We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere, good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante to your Saves list
Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante
150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved staying here. The staff was so friendly and easy going. We stayed in the dorm which worked perfectly for us. Out of 8 beds, only two others were being used so it wasn't overcrowded. There was a decent bathroom/shower in the room which served all of our needs.They helped direct us to the beach (super close), find good food (even though their food was delicious and good priced), find the local bus and even had a surf instructor hanging out at the cafe! If I return back to Santa Teresa, I will definitely be staying here. I miss the hammocks already!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the wooden hut. The hamacks are a big plus. Such as the wooden infrastructure. We even saw some monkeys in the trees above. What a sight! Further the rooms where clean an inspiring because of the wooden interior. The only negative thing about it is that they only had a fan, no a/c. So we had a bad night rest. But the location and Jon made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Truely living up to his slogan.
Not expecsive at all, you meet lot's of funny people and the owner is the coolest guy in costa rica!
Close to the beach and everything you need aswell. Even if I were there in low season, the people are hanging at Don Jon's.
And if you like to surf you'll have lots of new friends all over the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa teresa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

don jons what a nice place, great vibe!! the staff is amazing friendly people always with a huge smile and desire to help u in whatever way. the food mmmmmmm.... try the burritos theres none in town better than this!!! incredible! nice cozy rooms and super safe, close to the waves 5min walk and restaurants, supermarket too....
highly recommended!!! pura vida jon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the A/C 8-bed dorm of Don Jon's and can only recommend it. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Only the bathroom was a bit small. But this is compensated by the very nice atmosphere and good rates, even at crazy New Year times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

don jons the man had an awsome christmas there cooked up some fish and made a punch and really felt like a family... bueno onda(good vibe)
would deffintatly stay there again. he has it all from dorms to private rooms to really cool buildings up the back of the propety with rooms and a top deck laid out with hammocks and a great place to chill. If your a surfer its great because its really close to the track to get to the main surf beach.
really chilled and good people pura vida

Room Tip: we had four people so we upgraded to the privet unit which had two bathrooms and ac had friends stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed@ Don Jon's for 5 nights, the place is just great! i stayed in the private cabana, the design is real nice! all wood and you have ur private bathroom, no AC but on most says it was fine to sleep with the FAN, surprisingly not much insects and things running around the cabins! especially that you are surrounded by a forest.

The best thing about Don Jon's is the vibe! its just so chill and friendly! people all hang out together in the common areas, great music being played all day! really great music! :) and i am normally very picky about my music.

The Food is really nice too, very healthy! all breakfast come with fresh fruit and they have amazing fruit smoothies.

Jon himself is a great guy! super chilled, friendly and very helpful and always offering tips on where to go, he even took us with him to a beach wedding on the 1st day i arrived!

ll definitely be coming back here! had a great time and met great people!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon*s Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.