We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first night here, and we love it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrapasuenos Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atrapasuenos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Atrapasuenos Lodge to your Saves list
Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first night here, and we love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I first stopped in Atrapasueños last week, and I chose to go with the place across the street that was $20 cheaper. What a mistake!!! This is our second time back to Santa Teresa on this trip, and we decided to try this place. After being all over in CR and paying all the way up to $160 a night for a place. I think this is one of the best values we've found. Our room (#1) is big, beautiful, extremely clean, has a hammock on the deck, a hot shower, fridge, tv, king and queen size beds, and that's just our room. Atrapasueños also has a gorgeous pool that is open till 9pm, secure parking, and a big beautiful kitchen for their tenants, that Martha Stewart would be happy with. We arrived here when the sun was going down, but it looks like their outdoor common area has a few hammocks and looks very relaxing. We have decided to end our trip here and stay another 2 nights (3 nights total). The only negative is that breakfast is not included for the price we are paying, but we are ok with that, bc we can cook our own in their kitchen. I recommended this place to my friend who is also coming to stay here this week, so I'd also recommend Atrapasueños to you too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was in the area only for one night, and I sure made a good choice when I booked a room here.50 yrds from the beach with a bar and great pool. Clean rooms and a full kitchen to share. Helpful staff and walking distance to stores and eateries. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thanks dream catchers.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had wanted to go to Costa Rica for a long time, and when we finally got the chance we were given the Atrapasuenos hotel as the first place to start our journey. When we arrived, it met our expectations right away! Margot and Carolina were not only amazingly responsive before we arrived (answered all our questions, gave us options, etc.), but when we got there they were equally if not more helpful. They know the area extremely well, and are keen on who to go to regarding food, excursions and even shopping.

The hotel is built for individuals looking to get away, but we secretly went there to verify if it would be a good place for the annual trip that I take with my friends. It most definitely can accommodate a big group of people and, if you have the ability, you should get a clan together to take over the whole place. The rooms are spacious, the hammocks in the balconies and throughout the property soothe you into relaxing at any given time, and the accessibility to the beach is fantastic. It's a lush environment filled with sounds of birds, monkeys, and the day to day relaxed life that is Santa Teresa. I nearly threw my passport away so that I could stay longer....it dug its hooks in me for sure.

I will not only be returning with friends next year, but I will be thinking about how to make this my new home away from home in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Atrapasuenos Hotel on Playa Santa Teresa for one wonderful week. What a spot! The hotel itself is a beautiful home with solid Central American heavy wooden doors, community kitchen, gorgeous dining area overlooking the pool and spa, and lovely rooms with garden views and private baths. We wandered through the backyard, with its hammocks and flowers, to the short path leading to the beach. Santa Teresa beach is wonderful, with warm water and terrific surf. Occasionally, horses run by! As you walk down the beach, you’ll see great restaurants you can walk right up to, and many of them have bonfires and music after sunset. Atrapasuenos attracts travelers from all over. When we were there, we met others from Sweden, Canada, Italy, Columbia, and the U.S. Above all, what really made this stay memorable was Margot, her daughter Catalina, and the other family members who help out. Margot is a gem - friendly, personable, and always helpful with ideas for activities and taking care of arrangements for you. Atrapuesanos means “dream catcher” and it more than lives up to its name! We’ll definitely be back, hopefully soon than later!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had been traveling through Costa Rica for a few weeks before arriving at Atrapasuenos Hotel, which is run by Margot and her family. I can say that without a doubt, this has been the best combination for location, facility and staff out of all the places we have stayed. The hotel is located just a short walk to the beaches where you'll find a great place to get some rest and relaxation. Along the way, you'll see anything from horses randomly walking down the beach to bonfires sparking up just after sunset. The rooms and kitchen are kept very neat & clean and you'll find the pool warm and refreshing at any time of the day. Margot is very accommodating and helpful with any questions, needs, travel arrangements or requests you might have. So book your stay, and whether you're looking to kick-back, relax and unwind or venture out for the many beautiful attractions in the area, you're sure to enjoy your stay at the lovely and charming Atrapasuenos! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room on the entire property, but Margot will be helpful with any special reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I have just spent another wonderful experience at Atrapasuenos in Playa Carmen! Every time we visit with Margot and Carolina is like going home again. They are always extremely welcoming and attentive to our needs both when booking and while there. The location of Atrapasuenos is absolutely perfect for any activities in the area, including beach going, dining, nightlife and shopping. We absolutely love the privacy of the property and its convenience to everything in the Mal Pais / Playa Carmen area; and the pool is just the greatest spot to relax and unwind after a stellar day. Thanks again Toro family and we will see you again soon.
Pura Vida,
Russell and Jessica

Room Tip: Choose and upstairs room with a balcony and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our group stayed in the 3 rooms downstairs for 9 days this January. The hospitality and surroundings were incredible. Three of the 6 of us were early morning risers to surf and Diego always had coffee ready for us. When you stay here, make sure to ask Diego to cook dinner for you....his chicken is outstanding. But the last night we were there, he made mahi mahi complete with a table cloth and candlelight - super great. Don't miss this incredible find in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrapasuenos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrapasuenos Lodge

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrapasuenos-Dreamcatcher is an Eco–friendly Boutique Hotel located in the southern Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica, ideally situated a few meters from one of the best beaches in the country.The property is surrounded by a beautiful, luscious tropical garden offering guests a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, set in the heart of town with easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, entertainment and transportation.Inspired by the environment, the hotel includes six private air-conditioned rooms that may be rented individually or all together to create an amazing private villa for families, weddings, group events and retreats. Restaurants, supermarkets, spas, beaches only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atrapasuenos Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrapasuenos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.