We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Jon's is THE place to stay in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante to your Saves list
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don Jon's is THE place to stay in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and a friend had been traveling for 30h straight when we arrived at Don Jon's. Not only did Jon (the hostel owner) go up from bed and greeted us (although we booked on our way there), he also served us with some ice cold beer which tasted like liquified paradise at the hour.

We stayed in a private room with, roof fan, fridge, a nice clean bathroom (refreshing cold water shower) and 3 good beds. Outside the room there was a small terrace with a hammock. On the third and top floor of the cabins there is also some hammocks one can relax in.

The place is as close to the beach as practically possible if not beach front. Restaurants, surf shops and grocery store next door.
For those who cook there is a small kitchen but we enjoyed the best burritos in Santa Teresa instead. Jon had also composed a nice ceviche that I now try to cook at home!

We aimed to just stay a few nights and try to find a surf camp. Due to the relaxed atmosphere (still open for good night out), the authentic service, and local knowledge we stayed our whole time here - something I'm really happy for.

I'm going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in Don Jons for a week in august 2012 and the hostel is fantastic. Really friendly and helpful staff, great food. The Cabinas are a must if you stay here, really unique. also only about 200 meters from the Santa Teresa beach as well

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I ended up staying at Don Jon's for two weeks in July 2012 and it was great. The dorm room was nice, great a/c (you could make it a fridge in there if you want), clean room and clean bathroom that is right there in the room. The owner Jon is really cool but he was only there a few days when I was there so I got to know Ruth better who works there each day. She is awesome. So friendly and thoughful and helpful. There are bikes on site to rent and as mentioned in the title the breakfast is great. The Papas Burrito had perfectly seasoned potatoes, eggs, avocado, cheese, with awesome sauces on the side and fresh fruit. All around good place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The accomodations were comfortable and very safe. The surf was only 2-3 min walk away. Every thing you need is with in a few minutes walking distance. The food cooked at the hostel was good and not too pricey. There is also a kitchen if you like to cook and a mini fridge in each room. Best of all the surf was pumping....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

From the moment my travel partner arrived at this hostel we were warmly welcomed. The owner, Jon,had waited for us as we arrived late from the bus ride from San Jose. We stayed in the dormitorio which again exceeded expectations. The beds were comfortable and were equipped with fresh sheets and pillow cases however you must supply your own towel. Rooms were cleaned daily. The grounds were well kept even including tree house teraces where anyone can go to relax in a hammock, read a book, or see a monkey. Restaurant served breakfast and lunch, buen comida, y toda la gente que trabaja aqui son amables y profesionales. Beach SO close. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A MUST if you're staying in ST, stopping by to hang out with some kick-a** folks, or if you're in the mood for the best burrito of your life. Pick a hammock and veg, feel at home and fall in super love with the vibe. Very clean rooms (either dorms or cabins) and common areas to brush shoulders with fellow travelers and locals. Jon is the coolest most laid back brother you'll meet (his dogs and cat will reflect that energy) and I'm sure you'll be able to whiff his surfboard if you ask nicely! (It smells like coconut heaven from the daily wax job he gives it).
All in all, I had the perfect time here, a moment's walk from the perfect beach. Get over there, enjoy it as much as everyone else does, and become part of the Don Jon family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I've been to Santa Teresa several times and Don Jon's is the ONLY place I'd stay. Not only are Jon, Ruth & everyone else who works there extremely nice, but the rooms are immaculate as well! The entire complex of rooms and parking is enclosed in a fenced in area and there is security at night. For a woman traveling alone, this is an added bonus. The food in the restaurant is really great too. Try the breakfast burrito with potatoes!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante

Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon's Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.