We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen chic. My favorite hotel of all times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat

Save Saved
You added Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75 M East Of Brunellas, Santa Teresa 12112, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Zen chic. My favorite hotel of all times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is by far my favorite hotel of all times. Adi and Arik make you feel like family from the moment you arrive with warm hugs. The restaurant, Olam and rooms are gorgeous organic chic. The yoga floor is just above the restaurant so you listen to beautiful Om's while you dine on the most delicious organic meals and you hear the ocean while you practice. Peaceful Zen energy glows at Nautilus. Arik carefully helps you plan every day taking care that you don't over spend on silly tours and calls in all reservations and cabs. I miss them both as if they were family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks Julie for the warm and kond words we had a great time hope to see you guys soon !
Pura Vida
Arik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
82
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I escaped to CR for our Honeymoon.... And every part of the trip was amazing.

Nautilus Hotel has great modern bungalows, cute pool, great location and the BEST owners. Eddie helped us plan every part of our week-long trip to Santa Teresa.

I would def reccomend staying here - we can NOT wait to return!

Pura Vida

Mandy and Brady

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks amanda & Brady we emjoted your company much !
Hope your next visit is with an extended members !!!!

Pura Vida
Edi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this place about a year ago... it's now that time of year again and as we search for a new destination I find myself searching for places like Nautilus.

Lets start with our arrival/first impression... we were late. It was raining and Arik (owner/manager) came to greet us in the rain and help us get our luggage inside; he had been waiting. We were exhausted from traveling and upon small talk told Arik all we want is some coca-cola and a bed. He went out (what we later realized) for a good 7 min walk down the street to the local store. He purchased us a 2L of coke and some water since the kitchen was passed closed - upon giving it to us refused our money to pay for it. Good start.

Adi, his wife, is equally helpful and accommodating. She has a tranquil, soft spoken way about her that makes you feel like you've taken a xanax during every conversation. She was able to help us with our day trips and has the local tools to help you plan-- we did not have to get on the phone once--she gave us ideas, we told her which ones we liked, and she made it happen.

Some activities included:
- SURFING!What this town is all about. We got surfing lessons from a top israeli surfer who moved across the world to make a life in santa teresa after falling in love with the waves. He was fantastic! $40 lesson and $5 to rent a board after that for everyday you wish. We were pros by the end of the week.
- ATV rental -- Adi hooked us up with one of the only companys that will come to YOU to rent the 4wheeler, well-priced and honest. From there we were able to
-hike a nearby national park to see families of monkeys, birds, butterflies etc
-visit the waterfalls at montezuma
-explore the little villiages and shops nearby at our own will
The roads are small, and rocky, and scary. BUT take a camera and just drive and you wont regret it! hilltops with wild sheep, local animal rescue centers, gorgeous bodies of water.. etc

There are plenty of little restaurants nearby but there are some places that are a bit nicer that are further than walking distance.. Adi and Arik were able to set us up with a cab for these places and were also able to suggest their favorites. Bit more pricey--but delicious. GO to the sushi place!!

We didn't utilize the restaurant much since my boyfriend is an avid meat eater.. but we did enjoy their smoothies in the AM to get us started-- which were delicious! Having a kitchen was a huge money saver--the local store has plenty of groceries that allowed us to make our own lunches everyday etc. They also have alcohol ;)

The pool was a great place hang out if you're feeling lazy and don't want to take the 5-10min walk to the beach... and yes, we got that lazy sometimes

NEGATIVES:
-Traveling to get here is tough... we flew in, took a long van ride to get to a ferry, took a ferry, took another van to get to Nautilus. It is an alllll day afar.
-Yes, there are spiders, and insects and lizards... and sometimes they get into your little house. You also can't put paper products into your toilet. Welcome to Costa Rica.
-The town is somewhat quiet...but this was also a positive. We are a young couple and could have enjoyed a little more "night life" if offered-- but the relaxing stay ended up being what we needed.

Our only little 'negative' experience came at the end...be aware of the check-out time regardless of your flight/travel plans (I believe it is 12p). This seems like a "der" but for us we ended up being somewhat rushed, though Arik and Adi were kind and accommodating to us and let us hang out in the common area/restaurant as long as needed, I felt slightly uncomfortable.

All in all, STAY HERE!! Whether you use your wonderful owner's resources and go out exploring.. or just sit and enjoy Nautilus' hospitality while being a short walk from the beach.. I'm sure you will enjoy the "Pura Vida" lifestyle as much as we did!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks guys for oyur stay with us, sorry for the missunderstanding upon your check out, as we had a guest coming in.
We normally do not bother with our check out time to be at 14:00 as it happens we had a check in and had make sure the villa is serviced.

Hope you understand !

Pura Vida
Arik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A true paradise on earth !
this place is very welcoming and ran by the two most lovely persons in the world !
The food only will make you wanna prolong your stay for at least a couple of weeks !
it's a home away from home , you can let yourself be relaxed and really enjoy every second of the vacation.
VERY ADDICTING !
the owners create such a good vibe that you will hardly leave their sights , never had such a service from the heart , you can't help yourself but to fall in love with this place !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
David,

Thanks for your stay with us , it was a pleasure having you again !

Best regards
Arik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is so nice to come back again and again to Nautilus.
Edi is back with his delicious smoked fish sandwich and the gardens are lovely as always.
Next visit, I will for sure make ttime for some yoga lessons in their new Yoga Dojo.
Love,
Anahi

Room Tip: The food is amazing... everything organic and gluten free baked goods fresh everyday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks dear for the warm and kind words, it is your home indeed, feels like you have been with us Since day one !

Looking forward for your next one !

Pura Vida
Arik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The resort is beautiful and well built. I loved the spaciousness of the one bedroom villa and small community feel in the grounds. Adi and Arik are extremely welcoming and are like your Mama Tica or Padre Tico while there :). I was more of an adventurous tourist of wanting to find some things on my own. So I didn't use them for any activities. But, did take part of the yoga offered there. The instructors were great - and it was a first time for Yoga. I felt balanced and actually lost weight - I had a lot of stress leading up to visiting and the instructors really worked with me to let those things go. It worked :)

I used the kitchen quite a bit because I love to cook. It is one of the few resorts with a full kitchen. That was great for me.

The resort is perfect for couples, and/or friends.

The only things for me was that it was kind of out of the main things, and I had wanted something closer to the beach. The walk is short (5 min walk across the street to the beach) if you don't mind. I think a lot of people liked the location... but, I wasn't into the jungle and bugs , some of the noise from animals. That was my only dislike and I really think it's a preference of area.

Many Thanks Adi and Arik for the stay and being so cool w/ me :). Little Gaia is the cutest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank lauren for your warm words and beautiful stay, wishing that you return soon to stay once more!
kindly
Arik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Nautilus. Everything the previous reviewers stated was spot on. Adi and Arik are wonderful. Sweet and helpful and accomodating. Anything we requested was arranged within minutes. 5 star service from them the entire time. The suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. We made a lot of use of the patio. The hotel was so tranquil. Open air restaurant and pool were so pretty. It was definitely the most relaxing vacation either of us had ever had.
Olam, the restaurant was nothing short of fabulous and quite inexpensive. The food was delicious - we generally ate there twice a day despite all the other options available in town. It was healthy,clean,wholesome food that was full of flavor. The staff were so sweet and Adi did a wonderful job arranging the menu.
The daily yoga in the new, open air studio was very much appreciated and enjoyed. The instructor was a very gentle girl from Australia who took it easy on us beginners.
The hotel also has an ideal, central location. Walking distance to the beach, many restaurants, the great surf school, a wonderful pilates studio, and the grocery store. We did rent an ATV to get around as well, arranged by Adi, and it was useful for exploring all the pristine beaches in the area.
My only advice would be to bring ear plugs if you are a ight sleeper. The roosters and howler monkeys could be a little loud at times. It made the experience of being in the jungle that much more authentic for us, but this could be a problem for some.
Santa Theresa is amazing - everything about it - including the Nautlius Hotel , Adi and Arik, the instrucotrs they arranged for us from surfing to pilates, and we cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
You guys were so wonderful thanks for all the complements we wish a great happy new year and Would like you to come back and stay with once more , PURA VIDA !!!!
Many blessings
Arik & Adi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat

Address: 75 M East Of Brunellas, Santa Teresa 12112, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nautilus Boutique Hotel - Wellnes Retreat Yoga Deck - Healthy restaurant - Surf & yoga Retreats. Our villas capture the exotic character of Costa Rica, surrounded by lush tropical jungle, seamlessly blends into beautiful open-air terraces. Fully equipped kitchen. Large bedrooms Spoiling showers. Flat screen with Cable TV. King size mattress. 100% organic bath amenities. Daily housekeeping service. Refrigerator. Personal safe. Air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Boutique Hotel- Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.