We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don jons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Save Saved
You added Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante
150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
1 review
“don jons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

don jons the man had an awsome christmas there cooked up some fish and made a punch and really felt like a family... bueno onda(good vibe)
would deffintatly stay there again. he has it all from dorms to private rooms to really cool buildings up the back of the propety with rooms and a top deck laid out with hammocks and a great place to chill. If your a surfer its great because its really close to the track to get to the main surf beach.
really chilled and good people pura vida

Room Tip: we had four people so we upgraded to the privet unit which had two bathrooms and ac had friends stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed@ Don Jon's for 5 nights, the place is just great! i stayed in the private cabana, the design is real nice! all wood and you have ur private bathroom, no AC but on most says it was fine to sleep with the FAN, surprisingly not much insects and things running around the cabins! especially that you are surrounded by a forest.

The best thing about Don Jon's is the vibe! its just so chill and friendly! people all hang out together in the common areas, great music being played all day! really great music! :) and i am normally very picky about my music.

The Food is really nice too, very healthy! all breakfast come with fresh fruit and they have amazing fruit smoothies.

Jon himself is a great guy! super chilled, friendly and very helpful and always offering tips on where to go, he even took us with him to a beach wedding on the 1st day i arrived!

ll definitely be coming back here! had a great time and met great people!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I will try to keep this concise, as I could rave about this hostel for pages and pages. When we first arrived in Santa Teresa, my girlfriend and I checked out about 12 different hostels, hotels, and B&B's, as we planned on staying a few days or more. Most of the others seemed a bit overpriced for the amenities, and most owners/receptionists at nearby locations were trying a bit too hard to "sell" us on the rooms. We were traveling right at the beginning of the high . season. Don Jon's was one of the last places we explored, because we noticed it seemed to have more tenants, but once we stopped in, we quickly realized why it is one of the more popular accommodations. First of all, Don Jon himself is truly one of the most relaxed inspiring people you will ever meet, which sets the pace for the entire hostel. He is not at all interested in gouging tourists for money, which is why the rates are so low. The old saying "you get what you pay for" does not apply here, as the super clean dorms, breathtakingly beautiful jungle-treehouse style cabanas, and 2-bedroom, 2-bath apartments are priced much lower than they could (or should) be. We planned on staying for 3 days, which turned into 2.5 weeks. The food from the restaurant was amazing. The views from the top of the 3-story cabanas while laying in the hammock were amazing. (hammock city) This is truly a place where you can privately relax to the max, or get to know a great group of people. Seems most of the travelers who frequent here are like minded, which made for a great social atmosphere, as we made many friends while staying here that we will be keeping in touch with.. Yet we were there for a romantic getaway, and the private cabanas (conveniently located down a beautiful path away from the dorms and apartments) made for a perfect private getaway. Though we hadn't planned on socializing as much on our trip, the vibe was so excellent that we fell right in to the scene, participating in communal dinners in the kitchen, going out as a group, etc. The place is beautiful, with coconut and other fruit trees, flowers, gardens, beautiful decor (the woodwork of the cabanas is incredible) and this is just an all-around top-notch place to stay for the solo traveler, couple, or large family (as there were a couple families with small children fully enjoying their stay in the 2-bedroom apartments). Security, parking, the works! Don Jon has really covered all bases with his place. Our regular routine would be waking up to a fresh brewed cup o joe, fresh fruit, gallo pinto, then head out to a consistent perfect surf break right across the street at one of the most beautiful beaches in the entire country, come back over and take advantage of one of the outside showers, lay in the hammock for a while, strum the communal guitar, maybe play a little badminton in the yard, go surfing again, then enjoy another on-point meal from the restaurant, head back to the beach for the magnificent sunset, and maybe practice yoga in the tranquil studio space. The perfect life. Don Jon and his overly hospitable and friendly staff (of whom became more friends than staff) were very knowledgeable about the country, bus routes/times, other local restaurants (there is not a competitive gene in Don Jon, he just does it right), and were able to offer a variety of activities and tours. I'm sure there are many other good things I may have forgot to mention, but Don Jons is all about relaxing to the max, good surf, positive vibes, and hospitality. My advice is, look no further, you've found it. Can't wait to go back myself.

Room Tip: Cabanas are private, quiet, clean, located away from the dorms Dorms are clean, comfortable, A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Don Jon is the man.
Great service, hammock city, great rooms, a few steps away from the beach, AWEEEESOME atmosphere, could not ask for anything better in a hostel. My 2 night stay extended to a good few weeks and I still have no intentions of leaving.
Your an idiot if you don't go!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrouge, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in a wooden cabin and were amazed how strongly they are built. The room was more comfortable and quiet than we expected, and not full of insects like we thought.
We were warmly welcomed by Don Jon himself, who made every effort to make us feel comfortable during our stay, he treated us like friends.
The hotel is located 5 minutes walking from the nice beach. It is also very close to the supermarket, pizzeria, bars, surf shops and restaurants.
We loved our stay at Don Jon*s and would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at Don Jon*s for around 6 weeks. Nothing but positive things to say about the place:
- Clean
- Well organized
- Good service
- Nice staff
- Love the bungalows
- Best burrito, smoothies and Jon*s cocktails
- Top surf spot in Costa Rica
- Don Jon*s himself, a good fellah
- Ladies night

Room Tip: Go for the Bungalows at the top, then you will have a nice chill out spot with hammakas and a good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and a friend had been traveling for 30h straight when we arrived at Don Jon's. Not only did Jon (the hostel owner) go up from bed and greeted us (although we booked on our way there), he also served us with some ice cold beer which tasted like liquified paradise at the hour.

We stayed in a private room with, roof fan, fridge, a nice clean bathroom (refreshing cold water shower) and 3 good beds. Outside the room there was a small terrace with a hammock. On the third and top floor of the cabins there is also some hammocks one can relax in.

The place is as close to the beach as practically possible if not beach front. Restaurants, surf shops and grocery store next door.
For those who cook there is a small kitchen but we enjoyed the best burritos in Santa Teresa instead. Jon had also composed a nice ceviche that I now try to cook at home!

We aimed to just stay a few nights and try to find a surf camp. Due to the relaxed atmosphere (still open for good night out), the authentic service, and local knowledge we stayed our whole time here - something I'm really happy for.

I'm going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon*s Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.