We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Don Jon's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante to your Saves list
Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante
150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Los Olivos, California
1 review
“We love Don Jon's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The accomodations were comfortable and very safe. The surf was only 2-3 min walk away. Every thing you need is with in a few minutes walking distance. The food cooked at the hostel was good and not too pricey. There is also a kitchen if you like to cook and a mini fridge in each room. Best of all the surf was pumping....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

From the moment my travel partner arrived at this hostel we were warmly welcomed. The owner, Jon,had waited for us as we arrived late from the bus ride from San Jose. We stayed in the dormitorio which again exceeded expectations. The beds were comfortable and were equipped with fresh sheets and pillow cases however you must supply your own towel. Rooms were cleaned daily. The grounds were well kept even including tree house teraces where anyone can go to relax in a hammock, read a book, or see a monkey. Restaurant served breakfast and lunch, buen comida, y toda la gente que trabaja aqui son amables y profesionales. Beach SO close. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A MUST if you're staying in ST, stopping by to hang out with some kick-a** folks, or if you're in the mood for the best burrito of your life. Pick a hammock and veg, feel at home and fall in super love with the vibe. Very clean rooms (either dorms or cabins) and common areas to brush shoulders with fellow travelers and locals. Jon is the coolest most laid back brother you'll meet (his dogs and cat will reflect that energy) and I'm sure you'll be able to whiff his surfboard if you ask nicely! (It smells like coconut heaven from the daily wax job he gives it).
All in all, I had the perfect time here, a moment's walk from the perfect beach. Get over there, enjoy it as much as everyone else does, and become part of the Don Jon family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I've been to Santa Teresa several times and Don Jon's is the ONLY place I'd stay. Not only are Jon, Ruth & everyone else who works there extremely nice, but the rooms are immaculate as well! The entire complex of rooms and parking is enclosed in a fenced in area and there is security at night. For a woman traveling alone, this is an added bonus. The food in the restaurant is really great too. Try the breakfast burrito with potatoes!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

From the start Don Jon's service was excellent. The staff (Rute and John) were very informative and super fast in replying my emails. I stayed there for three nights in one of their private rooms(w/o AC). The room was very comfortable, super clean, great ceiling fan and very safe. At night Don Jon has a super cool security guard that makes you feel even more secure. For breakfast you got try their breakfast burritos ($7) and their fruit shakes!!! I am a big guy and one was PLENTY OF FOOD after a couple hours of surfing!!! If you feel like cooking your own food, Don Jon has a kitchen with pots/pans, utensils and plates for you to use.
Don John's location was good. There are a few supermarkets, sodas,restaurants and shops a couple meters away. The beach... just around the corner!!!!! Downtown Santa Tereza is a bit far... (20min walk), but that to me was not an issue to me.
June is low season in CR, so if you want to party...that is not a good time to go. If you are up for good surfing, chill... I really recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at Don Jon's for 1 week, May 2012.

The place was everything I wanted and much more.
The location is right next to the beach where most people go out surfing from.
I stayed at the dormitories which were spacious, clean and comfortable.
The room has AC which is good if you just started travelling in CR and still not used to the heat. The room had also a fridge and a microwave oven which was great since I used to cook at the communal kitchen at night and had the leftovers the following day.

The food at the restaurant was really good. I usually don't care much for burritos, but the ones they serve here were really good. The fruit shakes are also great.

But the best thing about the place was the staff.
Ruth and Jon did a great job and it was a great pleasure to meet them.
Luna and Rambo made sure everybody is safe and relaxed.
Jon even suggested to loan me some beer money when the ATMs broke and I was stranded without money.

I would definitely stay here again if I would go the Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed here with 3 friends for a week and had a great time. Don Jon's has a great location, and getting to the beach was easy. Jon knows the area very well and gave great advice on places to eat dinner, excursions, and night life. There are several really good restaurants within walking distance. The food at Don Jon's was amazing also, from fresh fruit, to breakfast burritos, to the fish tacos. The four of us stayed in one of Don Jon's apartments, but the Rustic Cabins looked really nice also, and we actually spent a lot of time on the roof decks relaxing in the hammocks and watching the monkeys all around us in the trees. The apartments have all the amenities you need, you can cook if you desire, AC if you need it, and it was very clean. We all felt very safe at Don Jon's, he has a security guard and several great guard dogs. None of us had any issues with theft. Although Jon did mention not to leave any valuables unattended at the beach. For those that surfs, the waves were amazing. We were all beginners, and this was really an excellent place to start. We'd go out at low tide, and then watch all the experienced surfers tear it up at high tide. Was very impressive to watch.

We all rented 4x4's one day and headed for Montezuma to swim at the waterfalls. I definitely suggest a trip there, and Don Jon can provide a great back way to get to them. Some of us planned to snorkel or dive and brought some of our gear but never made it out. There's a boat that leaves from Montezuma and goes to Turtuga Island, but there were mixed reviews and we ended up just deciding to stay at Don Jon's and relax.

Overall we all had a great trip and are looking forward to going back and staying at Don Jon's...hopefully early next year! Thanks again Don Jon and Ruth!!

Room Tip: The apartments have AC for those who aren't accustomed to the heat and are in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante

Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon*s Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Jon*s Lodge and Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.