We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat

Save Saved
You added Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75 M East Of Brunellas, Santa Teresa 12112, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were so lucky to have chosen Nautilus. It was safe, close to restaurants, shops and the beach. The food at Olam was so yummy and fresh. Make sure to try the smoked fish sandwich. The pool is refreshing and clean. Our Villa was modern, clean and the bed was super comfy. Not a ton of kitchen supplies but enough to get by on basic meals.
The best part of our stay was sharing a daily yoga practice with Karen. She is a joy and a true kindred spirit. You will enjoy deepening your yoga practice with her. One day we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting us here at the Nautilus

We are happy to hear you great time.

Its makes our work worth the effort.

We would love to see you again.

LOVE

The Nautilus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
79
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I were interested in escaping the hustle and bustle of the city for some sunshine and relaxation. The Nicoya Peninsula was always the destination, but where to stay? When I came across Hotel Nautilus, I realized that we found something unique. An upscale boutique hotel, but not at an upscale price.

Hotel Nautilus is tucked away from a busy dirt road, yet is only a 5-minute walk from one of the most incredible beaches in Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by lush palms, which makes you feel like you're part of nature. Each villa is equipped with a kitchenette (fridge/freezer, full-size sink, burners, coffee machine, blender, toaster) -- this was a plus for us as we could make coffee in the morning, or even a light dinner if we decided not to go out. And, although the hotel makes incredible smoothies (you must try the pineapple and mint!), you could also make them in your villa.

Olam restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. The food is fresh and delicious, and the menu offers a wide-range of options for you to choose from. Dinner options can be discussed with the owners as they are more than willing to make suggestions, and even arrange for a taxi to pick you up!

Which leads me to my next point, the owners of Hotel Nautilus are the most kind and accommodating hotel owners I have ever met. They truly love what they do, and are there to make sure you have the best time. When you arrive, you are welcomed with open arms. During your stay, Edi, one of the owners, will sit down with you to determine what you would like to do on your stay - from a trip to Montezuma waterfalls, fishing trips, canopy tours, surf lessons, or to finding a secret beach to relax at for the day.

My husband likes to surf, and was able to rent a surfboard at Kina surf shop, a 3-minute walk from the hotel. Prices may vary, however, he was able to rent a long board for $15 a day, or a short board fro $12. Surfing this time of year is perfect for beginners as the waves aren't too big.

I took two yoga classes during our stay, which were offered at the hotel. The classes are located in an open-air studio above the restaurant. It was amazing to take a class and hear the birds and the howler monkey's in the trees!

The great thing about Costa Rica, and this area in particular, is that if you're looking to relax on the beach and that is all, you can do that here. But, if you are also interested in a bit of adventure there is so much to see and do!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived on our shuttle after a long and bumpy ride from San Jose. After ringing the bell, Arik arrived immediately to warmly greet us. He invited us into Olam for a smoothie and set the tone for a relaxing vacation. Once we had our smoothies, we were given a tour around our Villa.

The Villa had everything we needed. It was spacious and well-designed. The living room was very comfortable to relax in between activities and after a long day exploring. The wifi worked perfectly for skype. We used the kitchen for snacks and breakfasts. I used the water to brush my teeth but didn’t drink it. The patio was also very nice and useful. We brought pastries from the Bakery and drinks from Olam to enjoy a breakfast on the patio after yoga one morning.

The yoga classes were very good. I love practicing yoga in the city but this was such a better experience. The beautiful yoga deck overlooking the jungle where you can feel the ocean breeze and hear the birds sing provided the perfect space to practice. I attended three yoga classes and enjoyed each one of them. Since the class sizes are small, the teachers were able to cater to our skills and preferences. After days of surfing and walking on the beach, we were sore, and the teacher provided a more restorative practice. It was very relaxing.

The overall hotel setting is very calm and the gardens are beautiful. I enjoyed the pool area as I read and wrote postcards between swims. One of the best parts is the friendliness of the owners. Adi was so kind and thoughtful. She always made sure to ask how our day was going and ensure we were having a good time. She was really great in helping us plan activities and make reservations. She also made us feel extra cared for through details like by making sure we’d get an English-speaking taxi driver so we can properly communicate our plans.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your warm and kind words we had a pleasure having you here !

Pura Vida
Adi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed there for a week after we stayed in 2 different places in the same town.
when we got there we felt like home!

The owners which as well have the restaurant Olam and the Yoga place all in the same perimeter seemed to be caring about everything! from saving energy and the environment to healthy food and to make sure your experience in the area would be just amazing!

The owners themselves gave us so many tips and even took us to small trips in the area without expecting anything from us! they where so easy going about everything and really treat us like if we where their family...

After traveling around the world i wish i will have a chance to go to only places of that kind,

Definitely recommend and come back!

Room Tip: There are not so many of them but all of them are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I did not want to leave.
Too often after a trip to one location on this giant planet we think "what's next?".
In this case the question was "if we can't stay forever then when can we come back?"
An oasis of beauty and calm in a vibrant beach town where the incredible food and engaging staff blend perfectly with the surf culture and natural wonder of the Nicoya peninsula.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

AMAZING, ADORABLE, GREAT, UNFORGETTABLE all these words can totally describe our stay in Nautilus Boutique Hotel Santa Teresa. Our trip and journey with them began way before we actually got there. I personally wrote like 100 emails to Arik about room bookings and date changing and transfers from airport and what ever other questions were on my mind when we decided to stay at that hotel. I got all the answers to my questions almost immediately, so my first thank you will definitely go to customs support before the travel. They took care of all of it. Transfer from the airport, hotel in Liberia, 5 times booking dates changes etc. With these guys you can always be 100% sure that they will HELP YOU! Before the tip we of course looked at the pictures on the website and read reviews on tripadvisor, but trust me in real life it is and looks like A LOT BETTER, the first thing we said when we walked up to our villa was WOW:) IT was spacious, very clean, had a huge terrace and huge living room. Very nice, perfectly equipped kitchen, washing machine, drying machine etc. With a gorgeous view on the sea, the pool and the garden. As we arrived from the very long and bumpy ride from the Liberia airport we met this extremely sweet woman at the gate of the hotel, who said "Welcome to Nautilus, don't worry about anything, leave your bags just come with me and enjoy your refreshing smoothies:)" So we did. Then we were accompanied to our villa and had a quick tour where is what and how things work:) The day after we got a full review of activities in Santa Teresa, what we should do and what we should not, where to eat, what is fancy and what is not. etc. Our villa was cleaned to the perfection every day, every day we got like 10 new big towels ( we were 4) and every time we needed to book a table or ATV or tour, or anything else lovely owners of these place were always there to help. We have spent 3,5 weeks in Santa Teresa but only 1st week on Nautilus coz they were booked the time after, but all the rest of the time we were coming back there, for advices, help, delicious meals and great yoga classes. This is really one of the rare examples when you feel like home being miles away. Owners of the place are always there for you, they love and believe in what they do, have a huge heart and make you feel welcome all the time. I would strongly recommend staying in this hotel to all my friends, not only cos of the great location and great service, but also coz will like it so mu ch that you would not want to leave.!!!

Room Tip: Both suitable for friends, couple and families. All the villas and rooms are well situated from each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Lilia dear we had a blast meeting you guys , thanks for a great stay short as it was, thanks for your kind and warm words, and the complements ! you gtuys rock !
Sending you much love from the Nautilus !

Do svidanya !
Arik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I arrived to Santa Teressa by myself to take an adventure week brake from NY & from my husband...
I heard fantastic recommendations about Nautilus & was not disappointed at all!!
The owners are the most sweet & friendly ever became immediately like my family,
The Hotel is so beautiful & comfortable, I slept on that bed like a baby..
Every morning I had an organic healthy & delicious breakfast & smoothies
in OLAM - the restaurant in Nautilus.
Then - upstairs for a yoga with fantastic teachers that became my friends as well.
The beach is 5 min.- slow walk..
Came back to NY full of energy, hot looking..., relaxed & glowing.
Looking forward to be back there soon with my husband this time : ) Sigal.

Room Tip: Any room there is Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks Sigal Happy and honored you are calling us your home away from home for you, NYC is Close enough for you to pay us a longer visit , loved it !

Pura Vida
Adi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat

Address: 75 M East Of Brunellas, Santa Teresa 12112, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nautilus Boutique Hotel - Wellnes Retreat Yoga Deck - Healthy restaurant - Surf & yoga Retreats. Our villas capture the exotic character of Costa Rica, surrounded by lush tropical jungle, seamlessly blends into beautiful open-air terraces. Fully equipped kitchen. Large bedrooms Spoiling showers. Flat screen with Cable TV. King size mattress. 100% organic bath amenities. Daily housekeeping service. Refrigerator. Personal safe. Air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.