We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batik Beach Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Batik Beach Villas
Save
You added Batik Beach Villas to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The property and homes at Batik Beach Villas are wonderful. I have now stayed there multiple times in Casa Mali, Casa Macondo and Casita Macondo.
This is by far the most impeccably maintained piece of property in this region.
With all the villas, the layout, accommodations and attention to detail is spot on...and then some! My favorite part about ALL of the villas is the design for indoor/outdoor living. Even during the rainy season, you can stay outside - there is ample space where you will not get wet.
I stayed here for 2 months by myself and specifically chose Batik for its location and security. At all times I felt extremely safe. All the folks working there are extremely warm, friendly and conscientious.
Cristina has been truly a pleasure to work with on all the properties.
Last tip: Take your time to enjoy the path to the beach and catch the howler monkeys.
PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: All of the villas are quite exceptional....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Indoor/outdoor living at its best!!!
Batik is truly a special place where you have the beauty and convenience of a beautiful, modern home while enjoying the experience of living in nature. The entire experience was amazing and would be hard to replicate. The staff was professional. The grounds and location were ideal. Really, we can't say enough great things about Batik! Thank you for a wonderful family vacation, we wish we could have stayed longer and we definitely hope to be back soon.
Pura Vida Batik

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our family trip to Costa Rica was fantastic, partly because of our choice to stay at Batik (Casa Macondo). The villa was safe, secluded and peaceful, yet only a few minutes by Car or ATV to the center of Santa Teresa.
The beach was accessed thru beautiful gardens and jungle, and was a serene three minute walk to the PERFECT beach!
Dahlia was uber attentive and saw to all our needs, including dinner reservations, booking excursions and vehicles, and really anything we needed help with. She is a wonderful host and is really in touch with what to see and do, which restaurants to hit or miss, etc.
We will be back next year and won't even consider accomodations anyhwere but Batik. Spot on!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Dahlia was a knowledgable, cheerful and helpful guide for our stay in ST. All her recommendation where great - surfing, fishing, nature trips and food.

Batik Villas are superbly maintained and beautiful. Staff pleasant. Extremely clean.

Short walk to beach features monkey's and other wildlife.

Great beach for surf, boarding or swimming.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place left me speechless. I don't want to give away this gem in hopes that it is available when I go again. But It deserves the High praise it earned.
My wife and I spent 7 romantic days alone here until the kids flew in. The family then stayed another 7 days. Immaculate homes and grounds were looked after by friendly and professional craftsmen and women.
This place is world class. I couldn't imagine a better location or nicer facilities.
Thank you all for making our stay a memory of a lifetime.
We stayed at Casa Mali but all four of these homes were five star. The website pictures don't due these properties justice.
Congratulations Batik!

Room Tip: Five of us stayed comfortably at Casa Mali. Being a family the single bathroom was not an issue. Two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Villa Batik for 10 days with our 14 and 17 years old teens. We were all enchanted by the open air living space, the beautiful private pool the overall ambiance so conducive to achieving our goal: relaxation. The surf classes were great, the access to a fabulous local chef made our dinners informal yet sophisticated. Santa Theresa itself is quite cool...very cool...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing stay at Casa Mali! The open-air villa was so serene and gorgeous. The hospitality at Batik was fantastic - from the groundskeeper and housekeeping staff to Dahlia, their super cool concierge. The kitchen was fully-equipped - though the only one who took complete advantage of that was the private chef who cooked an incredible meal on our final night - throughout the week we enjoyed amazing meals at local restaurants (on Dahlia's recommendations). The bathroom is indoor/outdoor but completely private and a cool experience. The bedrooms are the only completely enclosed rooms but have plenty of windows and option for tons of sunlight. The living area has fun furniture options and a great private pool for cooling off or just relaxing. We coordinated all of the activities of our stay with Dahlia, who was extremely helpful and easy to reach. We rented a quad for the week - which was much better (and more fun) to drive through the town than our rented SUV (but beware of dust). Batik is a very well-maintained hidden gem and the town is a charming slice of paradise. We enjoyed awesome meals and lots of local activities (surf lessons, horse riding on the beach, zip lining and nature walk tour). The beach is a very short walk from Batik - but a nice one through a tree-lined path. We can't recommend Batik/Casa Mali highly enough!! We have the best memories of our trip and hope to get back to Batik again in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batik Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Beach Villas

Address: Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 00000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BATIK ESTATE offers four luxurious and elegantly designed villas in a very private tropical setting with a beach access on Playa Hermosa at the north end of Santa Teresa. They can be rented separately or together for larger groups, wedding, events or family vacations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Batik Beach Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batik Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.