntarenas. You dont have to divert anywhere, except like 10 minutes after Caldera, in order to go to Puntarenas downtown, but the road signs are clearly marked. Then, take the ferry to Paquera which lasts around 1 hour and 15 minutes. Once in Paquera, taje the main road that will take you to Tambor and then Cóbano; you don't have to divert either. 1 km after Cóbano, turn left and the road will take you directly to Malpaís and Santa Teresa. Right now (Oct 2012) it is winter and the road is in great condition. It is dirt but still is very good. A sedan type of car will pass with no problem, but a 4x4 would be much better. I passed through in motorcycle and it was great and fast. You will last 1,5h from Paquera to Santa Teresa.

I hope this info helps you. Enjoy your trip!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Been all over the world there is nothing like Santa Teresa .
Such a nice place I was there with my wife and 2 little kids it's was amazing ,best surf EVER
And this place is just really
Pura vida

Will be back

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailes De Bearn, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Natural Beach- Great for Surfing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved the nature, loved watching all of the surfers. Unfortunately I am not a good surfer and I got beat up by all of the stones while surfing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.