We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de la Luna
Save
You added Casa de la Luna to your Saves list
del super la hacienda 300 metros oeste, y 200 norte, Santa Teresa 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Casa de la luna was a wonderful find! Vicky, our host was very accommodating and went out of her way to make sure we had the true Costa Rican experience! The house is amazing with ocean views and the rain forest in the back, the best of both worlds which makes it a true Shangri-La! I look forward to returning! I would recommend recommend renting a car at the airport in Santa Teresa ahead of time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in Casita de la Luna with my boyfriend last January and we had a great time!!! what a beautiful scenery !!!! Vicky was a great hostess and she cooked a delicious lobster, wow I will never forget this vacation! Close to town, easy to get around and the private beach with wonderful sunsets... Highly recommended!
Vickie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The house is very beautiful. However, it is on top of a very steep hill. Having a car or atv is necessary to get up to the house. Vicky also acted welcoming and friendly at the beginning. but quickly shifted into nagging me and the rest of my group for money here and there. At the end of our stay, she wanted to charge us if we were gonna use the sugar in our morning coffee. I recommend staying somewhere else when visiting Santa Teresa. Vicky does not know much about hospitality, and she can make things very uncomfortable for you with her constant "re-negotiations".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CasadelaLuna, Propietario at Casa de la Luna, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Google Translation
Este estimable huésped hizo su reservación y pagó por AIRBNB, por tanto es alli donde debió enviar su comentario, con lo cual se comprobaría que pagó por 5 y no por 6 huéspedes, por tanto nuestro derecho a cobrarle el 6to. Tambien teniamos derecho a cobrales el golpe que le dieron al ATV que les alquilamos,fue de $60 y no querian pagarlo.
Nuestros precios incluyen desayuno, por tanto para la preparación de otros alimentos los huéspedes deben traer sus ingredientes,sólo les proveemos de una canasta de especies y condimentos básicos que estan a disposición de todos los huéspedes, si disponen de alimentos de la casa deben pagarlos.
Tenemos altos estándares de limpieza, sera de responsabilidad del huésped de mantenerlos, en sus habitaciones y lugares comunes de lo contrario su estadía sera con sábanas llenas de grasa de pizza,sobrantes de cigarro, y toallas sucias de comida y por supuesto mas trabajo para nosotros después de que se ha ido, pero respetamos sus hábitos siempre que no ponga en peligro a otros huéspedes o nuestras instalaciones.
Respetuosamente . La propietaria..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent three nights with Vicky last week and Casa de la Luna was one of the best experiences I've had in the last several years!

We arrived around 10pm and Vicky immediately greeted us, suggested we may want to take a swim in the pool after our long ride, and offered us some freshly made pineapple juice. She really makes the place with her caring personality and makes you feel so at home there, from the moment you step in.

There are only a handful of rooms, and our room was in the corner with a private balcony overlooking the Pacific ocean. Big doors open out onto the ocean (open air) so you get the amazing breeze off of the Pacific ocean all night and despite being on the hill you can hear the waves crashing as you fall asleep. Sun wakes you up early in the morning, which is perfect if you want to get out to the water and enjoy Santa Theresa.

I've stayed at a lot of luxury and non-luxury properties - if you need a tv in your room and air conditioning, then this is probably not the place for you. But that said with the combination of the amazing open house, the owner Vicky and its incredible views this is by far the best place I saw in Santa Theresa, and would recommend it in a heartbeat over any of the other resorts around!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Vicky opens up her home and her heart to her guests, doing everything possible to make their stay as memorable as possible. Her gorgeous boutique B&B is set a short walk or drive up the side of the "mountain" that flanks Santa Teresa. As far as I am concerned, it is only worth visiting Santa Teresa if you stay up the hill (in dry season), because the dust on or near the main road is unbearable. It is also very noisy on the main strip, unless you are in a fancy hotel tucked down hear the beach.

But up the hill, at Casa de la Luna, there is no noise, no dust... only a beautiful breeze, stunning view and the sounds (and sights) of wildlife. There is a delicious pool with an unobstructed view of the ocean and the sunset. (The sunsets are one of the main highlights of Santa Teresa)

The rooms all have beautiful views, are clean, simple and have very comfy beds. Guests have use of the kitchen and all open areas of the home - which is more beautiful than any photo can illustrate.

I found that I had to drag myself away from the hotel... it is nice enough that I think you'd be happy spending your entire stay up there, just staring at the expansive ocean and crashing waves. But of course I did head off to check out everything that Santa Teresa has to offer... an incredible beach, picturesque yoga studios everywhere and tasty little restaurants. Casa de la Luna is a little ways along the strip (thank goodness!!!), but if you have a car, you're laughing, and even if you are on foot, it only takes about 3 minutes to walk down the hill, or 5 walking up (a somewhat invigorating 5 minutes, but hey, it works off a glass of wine!). There is beach access within a 6 minute walk from the hotel (3 minutes from the bottom of the road). Next to the beach access is my favourite restaurant/lounge in Santa Teresa - Rocamar Beach Lounge. There is a supermarket within walking distance, and a bus that goes up and down the strip leaves from there throughout the day.

I spent a week in one of the upstairs rooms and it was absolutely luxurious. Such a special time. Moonlit dips in the pool completed every day.

I would highly recommend that you choose this spot if you are visiting Santa Teresa. You wont be disappointed, and it is honestly the best way to experience what this place is all about.

Room Tip: There are two upstairs rooms with private balconies and crazy views! But all the rooms are nice. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here with my friend for two nights while surfing and exploring this area. The hotel is absolutely amazing. On top of a mountain overlooking the ocean and beautiful countryside. Walking distance to the beach. The rooms are clean with incredible views. Wi-fi works. The owner, Vicky is one of the nicest people you will meet. Great cook btw, too. It's a perfect spot and I would recommend it to anyone. Make sure you have a four wheeler if you want to make it up the hill. Short road but a quite steep. You will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CasadelaLuna, Propietario at Casa de la Luna, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Google Translation
Gracias Robert por tu linda recomendación y estamos a la orden para cuando quieras regresar, saludos a Christian.
Cariños,
Vicky Vargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in August. We had visited Santa Teresa before but stayed in a hotel and wanted a different experience and Casa de la Luna was exactly what we were looking for! Vicky was so helpful and cooked a great breakfast every morning while teaching us Spanish. She is there for anything you may need! All of the rooms have great views and really cool bathrooms either overlooking the ocean or open to the jungle on the back of the property. The pool was clean and nice to relax in after a day at the beach, visitors have access to the kitchen if needed and the whole house is open air with plenty of places to sit and relax.
We did rent an ATV for the week not only because of the hill (which is walkable if you want) but because we like to go to different places between Mal Pais and Playa Hermosa and the whole 'strip' is 7km long. We will choose Casa de la Luna when we return to Santa Teresa. Gracias Vicky!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa de la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Luna

Address: del super la hacienda 300 metros oeste, y 200 norte, Santa Teresa 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice ocean view and astonished sun set from all our rooms,views to the mountains and Nacional natural reserve CABO BLANCO. Enjoy our infinite sight view swimming pool, with tempered water at night. Two break points in front beach, so you can see waves and surfers from our balconies. You will feel amazing in our precious Costa Rican wood Casa de la Luna design,seeing the moon passing trought the "DOMO". You deserve this experience. We create this place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De La Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.