We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cinco estrellas para Don Jon*s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Save Saved
You added Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante
150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“cinco estrellas para Don Jon*s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Often I look at the amenities listed for a hotel, and Don Jon's has the standard including location, wifi, housekeeping, secure rooms, outdoor showers for after the beach, and kitchens. They do not have things like iPod stereo systems, soaps, hair dryers, or the like. But, the most important amenity that Don Jon's does have is happiness. It shows in the people who visit, the food they serve (our fav is fish tacos w/plantains and coffee/banana smoothie), and the people who work there. I'll take those things over a hair dryer any day! And you can always buy soap at Super Ronny's a few doors down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Don Jon's was the best place I stayed during my time in Costa Rica. Don Jon and staff were the most accommodating and friendliest. The food was amazing the beer ice cold! If your ever in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica stay at Don Joh's priced right for ant budget. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Don Jon's deserves all these 5 star reviews. My girlfriend and I have stayed there twice and can't wait for our third visit. I first have to mention Don Jon and his amazing team. They are so friendly and helpful making it easy for guests to "relax to the max". Jon, Alejandro, and Carla make it feel like a home away from home that you never want to leave. They also serve excellent breakfast and lunch. The location is great. It's very close to the beach, market, restaurants, bakeries, surf shops, etc. I also really like the layout of Don Jon's. Restaurant, Lobby, and 2 dorm rooms up front with 2 types of private rooms in the back. Hammocks everywhere! We have stayed in both types of private rooms and were very happy with both. It's nice to have some privacy in the back and go up front when you want to hang out and meet some new people.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Because of a friends recommendation, I stayed here with a friend of mine and we absolutely loved it! Aside from all the awesome travelers that we met, the staff is super welcoming! Really great location that is close to some markets, restaurants, the beach, and surf shops. The breakfast burrito was so amazing that it became our daily breakfast during our stay. The room we stayed in was really clean and well stocked. Amazing hammocks all over the place and an adult treehouse to enjoy the rain and some company! Wish I had more time to relax to the max here, but I will definitely be back. If you have the pleasure of passing through Santa Teresa, this place is a must!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A super chilled place where both families and backpackers can enjoy what Santa Teresa has to offer.

Located 5min walk from the best surf spot on the beach and with everything you could need in close proximity it's very easy to forget time while staying at Don Jon*s tranquilo home.

The private rooms are built together into beautiful 3-story circular wooden buildings that reach up into the trees where howler monkeys, orange squirrels and iguanas can be regularly seen. Stay in one of them if you can!

I will definitely return, thanks Jon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fantastic hostel in a great location close to everything you need- beach 4min walk, surf shop with board rental 1min, supermarket 3min, various restaurants and cafes all a few min away.
Hostel is set out well with restaurant in front serving generous portions of delicious food, break fast burrito is a highlight! Dorm rooms are large and have everything you need.... Bathroom, air conditioning, surf board rack, fridge and very comfortable beds. Also a communal kitchen with everything you need to self cater. Outdoor shower is a bonus when you get back from the surf too.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone not just back packers as there is nice private rooms available too. The lovely staff are the cherry on top for this awesome hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Laid back hostel 50m from the beach friendly staff great local information, waking up to howler monkeys was awesome. Awesome value for money at the restaurant breakfast burritos are amazing.

Beds are super comfortable and with a/c definitely the best sleep we have had in Central America. Board racks in the dorm and a fridge everything is very well thought out

Wished we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Laid back hostel 50m from the beach friendly staff great local information waking up to howler monke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon*s Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.